Hinton

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Hinton Grange Hotel, Chippenham

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by wendy jones on 2nd October, 2008

Add your review
Quaint but tired and in real need of a spring clean and re-decoration. Avoid room 6 with smelly corridor leading to it. A 4 poster bed again, quaint but creaky and small. Cold room even at this time of year (stayed there fri evening 26th Sept 2008). There is an open fire grate and an invitation to light a fire but you'll get charged an extra 10 if you do....I cant begin to think what this room is like in the middle of winter...... Anyway, ..we arrived around 9pm only to be told chef had finished for the night so no meal available. So we went up to the Bull pub up the road where the landlord glared at us when we asked about eating and was rude and snarled that there was only fish and chips and some fishcakes left. So we had those and v nice indeed plus a real good ale ....shame the landlord was not a little more civil. Anyway, the bathroom in room 6 needs a complete overhaul, (see review in 2006 of rooms 5 and 6.....obviously the owners don't read the reviews)...the black plastic toilet seat was stained white here and there over the mists of time with probable sterilising fluids of various sorts but I refused to sit on it....and so did my husband !! The shower.....give it a complete miss as it is an absolute trickle and to say there is a shower present is a travesty. Nice room for breakfast but no papers to read at reception on the sat am. Other reception rooms felt v dusty with yellow cracked wallpaper.....I expect some would call this quaint and old,....we thought it all needed a coat of paint and it felt unclean. All in all a rip off for 104 and we wont be coming back.

Date visited: fri 26 sept 2008

Review by wynne jones on 30th September, 2008

Add your review
Quaint but tired..... Needs a spring clean ....that's what my wife said. Avoid room 6 which is where we stayed the night for 104 since it was cold with only one electic heater at the far end of the room by the door. You could light your own fire but a notice said that they would charge you 10 for the privelidge..!! The bathroom is awful and needs replacing, the shower is a joke with only a trickle so this was missed.... (notice comment on bathrooms in rooms 5 and 6 in 2006).....so the management do not read these reviews me-thinks. The black plastic toilet seat was stained through aging and probable caustic disinfectants but my wife would not sit on it.....neither did I as a matter of fact. Corridor leading to room also smelly and felt 'damp'. Wont be back.

Date visited: 26 September 2008

Review by Anonymous on 8th September, 2008

Add your review
General review: Very friendly family run hotel. Some great fetures in the rooms and surrounding grounds for a relaxing stay. Recommended.

Date visited: 2008-09-08

Review by david on 9th April, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: the old world charm, with working fireplace, which had been unspoilt by modern adaptation Bad Points: the separate charge for the real fire General review: the booking arrangements were very good. We were made to feel very welcome visitors. The hotel was charming, and distinctly different from the bulk of hotels, but still at reasonable cost. Winter or summer, this would be such a lovely place to stay.

Date visited: 2008-04-09

Review by Anonymous on 9th October, 2007

Add your review
Good Points: The most beautiful room, in a hotel in the most beautiful setting. I am away from home several nights a week and this is truly the most luxurious away i have had-i almost forgot i was there for work purposes.

Date visited: 2007-10-09

Review by Elizabeth Higgins on 5th June, 2007

Add your review
Having just come back from spending the most fantastic weekend celebrating my husbands surpise 40th Birthday, the hotel is an absolute delight a most romantic experience fantastic ambience, the staff could not have been more help in organsing a surprise gathering of 30 friends and family, with the most wonderful meal served in the fabulous conservatory. Nothing was too much trouble, even when the guests were still up at 3am!!!! Was quite anxious when readings other reviews before I went about whether I had made a bad choice but I could not have been wrong the whole weekend was a roaring success just a shame it was all over with so quickly and cant wait for an excuse to stay there again.

Date visited: 1-3 June 2007

Review by Jan & Geoff Wallis on 10th September, 2006

Add your review
'The best wedding-reception ever' is how many guests described the event organised at Hinton Grange by our daughter and her fiance. The staff were friendly, and had a 'can do' attitude.... very important when planning a 'reception with a difference'. Whilst the adults were enjoying a fantastic meal and the speeches in The Conservatory, the children were outside living it up on a bouncy castle. In the evening the new chef produced an excellent barbecue, whilst the party continued in the gardens with chocolate fountain, candyfloss, popcorn and assorted games against the backdrop of lights in the trees! Our research suggests there is unlikely to have been a friendlier, prettier or more helpful establishment in the Bristol region for this sort of special event.. Thank you Martin, Anne and staff.

Date visited: 26th August 2006

Review by B. Linsley on 6th September, 2006

Add your review
We had a lovely stay, the room was great and the staff were so friendly. We did'nt eat in the restaurant, but it did look nice, and certainly unusual in the conservatory!

Date visited: 21 August

Review by Duncan Whitney-Groom on 30th May, 2006

Add your review
The hotel is situated in a lovely setting, it's grounds are very well kept. I was disappointed with the condition of both the bathrooms in rooms 5 & 6 in which we were staying. They are in need of some modernisation. Both bathrooms suffered from leaking baths and taps and our bathroom was quite smelly due to the floor tiles lifting. It could be so lovely, but is let down by this. Also, there seemed to be only one member of staff, and he seemed to cover all roles!

Date visited: 28 May 2006

Review by Mr & Mrs Crews on 8th April, 2006

Add your review
Gorgeous place - great staff - great food. I was taken here by my husband for a romantic get away and it was perfect. Our room was lovely and most of the rooms there have open fires. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food and restaurant were wonderful. I have read the first review on this hotel and could not disagree more strongly. It was also a bargain and a little bit of luxury in the middle of the countryside.

Date visited: March 2006

Review by Matt Nation on 12th December, 2005

Add your review
Went there for our annual Christmas Party, last year we went to Lucknam Park which was incredible. This place was an absolute joke by comparison. Fawlty Towers in the extreme. Half of the meals that we had preordered were no longer available. (My favourite excuse was that the banana crumble was off because the bananas were green) The wine we had specifically (on their insistance) ordered, they actually only had one bottle of. No-one met us on arrival, we had to search for staff in the kitchens! Staff were unfriendly and obviously didn't want anyone there. And the food? Well, suffice to say we went back into Bath later and found a proper restaurant. Anyone who serves oysters with Heinz BBQ Sauce and calls themselves a quality restaurant should be closed down. This place gives UK restaurants a bad name.

Date visited: 10th December 2005

Review by lesley elbourn on 18th September, 2005

Add your review
Have just returned from a two day DBB stay. In room 11 which was just gorgous! Very comfortable, informal and unusual accommodation. Food fantastic both in the evenings and breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful. the perfect romantic break.

Date visited: 15 Sept 05

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Broadly speaking, the short words are the best, and the old words best of all. - Winston Churchill
More Quotes

On this day:
The Houses of Parliament burn down - 1834, Jane Eyre Published - 1847, The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe Published - 1950, First Edition of Blue Peter - 1958
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages