It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2019: Blackpool and the Lancashire Coast

Itís illumination time in Blackpool. Lancashire in October is not likely to be your choice for a sunshine break, but that is not why ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Headlands School, Penarth

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Jordan arnold on 20th January, 2016

Add your review
best school it kind in the UK and outside the Cardiff area where Im from Cardiff it has change so mush more day pupils than readiness now and the cafe is great with chef Dave cooking the food and three house still there now called Elindash celltic east and cell tic westand the old building is not in use nowand it mainly a school now

Date visited: 20/012016

Review by roy davis on 19th January, 2015

Add your review
hi. I was at headlands school from 1953 to 1959 with my older brother Philip although he was only there for three years. I must admit I liked my time at the school. born in London in 1942 I was sent to headlands simply because I came from a very broken family. mum and dad always fighting then dad sometimes throwing me out with mum to walk the streets. bad days back then. I had some good friends at the school and I would love to hear from anyone who was there at the same time as me. some names that I remember were Johnny Ingram/ Brian Pool/Horace and John Croft/Andrew Beecham/ to many to list. great friends. I must say that growing up after I left the school I used to think how some of the staff used to punish us if we did something wrong like Mr Pape giving us the cane or [buck] Wallace throwing a sawn down snooker cue at us and that fat slob Mr Hansell bullying us but they never did the same to their children did they. anyway Iwould love to hear from you. regards Roy Davis

Date visited: 1953/1959

Review by roy davis on 19th November, 2014

Add your review
Hi Brian.you must have been at Headlands just before me because I only rember Mr pape.Mr [buck] Wallace.Mr Davies.and Mr Jones. buck Wallace was the teacher in class 2. always threw a sawn down snooker que at you. Mr Jones married one of the sisters and left the school just a short time after I arrived. I did hear he was a loose cannon at times. I must admit I got on well with all the staff at the school exept that fat bully Mr hansell who was in charge of the hostel.my brother and I jumped him once and gave him a few digs for always hitting us on the head with a wooden towel roll holder. he never did that again. what is your last name Brian.

Date visited: 1953

Review by Brian on 3rd June, 2014

Add your review
I must have been at around the same time as Roy. My stay was of fear. Mr Pape loved his cane which I found out several times. Sister Monica,Mr Thomas,Mr Wallace, Mr Davies, Mr Evans. who was also a man to fear. I came away from that school a child full of fear and scared of those in authority. Affected me through the rest of my school days and earlier in my apprenticeship. I visited about 20 years ago and it all came flooding back. I broke into tears and my friend had to help me out.Now in my 70s I still hate that place.

Review by roy davis on 16th January, 2013

Add your review
hi derek harrison.my name is roy davis and i was at headlands between 1953 and 1959.did you teach at the main school or the new school that was built on the alotments by Mr Papes house. when i became 15 years old the school put me in digs just up the road from the school.then on my 16th birthday i left to go home to london. i have very fond memories of headlands school. alas i cant say the same for the hostel run by Mr Hansell. i must say that all the male teachers and sisters were pretty good towards us boys.although i did not get on with sister cathleen.once i was sent out side the day room for laughing to loud when Mr Pape made his rounds and saw me standing there he asked me why i was sent out. after i told him he gave 6 of the best. just for lauthing. but hey. it did me no harm.anyway if you wish to write anything on the school i will love to read about it. regards roy davis

Date visited: 1953

Review by roy davis on 9th January, 2013

Add your review
hi.my name is roy davis and im from london. i was sent to headlands school along with my brother philip in 1953.my brother spent 3 years there whilst i spent over six years there. although this was a long time for a 9 year old boy they were the best days of my life growing up. i loved my time at the school. yeah we had bad times but we also had good times. we used to go camping at Ogmor every year it was great.the teacher i liked most was Mr Howell he was so understanding.over the years i have visited the school a number of times. im 70 years old now and i still think of headlands. i remember MR PAPE Mr taylor Mr wallace[buck] Mr davis Mr howell Mr cook. to many to mention. great school great memories

Date visited: 1953

Review by Derek Harrison on 5th December, 2010

Add your review
Hi - my name is Derek Harrison and I taught at Headlands between Jan.1963 and Dec. 1966. I enjoyed a varied and rewarding experience with the Staff and the boys of those years, and eventually left to take up a Primaty School headship in Shropshire. During my spell at Headlands, I vividly recall two 'Builder's Models' of merchant ships in the main corridor, and eventually began to build my own model along the same lines. She was actually completed today - 46 years in the making! - and now stands in pride of place on my grand piano. Although entirely fictitious as a real ship, and simply based on my own observations and drawings, she has been named 'HEADLANDS' in respect to the people I met at the School and my experiences there. I can supply many other details of those days - including the Winter of 1963 when we didn't see the school grounds between New Year and Easter! Can anyone comment on the past or present history of Headlands? Very special days well remembered! With best wishes - Derek Harrison Whitchurch, Shropshire. 5th Dec. 2010

Date visited: 1963 - 1966 !

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Don't clap too hard - it's a very old building. - John Osborne
More Quotes

On this day:
Paradise Lost Published - 1667, First Benny Hill TV Show - 1951, Marchioness Disaster - 1989
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages