Top Picks:

Hotel Haddon House Hotel Haddon House Hotel
B and B Chandlers Chandlers
Self-Catering The Sea Turret The Sea Turret
Inn Hambro Arms Hambro Arms

Dorset
Villa Holiday Homes with a pool
National Trust

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

October 2014: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Skippers Inn, Sherborne

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by mr whittaker on 12th August, 2012

Add your review
Very Disappointed!! Took our friend to Sunday lunch at Skippers as a thankyou and was very disappointed in the food and the way we were spoken to when we expressed our views. The food arrived with 3 small slices of meat, 3 potatoes and a yorkshire pudd, a small serving dish with an assortment of veg (carrots, peas and sweetcorn mixer which obviously wasnt fresh and something in a sauce that none of us could identify)but was not what I would consider enough for 3 people. We asked if we could have more potatoes and begrudgingly we were brought 3 more. when asked if everything was ok we said no we didnt consider it a decent plate of food we got the reply " What do you expect for 6.50??" If it hadnt been for the fact we were entertaining we would of walked out there and then.

Date visited: 12/08/2012

Review by SALLY DYOS on 15th September, 2010

Add your review
We had asked Vic and Lynn to provide sandwiches for a party of over 30 of us mid-day on a Saturday. Unfortunately, due to severe traffic problems, several of us were late. Vic and Lynn were informed of the situation. I'm sure they must have been inconvenienced, but we would never have known. Fresh, delicious sandwiches appeared and were very welcome. We were made to feel comfortable on what was, for us, a difficult day. We would certainly return and recommend Skippers Inn to anybody visiting Sherborne. Thank you Skippers Inn.

Date visited: 11/9/2010

Review by Kelly on 7th November, 2009

Add your review
We read the reviews on this and other websites and my partner decided to treat me for my 30th birthday. We went and boy has it changed. We wondered if we'd come into the right place. The fact that the specials board exclaimed '2 meals for 10', the presence of only 3 other tables eating on a Saturday night didn't augur well. The pub apparently changed hands in June 2009 and it has been taken over by a 'pile it high sell it expensive' outfit. We asked for a bottle of rose and were offered a half drunk bottle of what turned out to be an undrinkable fluid masquerading as wine. We ordered starters and a main course each. The garlic mushrooms were hankering after the tin from which they originally seemed to have emerged, not comforted at all by the garlic sauce that appeared to have come from a bottle. The "homemade" Pate tasted like a supermarket value brand (yes i know what it tastes like, i was a student once). We couldn't work out whether it was better dressed or undressed. Culinary nudity never seemed so welcome. And this epicurean farce was only to have been the beginning. So we cut our losses, cancelled the main course and waited politely for the bar manager to ask us why. His lack of interest and supine attitude was worrying. All he was bothered about was the 17 we were obliged to hand over as consideration. If you consider below average pub grub to be your idea of haute cuisine, then go for it, you'll not be disappointed. But if you like eating out to be a romantic experience, filled with the kind of aphrodisia only excellent cooking can provide, then don't bother, you might as well hit the local chippy or well known burger chain, at least you know they are what they seem to be, not what they pretend they are. Readers beware: check reviews you read are up to date. Website managers please note: check the reviews you display are up to date, people rely on them.

Date visited: 07/11/2009

Review by Helen Farnborough on 14th February, 2008

Add your review
We visited Skippers last night for the first time and I wanted to write a review as we were very impressed. I love seafood and it was my husband's early Valentine suprise as we have driven past many times and seen the boards advertising the fish. Its a cosy, old fashioned pub setting - packed with quirky items on the walls and shelves, and the menu is on a huge board on the wall - its a good pub menu with the addition of a fresh fish selection. You get a friendly, down-to-earth welcome from the landlord and the bar staff as soon as you walk in - and we had a good choice of real ales to drink as well. We did not sample the wine this time but I get the impression it would be good. The Food: Freshly cooked: my cod supreme in garlic, mussel and prawn sauce was delicious, large portions, really tasty and lovely presentation, home made desserts, what more can you ask from a pub? My husband had tenderloin of pork and that was perfectly cooked too. One tip: dont eat much on the day you go - as you will want your full three courses.

Date visited: 13th February 2008

Review by Christopher M. Frowde on 26th March, 2007

Add your review
Wonder fish meal Fresh whole sea bass Wife had a very fresh salad and I had a plate of ample vegetables. landlod & wife very friendly and we noticed how kind they were to theit more mature customers and all we could hear were giggles and see smiles on their faces. Sweets appeared to all home made and we had what we thought to b an excellant meal at a sensible price SAF.

Date visited: 26.03.07

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
One does not establish a dictatorship in order to safeguard a revolution; one makes a revolution in order to establish a dictatorship - George Orwell
More Quotes

On this day:
Six Month Frost Begins - 1076, First Known Performance of Othello - 1604, The Tempest First Performed - 1611, Premium Bonds go on Sale - 1956, Channel 4 transmits for 1st time - 1982, BSE identified in UK - 1986
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages