It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2019: Blackpool and the Lancashire Coast

Itís illumination time in Blackpool. Lancashire in October is not likely to be your choice for a sunshine break, but that is not why ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Horns of Boningale, Albrighton

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Anne and Martin Whittaker on 28th March, 2010

Add your review
It was our first visit to the Horns for some time. Possibly 2007. We Booked for Sunday lunch at 2.30. The staff were friendly and helpful. Although we were aware that the Horns had changed hands, the food was of the usual high standard. The beef was the best we have had for a long time which we had not cooked ourselves: slightly pink and tender. One small point. The staff although happy and efficient could have been a little quicker to attend at the appropriate times. As I said just a small point and we are more than happy to recommend The Horns and to return some time soon. Anne and Martin Whittaker.

Date visited: 28/03/10

Review by M W Raymont on 28th February, 2010

Add your review
Special Birthday "Ladies Lunch" Excellent menu and well prsented by attentive staff. Everything was cooked to perfection and the starter was a delicious selection of canapes. All my guests were very impressed with the detailed arrangements and quality of food. My thanks to Natalie for all the arrangements and my compliments to the Chef. Maureen

Date visited: 24th February 2010

Review by Steve Douglas on 16th February, 2009

Add your review
The last visit was one of many since summer 2008. The Horns is now under new and excellent management. Following several years of inconsistency the Place has been turned around magnificently. Always an excellent ambience it now has excellent beer and first class food at realistic prices. It is friendly and a joy to dine there. Main courses are generally fairly traditional but very good and the puddings are amongst the bestI have ever had. The bread and butter pudding is a must!! Give it a go, I don't think you'll be disappointed.

Date visited: 8th Feb 2009

Review by Ian Crutchley on 6th May, 2008

Add your review
Very disappointing, menu looked appettising but never had the opportunity to taste it, ordered our starters (19.30pm) Med. Pepper Soup & by 20.08 still hadn't arrived, there was no opology or explaination to the delay, though plenty of activity as the waiting staff served other tables, so decision was made to leave. On leaving we were told one chef down & very sorry, charged for the bottle of wine of £13.98, pity there wasn't a 'good will gesture' made as at present nothing is making us back.

Date visited: 03/05/2008

Review by J Patton on 10th March, 2007

Add your review
We hadn't booked, but a table was found for us. The food was great, with a good and varied choice to suit all tastes. The service was abysmal. We had no objection to waiting for the main course as everything is cooked to order, but our plates were left in front of us for ages, empty glasses were never collected and waiting staff were to be found huddled around the bar area. Other diners were having similar problems. One table near to us decided to miss the sweet course and go straight to coffee because it was 'getting too late'. The restaurant was emptying as it was after 10pm. We had been at our table over 2 hours before we even ordered the sweet course. The chalked up wine list was not clear, the bottle we selected looked as though it was £10.45, but we were charged £13.45. Yes, the food was good, but the wait between courses and lack of attention are not worth it.

Date visited: 3rd March 07

Review by darran woods on 17th February, 2007

Add your review
You enter the warm, cosy, local pub/restrant only to be greated by a well turned out young lady who politly asks "are you dining with us tonight sir" the temptation was to much not to reply yes. once seated with our first of many guest ales we were presented with not one but two menus one ala carte and the other specials. soon enough out comes the starters beautifuly presented but with a touch of elegance. once our spotless plates were collected and another round of drinks delivered to our table the main course was on it way and not to soon. Again not a scrap left everything was cooked to perfection fresh veg fresh potatos and more importantly fresh meat which we were quietly asured is very local. To complet the meal was a hearty selection of sweets which i must say look delicious but i had to pass after all you car'nt improve on perfection!!!! I had the pleasure of meeting the chef (steve i think his name was) on our departure and a very plesent well spoken man he was happy to answer any of our questions. I can asure you i will be reterning many times if only for the local ale but the food was second to none.

Date visited: 10/02/07

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
I don't know why I should have to learn Algebra... I'm never likely to go there. - Billy Connolly
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Falkirk - 1298, King David Hotel Bombing - 1946, Death of Jean Charles de Menezes - 2005
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages