It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

March 2020: West Norfolk

Welcome to West Norfolk, a truly special place of unspoilt charm and natural beauty, where tranquillity and relaxation are the order of the day.

Set against ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Old Rydon Inn, Kingsteignton

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by allen haysom on 6th June, 2011

Add your review
Nice location but prices are on the steep side.Vegetables cooked well but cold, Steak pie I had was far too large, the steak was dry and it should have been cut, not left in 2 great chunks.As the pie was so large it was just monotonous.Not a lot of choice for puddings,other half had a creme brulee, which was served with a pot of diced apple, whats that about?Overall poor for the prices they charge.

Date visited: 5th June2011

Review by Joanna Cooper on 7th July, 2009

Add your review
The Rydon is well worth a visit now. The restaurant has been bought by the chef who was there about a decade ago and the food is great. We stopped going when it was brewery owned as it was awful - but have been quite a lot since. The food is cooked in house by someone who knows what they are doing. The Beef Stifado is great, as is the haddock. The kids menu is smaller portions of the adults meals and they are happy to accommodate different requests. No Chicken Nuggets on the menu! I can't recommend it strongly enough - it is back to its best!

Date visited: 5 June 2009

Review by Lucy Armitage on 12th September, 2008

Add your review
Heard mixed reports about the Old Rydon. It has had another change of manager but this time seems for the better. The food is good pub grub. Friendliest most welcoming place I've been to in a long time. I'll recommend it to everyone I know!

Date visited: 16.8.08

Review by Paul Burridge on 25th July, 2008

Add your review
Had an enjoyable meal here together with 5 other adults. Everyone enjoyed the starters, main meal and dessert. It was quiet that evening, and the service was prompt and proper. The price was right. Nice pint of the local brew too. Otter beer. This is a cosy old pub with a bright and airy extention. Something for everyone. I'll go again next time I'm in Devon.

Date visited: 2 July 2008

Review by sandy on 25th November, 2007

Add your review
One of the worst dining experiences I have had in years.

Date visited: September, 2007

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Contrariwise, if it was so, it might be; and if it were so, it would be; but as it isn't, it ain't. That's logic. - Lewis Carroll
More Quotes

On this day:
Rebel Army Lands in Furness - 1487, The First Ryder Cup - 1927, Stockport Air Disaster - 1967, Tiananmen Square Massacre - 1989, Shane Warne bowls 'Ball of the Century' - 1993
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages