Yew

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2019: Blackpool and the Lancashire Coast

It’s illumination time in Blackpool. Lancashire in October is not likely to be your choice for a sunshine break, but that is not why ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Yew Tree Inn, Highclere

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Simon Bryden-Brook on 10th July, 2008

Add your review
Fifteen minute wait and still no one to take an order - we left and paid them £15 for the two bottles of water we forced out of them. Two poorly trained teenage girls under supervision of an incompetent older woman. No response to our letter of protest. Used to be good but to be avoided now.

Date visited: 16 April 2008

Review by Jon on 3rd February, 2008

Add your review
We went to the Yew Tree last night and had a wonderful meal, we had not been here for a number of years and was not disappointed, we sat just inside the door and was very well taken care of. It was the first time i had eaten 1/2 dozen Oysters and will not be the last, my lady friend had Wheeler's of St.James's fish pie in which she enjoyed too and to finish off she had the Soufflé of raspberries, it was very busy there last night, we had outstanding meals and i would like to say our service was excellent and we will be back.

Date visited: 2/2/2008

Review by Peter Davies on 12th October, 2006

Add your review
Absolutely dreadful. No friendly greeting on arrival. We had to ask twice to be moved to a non-smoking table. The requested wine was not available. The food was at best mediocre and the service was pretty much non-existent.

Date visited: 11.10.06

Review by Tom Lane on 24th May, 2006

Add your review
We could not recommend this restaurant highly enough. We have been visiting the Yew Tree for the past 5 years on an occasional basis - approx. four times per annum - and we have never yet been disappointed. The food is excellent, the service is excellent, and the people are very friendly. We have tried most of the other restaurants in the Newbury area but this is the only one that hits the spot. We have typically spent approx £30 per head on food - 3 courses + coffee - with drinks extra; £45 per head is not unusual. But, the quality, ambience, and service always has us looking for the next excuse to go back.

Date visited: April 2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
It is not good to cross the bridge before you get to it. - Judi Dench
More Quotes

On this day:
The Battle of Otterburn - 1388, The Samlesbury Witch Trial - 1612, Salem Witches Executed - 1692, Bonnie Prince Charlie raises standard at Glenfinnan - 1745, Storm Claims 100 Scottish Fishermen - 1848, The Hungerford Massacre - 1987
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages