National Trust
White

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2014: Regency Brighton and Hove

The plurally-named City of Brighton and Hove rather fittingly is a holidays plural - destination. Its modern, historic, cultural, sporting, happening, a seaside resort ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of White Swan Hotel, Alnwick

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Rex on 5th August, 2010

Add your review
Good Points: The ceiling leaked on the first night - but we ended up in the honeymoon suite for the last two nights. Excellent care by staff. Bad Points: No lift. General review: Very good hotel.

Date visited: 2010-08-05

Review by David on 5th January, 2010

Add your review
Good Points: Hotel situation excellent, Alnwick is a lovely town. Bad Points: Standard room quite basic. No drawer space. General review: Had a great time(New year break). Would stay there again.

Date visited: 2010-01-05

Review by Wendy on 18th August, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: The booking was really easy and the location of the hotel excellent. Also the welcome at the hotel was lovely. Bad Points: Our room had to be accessed via the garden and walking on the gravel was not easy. The room was not cleaned to the standard I would have expected. There were several weeks worth of dust on skirtings/plug sockets and hairs in the sink in the bathroom. The floor behind the sink pedestal was filthy and had obviously not been cleaned for a very long time. The shower bracket was broken and had to be strategically placed to enable us to use it. The room literature indicated that an iron/board was in the wardrobe but none were there. I rang reception and informed them and was told that there should be a note in the wardrobe notifying us that one would be brought to the room if required, there was no note but they did bring them very quickly. General review: It was ok for one night but after seeing cleaning staff the next morning, sorting out all the clean towels and sheets and placing them on the floor outside each room, my husband was disgusted and just the lack of basic thought around cleaning put us off using the hotel again.

Date visited: 2009-08-18

Review by lesley elmore on 28th February, 2009

Add your review
I was very dissapointed with this Hotel, we had no maid service it took 3 attempts to get clean towels and more shower products and no more coffee/tea top ups. The window had been painted leaving a gap and the paint had dried the window solid so it wouldn't move consiquently i heard everything from outside like i was sleeping on the pavement. We had a pidgoen resting on the outside ledge which also kept me awake most of the night. The restaurent lacked atmosphere although you couldn't fault the head waiter. When I complained on checkout they had to get the duty manager to call me at home - who when i explained the complaint all i was offered was an upgrade to a suite when i visit again. Do they really think i would stay there again!

Date visited: 18/02/09

Review by Anonymous on 16th September, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: friendliness of most of the staff. the breakfast. nice room. location. decor. our room was at the back of the hotel and therefore very quiet. General review: Had a great weekend in a good location. we enjoyed our stay

Date visited: 2008-09-16

Review by Anonymous on 15th July, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: Mostly excellent service from busy staff. Modest and quiet style. Bad Points: Broken door lock, quickly fixed. Slightly less than spotless bathroom. Even though the weather was cool, the room was quite warm. Somnolent breakfast staff.

Date visited: 2008-07-15

Review by laura smith on 13th May, 2008

Add your review
my review is about the white swan hotel in alnwick i had a really good time there and the staff made me feel welcome through out my stay i would definitly visit there again i would advise people that is goin to visit alnwick should pick the white swan for there accdommaction

Date visited: 11.05.08

Review by neil on 24th March, 2008

Add your review
the wife and i liked this place. Not perfect but then again not five star prices either. At all times the staff were courteous and polite and the room was clean etc

Review by Eileen Leahy on 5th December, 2007

Add your review
Make sure that you are not given a room over the kitchen ventilation equipment. It will keep you awake all night. Also - the restaurant staff leave a lot to be desired.

Date visited: 5th Dec 2007

Review by Helen Jones on 1st May, 2006

Add your review
Hotel clean and tidy; central to all locations; staff were very friendly and pleasant; classic breakfast; would recommend to friends. Helen Jones North Shields

Date visited: 30 April 2006

Review by lynda baldwin on 26th March, 2006

Add your review
the hotel was very nice an old building with plenty of character the room was a good size complete with iron,ironing board trouser press,hair-dryer and shmpoo and shower gel the bed is huge the hotel staff are brilliant they couldnt do enough for you they were very helpful would definitly go back the food was excellent

Date visited: 25 march 2006

Review by Ken Mackenzie on 4th January, 2006

Add your review
A very pleasant hotel, albeit with a rather small car park. The rooms are spacious, clean and well furnished. The bar is intimate, and features a roaring fire. If you are really lucky, you will hear a recital from a Northumbrian pipe band whilst sipping your scotch. Breakfast is always superb, and usually served in one of the most stunning dining rooms in the UK. The hotel is in the centre of Alnwick, and convenient for all the local shops, banks and so on. The local hostelries are very welcoming, and offer a wide variety of refreshments and food. For a jaundiced business traveller, the White Swan at Alnwick is highly recommended.

Date visited: About a month ago

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
The most conservative man in this world is the British trade unionist when you want to change him. - Ernest Bevin
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Harlaw - 1411, Mary Queen of Scots abdicates - 1567, Gibraltar Seized - 1704, Speaking Clock Introduced - 1936
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages