It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Red Lion, Woolverton

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Nick on 5th December, 2009

Add your review
Excellent food and a great atmosphere in the heart of the hope valley.

Date visited: 8/9/09

Review by judith byrne on 16th August, 2009

Add your review
Whilst travelling home from holiday with three children and one dog we called in for lunch. I'd like to say that they were very welcoming, the food was excellent all round and the service friendly. We will make sure that we call in there next year whilst travelling home. On the food front, I ate a marvellous prawn and melon salad, which came with the usual cold water prawns but was garnished with two enormous tasty shell-on giants! Two of the children had steak baguettes and the other had a lovely pasta dish, the pasta being homemade. Husband ate the best steak pudding he has ever eaten at a pub. We all finished with deliciously light chocolate sponge served with cream and lashings of chocolate sauce. The staff never batted an eyelid when we ordered three puddings and five spoons!

Date visited: 15 August 2009

Review by Bee on 13th June, 2009

Add your review
Ref: Catherine's visit - review of 23.2.09 which I have just read. We called in on the off-chance that they just might have a table spare - unforutnately, it was St Valentine's evening and we had forgotten so had not booked. We were not surprised that they were "fully booked" but this information was peremptorily imparted to us by, I suspect, the same rude and grumpy man behind the bar. Since we had arrived at 6.45pm and explained that we were travelling on some distance that night and would not require a table for more than half an hour, we were somewhat displeased to be told, very rudely and as if we should, of course, know this, that they were fully booked. It appeared there were half the available tables free - some obviously reserved for later in the evening and they could easily have fed and watered us by the time one of those tables was needed. It is very unfortunate that what was once a nice pub, that did very good food has been "modernised" out of all recognition. Having said that, just after they modernised, we went there on two separate occasions and had a very good meal with excellent service. Perhaps it has been taken over by people who have no concept of customer service (we saw no familiar faces on this particular occasion). However, if that is how they intend to continue -they will not 1)get a return on their investment and 2)not succeed in the licensing trade or, indeed, any other customer service industry. Tip of the day: no matter how hard it is to be polite, no matter that there are "behind the scenes" issues, no matter that you as front of house have had a bad day - the customer is king (and, incidentally, pays your wages).

Date visited: 14.2.09

Review by Catherine on 23rd February, 2009

Add your review
The only thing I have to say is DREADFUL service. I cannot comment on the food as we never actually got that far... We were 'greeted' by a rude and grumpy man behind the bar, from whom we ordered drinks, and I asked where we should sit if we were eating. We were then told (with no hint of an apologetic tone) that they were very busy and food service was slow. I assured him that was no problem, we didn't mind waiting...where should we sit? I could see at least five empty tables out of about 20 in total but he told us they were full and that they would "try to feed us but couldn't promise anything." Which he stroppily followed with a telling off for not booking!! How do they expect passing trade to book?! Well we thought we'd give it a go, spotted an empty table for two and asked the waitress nearby if it was reserved "errr.. no" so is it ok if we sit there? "...errr...yeah..." so we sat down and proceeded to wait... and wait... After fifteen long minutes of being ignored, and without even being given menus (!!) we gave up and headed to a lovely place down the road instead! So the moral of this tale is... don't bother unless you enjoy terrible grumpy service and being ignored. I couldn't believe a restaurant could turn away trade when they were only 75% full tops! And with such awful attitude! At least apologise maybe?! Its a shame for them really, we were celebrating and were going to buy champagne...

Date visited: February 2009

Review by Mr Baker on 1st September, 2008

Add your review
Has just been refurbished and WOW what a difference! Excellent! 110% enjoyment!

Date visited: 21st August 2008

Review by paul ridge on 25th October, 2006

Add your review
very disapointing meal especially after manyreally enjoyable ones in the past . to be more specific ,garlic mushrooms ordered as a starter,some were still frozen,jacket potatoe with a prawn cocktail type filling which my wife had as her main course, the filling was watery and absolutely tasteless my main course ,duck and cherry pie was fine but presentation was terrible with large drops of cherry sauce all around rim of plate and it really did need some form of sauce or gravy much too dry with out. . the sticky toffee pudding was great .we did pass our comments to the waitress who assured us she would pass them on,but no one bothered to speak to us about our meal .i suspect the pub may have changed hands but what ever the reason we wont be eating there again nor will we be recommending any one else to

Date visited: 21 10 2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
The only reason I made a commercial for American Express was to pay for my American Express bill - Peter Ustinov
More Quotes

On this day:
Great London Tornado - 1091, Battle of Fornham - 1173, Battle of Neville Cross - 1346, Regicides Executed - 1660, London Beer Flood - 1814, 1st Professional Golf Tournament - 1860, First Motoring Offences in Britain - 1895, First Full-Scale British Air-raid - 1917, World’s First Fully Commercial Nuclear Power Plant Opened - 1956, Hatfield Rail Crash - 2000
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages