Top Picks:

Hotel Wentworth Hotel Wentworth Hotel
B and B Haughley House Haughley House
Self-Catering Thatched Farm Thatched Farm
Inn The Crown The Crown

Suffolk
Villa Holiday Homes with a pool
National Trust
White

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

December 2014: A West Country Christmas – Dorset in December

Thomas Hardy’s celebration of Christmas in Dorset in his early novel Under the Greenwood Tree is perhaps second only to A Christmas Carol (a version ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of White Horse Inn, Risby

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Carol on 18th April, 2011

Add your review
I am a business traveler, and because I am away from home so much, I tend to stay in places where I have had positive experiences. I have stayed here several times. The hotel is undergoing a planned program of refurbishment. There is a lovely warm open fire in the main lounge, one in the bar, and some comfy sofas. For me it is just like home. I get to sit on the sofa having my tea in front of the fire while watching the telly. They have a varied and reasonably priced menu - good proportions, and great flavours. Go for the Stick toffee pudding, and the mixed grill is a massive plate full. Excellent choice of wines. Warm and friendly staff - they cannot be more helpful - Free WIFI - ask at bar. Don't complain about the A14 - yes it is close by, but the hotel, being on the Newmarket Road has been here for hundreds of years on the route of the ORIGINAL A14. There is some noise from the road, which runs a couple of hundred yards to the rear of the hotel, but not as much as would keep you awake all night. The bar/hotel does close between 9.30-10 unless it's very busy. The'res not much passing trade on this route, so if you're the only one staying, they will tell you when they're closing up. You don't get locked in your room, your key fob does have a key for the rear entrance which means you can come and go as you please. Liked: Food, Service, Atmosphere, Value

Date visited: various

Review by kelly on 27th November, 2009

Add your review
Well what can i say but smelt damp room, was cold and had cob webs hanging off the windows. We didnt even stay the night, left without refund.

Date visited: 27/11/09

Review by local man on 31st July, 2009

Add your review
well where to start guinness was flat out of date fridge in bar full of tesco drinks also have tesco vodka land lady was drinking and in our face land lord was in jeans and t short with long hair looked like there in no care put into anything over all its not a hotel not even a b&b its bad . the gardens are like toys are us.... toys everywhere over all it should close down not for us anyway

Date visited: 29/07/2009

Review by KAREN on 21st July, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: Very friendly hosts. Lovely and clean hotel and room. Lovely food. General review: Would have been nice to have been able to book in earlier, but did not spoil the stay.

Date visited: 2009-07-21

Review by Peter Godwin on 12th July, 2008

Add your review
My wife and I spent one night at the Inn.Following our experience of the poor standard of room, and particulary meals provided, we could not recommend this guest house to anyone. We would certainly not be returning there again ourselves. Whilst the bed linen was clean, the pillows smelt of sweat. The breakfast was advertised as a contintal breakfast, but failed to meet the quality that we have come to expect ie two slices of toast, tinned peaches, a small packet of cereals,and luke warm coffee. This hardly fits the description of a continental breakfast. These criticisms were conveyed to a member of the reception staff on booking out.Score 3/10

Date visited: 4/7/08

Review by Anonymous on 9th July, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: very clean room, bed and bathroom; comfortable bed; excellent shower; quiet surroundings; handy TV. When we were early for breakfast the manager gave us a generous free cup of coffee Bad Points: only 1 tea bag in the room, and limited TV channels -- but these were not serious disadvantages General review: good, and handy location

Date visited: 2008-07-09

Review by Michelle on 3rd October, 2007

Add your review
Good Points: The friendly staff, comfortable surroundings and the cleaniness of the Inn Bad Points: No Pineapple juice for my drink!

Date visited: 2007-10-03

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
I became a great runner because if you are a kid in Leeds called Sebastian you have to be - Sebastian Coe
More Quotes

On this day:
The Pilgrim Fathers arrive at Massachusetts - 1620, The Rochdale Pioneers open shop - 1844, Westhoughton Pit Disaster - 1910, Lockerbie Air Disaster - 1988
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages