Top Picks:

Hotel Pilgrim Hotel Pilgrim Hotel
B and B Lea House Lea House
Self-Catering Arrow Bank Holiday Park Arrow Bank Holiday Park
Inn Saracens Head Inn Saracens Head Inn

Herefords
National Trust

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

April 2014: York and Its Surrounds

This April is a great time to be heading for York. The major attractions are all open, with luck the weather will continue to be ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Nags Head Inn, Canon Pyon

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by malcolm storm on 19th November, 2012

Add your review
My wife and I have been using The Nags Head since the new owners arrived in May.We have an evening meal once a week and are usually there for Sunday roast.The food is always excellent and it is without doubt the best best pub food in the area.The special boards are exactly that as there is always something "special" on offer, slightly different than the usual pub grub.The fresh fish on Friday evening is always delicious and includes items like Monkfish,Mackerel or Sole not found usually in a Herefordshire pub. The home made desserts are fantastic and as with the other items on the menu are priced reasonably.The young serving team are helpful and extremely pleasant.The landlord and his ever so attentive wife ensure you have a warm welcome , it always feels good to be addressed by name when you enter an establishment.I tried to book for Sunday lunch two weeks ago on Saturday evening and they had no tables left in the restaurant or function room which gives some indication of how popular The Nags Head has become !

Date visited: 15th.November 2012

Review by Elizabeth on 22nd September, 2012

Add your review
At last we thought! Decent management had taken over the local pub, the food was ok - sunday roast really good things were looking home when the family were visiting in terms of a great local pub. Until a couple of weeks ago we decided to go for some food, we entered the pub no waiters in sight, no signage saying 'please wait to be seated' so we walked through to the back section which was empty bar one table. We looked for reserved signs, none in sight so we sat down and waited. Nobody appeared so my friend went to the bar to get drinks. 20 minutes later a waitress seated a family at one of the tables and walked to ours abruptly saying "did you book"? I said no looking around at the empty tables confused. She said in a very rude way, you sat at their table, I explained no reserved sign, noone to greet us etc so we thought it would be ok in the absence of any signs to the contrary that we could sit. She stomped off. Another 15 mins later and a waiter appeared (he was very sweet) to take our order. 1 hour later, and in between time we had to go to the bar again to get drinks because we had been ignored our food had still not arrived. My brother asked the waiter where our food was, he told us another 20 mins!! At this point I checked the restaurant main section and only one table were eating... hardly rushed off their feet, so I approached a waitress at the bar and asked if they had any bread because we had been waiting for food for a long time, at this point the extremely rude and management/customer service inept owner looked up from the bar and his response to my polite but justified complaint was "did you book". I was absolutely flabbergasted, and said exactly what has booking a table in advance got to do with time of ordering and waiting for food? I also at this point told him that the service especially his rudeness was completely unacceptable. He turned his back on me and I told him to forget the food and that we would never use the pub again. We forgot to pay for the drinks and he chased us up the road on his bike! And instead of apologising or saying have the drinks on the house as an apology he demanded the money and was equally rude. A family friend had sunday lunch the next day and found the service very bad and complained unaware of our experience the night before. I also note two bad reviews about service on here. God help the pub with him in charge, and I await the next owners to take over in the hope that someone finally makes The Nags Head the success it should be, people skills essential.

Date visited: 15th September 2012

Review by wendy on 31st December, 2011

Add your review
We had a very bad experience ,,,,we were refused food which wasnt on the new years eve lunch menu,,fair enough ,until ten minutes behind us ,the next 3 customers ordered from other menus ,and this was acceptable after we were refused! then between 45-60 mins later,these other customers were served their meal before us,,,when we complained,we recieved no apology,and just lame excuses and very bad attitude from all 3 staff who were present.i have never ever recieved or witnessed such a disgusting attitude,in any establishment in my life and quite frankly,i find it very hard to believe that i and my daughter who was treating me to my birthday lunch ,was treated in this manner.hence to say we will not be returning !

Date visited: 30.12.2011

Review by Ann Leedham on 5th July, 2010

Add your review
We had an excellent Sunday lunch. The beef was excellent all the vegetables were fresh. Really good service

Date visited: 27th Jue 2010

Review by steve cook on 28th June, 2010

Add your review
Just re-opened, now a free house, decor is stunning, walls adorned with prints by local artists Geoffrey Vaughn and Richard Mather... A good variety of beers and local ales. Sunday lunch was fantastic and well presented by competent staff. The menu suited all types dietary needs, all the produce was local sourced and all made on the premises, home made ice cream and the sticky toffee pudding was to die for....

Date visited: 27 june 2010

Review by john mciver on 9th December, 2007

Add your review
my friend brian "rusty" rawlings took me there when on leave from the Royal Navy.A typical country hostel- was charming and rustic with "old charlie " as mine host and never ending stories that you either beleived or forever pondered. Alas my "oppo" Brian is no longer with us but maybe his spirit will live on in an exageration and mix of truth and fact. I will call in again one day when I am down from Scotland and maybe tell a tale or two of my own.Good luck to one and all at "the nags head"

Date visited: 04/04/1962

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
A woman is as young as her knees. - Mary Quant
More Quotes

On this day:
Launch of BBC2 - 1964, Enoch Powells Rivers of Blood Speech - 1968, Sinclair ZX Spectrum Launched - 1982
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages