National Trust
Jonathans'

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2014: Regency Brighton and Hove

The plurally-named City of Brighton and Hove rather fittingly is a holidays Ė plural - destination. Itís modern, historic, cultural, sporting, happening, a seaside resort ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Jonathans' Hotel and Restaurant, Oldbury

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by christine woods on 18th March, 2010

Add your review
we were in the area for a wedding and drove down on the morning of said wedding.we checked in early so we could get to wedding for 3 pm.it was pouring with rain and we checked in and got changed and went straight out,the staff were looking for umbrellas for us,nice touch.we only stayed one night but it was the best room in the hotel,apparently we were upgraded as hotel was full.i would have loved to have seen all the other rooms and all the nooks and crannies.we wandered around as much as we could before we left.it was a gem of a place,definately nothing like your usual premier inns etc.i really liked the place and would have no hesitation going back.it was so unusual that i took photos of our room.if i ever get to grips with technology,i will put them on this site for others to see. the staff were all very nice.the only downside was when we got back to hotel in the early hours,the door was locked and we had to phone the number on the door for someone to lets us in,good job we had mobile with us.

Date visited: 1/8/09

Review by David on 18th September, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: Very good food Bad Points: Johnathons had no record of my booking when i arrived on Monday fortunately did have a room available. Poor beer selection

Date visited: 2008-09-18

Review by Jean Arscott on 4th February, 2008

Add your review
I booked a twin room and was given a family room - double bedwith single tucked round a corner. I complained as a twin had been confirmed. Was given another family room which did have two single beds but had not been cleaned in a long time. It was cold and gloomy. I insisted on additional heating and after a lot of insisting was given a portable convector heater which fell over if touched. The shower was an over the bath type and had everything except the actual shower. Bed was not made on the first morning and when I complained was told there was not enough staff to do all the rooms properly. The victorian lounge that featured in the webb site had been converted into what I can only describe as a sleazey mens club lounge with all walls side lamps and seating and curtains in black. The food was poor and the cooked breakfast cold. If I had been on my own I would not have stayed but I was with my sister in law who had had a traumatic journey to meet me at the hotel and she did not feel up to the trauma of finding an other hotel.

Date visited: November 2007

Review by lynda turner on 24th July, 2007

Add your review
My neice was due to hold her wedding there thursday (26th) on monday(23) she recevied a phone call to say the hotel had been sold and her wedding was cancelled, the hotel was paid in full they knew that they was selling when my neice went for a wedding rehersal thursday(19th) and she asked if it was going to be ready for her wedding she was told yes,this hotel have completely ruined her wedding day. I HOPE THEY ARE PROUD OF THEMSELVES

Date visited: 26/07/07

Review by SUSAN POPE on 29th May, 2007

Add your review
We have visited Jonathan's on numerous occasions during the past 6 years and always found the food, service and ambiance of the hotel fantastic. BEWARE this has now all changed, the staff are untrained and "bored" of the customers - you have heard of the saying pay peanuts and see what you get. The food was abysmal - a piece of pork advertised as filled with warm brie cheese came without the brie and when I complained a cold piece of brie was bought to the table on a saucer!! The butter for the bread on that table was margarine and towels in the lavatory were wet and dirty. This is just a few points believe me there were many moire grievances I placed in a letter to the manager and owners, so far no reply has been forthcoming (2 weeks later). I have heard that Jonathan's was sold the following week - god help the new owners in trying to build its reputation back up if that is how the old owners have let it slip.

Date visited: May 12th 2007

Review by Anonymous on 30th August, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Very friendly and professional staff. Great atmosphere. Will definately stay again

Date visited: 2006-08-30

Review by Anonymous on 25th July, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: There was a bed! Bad Points: The room was really hot- due to the weather we've been having lately. General Review: Hotel was fine but when I arrived reception didn't tell me about the restaurant,set menu, time of breakfast which is always good to hear when checking in. I had to find it out for myself. Food in restaurant was good.

Date visited: 2006-07-25

Review by Anonymous on 22nd July, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Layout of hotel. Bad Points: Standard of breakfast was poor General Review: Friendly staff overall, however, some of the staff need to temper their language when in the vicinity of guests.

Date visited: 2006-07-22

Review by P.I.Stewart on 13th December, 2005

Add your review
This was our first visit to Jonathans. Our meal was superb it arrived at the table fresh and hot and very well presented. The hotel is very unusual and consists of many small rooms and at each twist and turn there is something to see, certainly worth a visit. We found the staff to be second to none, they were very very helpful, and nothing was too much trouble, they worked very hard and all were smiling and happy. A big thank you to everyone for a lovely afternoon and evening. We will certainly come back at some time

Date visited: 10th December 2005

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
If you feel depressed or let down my advice is to roast a chicken - Delia Smith
More Quotes

On this day:
First Formal Sculling Race - 1715, Rule Britannia First Performed - 1740, Priestley Discovers Oxygen - 1774, Battle of the Nile - 1798, Regentís Canal Opens - 1820, Britain abolishes slavery - 1834, First Bank Holiday - 1871, First Mars Bar Made - 1932
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages