Dukes

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

April 2019: Hereford

April can be a tricky month for weather in Britain: surprisingly sunny days interspersed with spring showers. So a destination where the best of the ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Dukes Head Hotel, Dorking

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Anonymous on 18th June, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: Helpful staff, clean rooms. Bad Points: No breakfast offered. No double glazing on my window, so the sounds of the A24 woke me up very early. General review: Ok for a one night after a wedding party, but wouldn't want to stay any longer. Other rooms may be quieter.

Date visited: 2008-06-18

Review by Simon Charles on 23rd October, 2006

Add your review
When booking (the day before my arrival) I asked for a price for en-suite bed & breakfast and was quoted 45.00. I was also told there was a full evening menu available. When I arrived the room was clean but I was told that they only provide a carvery during the week. I could have roast lamb or beef or eat elsewhere. I chose the lamb and wished I had gone elsewhere. Before turning in for the night I asked what time I could expect breakfast. I was then told they didn't do breakfast and hadn't done for about five monnths. When I pointed out they had quoted a price for B&B the owner/manager shrugged his shoulders and said that was the way it is!. I was also asked to settle my bill before I went to bed just in-case I 'did a runner'. I was then also told I would have to pay an additional 2.5% if I chose to pay by credit card. I refused and told them I would pay the sum quoted or nothing. Eventually they agreed. This is without doubt the worst B&B experience at a pub I have encountered in about 20 years of travelling. Stay at this palce only if your want to get ripped off!

Date visited: 18/10/06

Review by HEATHER ANDERSON on 5th September, 2006

Add your review
Visited last weekend.Pub hotel under new management.The rooms are really nice and cosy now all newly decorated.Big screen sports room.LOved the hog roast SAturday night.The carvery on Sunday was excellent.As much as you could eat.Staff very obliging.When I returned home had mislaid my mobile.Manager phoned me up said they had found it and sent it registered post.

Date visited: 2ND SEPTEMBER 2006

Review by PAUL PRESTON on 9th June, 2006

Add your review
STAYED THERE OVERNIGHT WHILKST WAITING FOR MY FLIGHT BACK TO DETROIT NOT A HIGH TECH ESTABLISHMENT BUT REALLY FRIENDLY MANAGEMENT AND STAFF THE MANAGER BOB EVEN GAVE ME A LIFT TO GATWICK FULL OF ENGLISH CHARM LOVELY OLD PUB THE REAL ENGLISH EXPERIENCE PERHAPS YES I WOULD VISIT AGAIN

Date visited: 6TH JUNE 2006

Review by Jackie on 29th March, 2006

Add your review
Was dissappointed stopping here after appearing so nice. There can be road noise. Staff can be friendly. I have been assured this is a well run establishment...

Date visited: 11 FEB 2006

Review by Charlotte Young on 3rd March, 2006

Add your review
I have been here several times. It consists of a hotel, Restaurant, a bar and a games room is on its way; there will be tvs to watch sports, pool table, darts and karaoke. and quiz nights on wednesday. It is under new management by Allan and Bob who make you feel welcome. The staff are friendly and helpful, the food is devine and the rooms are nice and cleaned everyday. I recommend this hotel!

Review by mr robert bunce on 29th December, 2005

Add your review
yes tried this quaiont pub last week,nice to see new management taken over.A friendly welcome from new landlord Bob. Comfortable modest rooms at reraonable prices.Yes I would recpmmend.

Date visited: 23.12.05

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
The function of posterity is to look after itself. - Dylan Thomas
More Quotes

On this day:
Alfred Becomes King of Wessex - 0871, English order of knighthood founded - 1348, Birth of Shakespeare - 1564, Death of Shakespeare - 1616, Charles II is crowned - 1661, First Broadcast by British Monarch - 1924, Death of Blair Peach - 1979
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages