It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Blackland Lakes Holiday & Leisure Centre, Calne

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by a james on 15th April, 2012

Add your review
stayed at blackland lakes with friends for easter. oh dear we were so disappointed, the toilets were dirty, showers not cleaned properly. having young children was nightmare, spoke to staff who didnt seem worried and were quite rude, when asked for toilets to be cleaned, particularly older lady who was too posh to clean! would never return and suggest they learn about customer service and that without campers they woudnt have a business. my grandmother used to stay back in the 1970,s early 1980,s the owners mr walden & Mrs walden senior were pleasant and staff amazing particularly a real pleasant family farm. non returnable deposits be warned!!

Date visited: 6/42012

Review by julie on 13th June, 2011

Add your review
This is the second time that I have camped at Blacklands & was really looking forward to an enjoyable return visit, unfortunately my second visit to this camp site was somewhat disappointing.The camping fields themselves are absolutely fine, but it is with some regret that I cannot bestow the "block 2" facilities with the same compliment! The shower cubicles are very small, cramped & dare I say filthy & in some cases broken. The floor in the whole unit is grubby & there are so many spider webs everywhere that I'm sure that I recognised one or two from my previous visit last year! We had no hot water until day three of our stay despite bringing it to the attention of reception on day one, but once the problem had been sorted we had lashings of lovely hot water.The washing up area appears to have a resident house martin family, lovely to see, but not very hygienic as their excrement is falling into the washing up bowls.... Despite all of these problems, we had a great time. We hope to be returning to Blacklands next year & I feel certain that they will have acted on all of the above little problems in theirs & their future customers interest.

Date visited: 8th- 13th June 2011

Review by Jenny Austin on 10th September, 2010

Add your review
I feel compelled to write this review. My husband and I together with two friends stayed on this site for a long weeek-end on what was described as "all weather" pitches. The pitches themselves were not good, mostly weeds and mud. We had fully serviced pitches but when we came to attach hozes to the water taps there was nothing with which to attach them. The pressure was so high that it knocked out our pressure reduction valve on our caravan, this was in spite of us turning the pressure down as much as possible. On inspecting both of the shower blocks, I think it only fair to say that we were all appalled at the state of them. I even had to hold up my trousers the floors were absolutely filthy. The showers were dirty, old, no locks on some doors there was toilet paper smeared on some walls and the loos were disgusting. Needles to say we used our caravans to shower etc. The basins were open to all with no privacy cubicles. The dishwashing area and vegetable preparation areas were also very dirty. I really think these amenity blocks are a health hazzard. The whole site looked totally neglected in poor condition and no structure to it at all. We have never stayed on a site such as this, and will never return to this one. In fact I would warn everyone of the deplorable facilities. The shop was not well stocked and upon arriving we even had to make a telephone call to alert someone that we had arrived. I would suggest that the owners of this site should visit a site which is very close to Blackland Lakes which is excellent to see how it should be done. This site could have potential but alas no one seems to care.

Date visited: August 2010

Review by Barbara Walden on 12th July, 2010

Add your review
As the "female owner" mentioned in your review, I was somewhat surprised to read of my supposed "obnoxious and rude" behaviour when I have never had the pleasure of meeting you! However, I am sorry to hear that your stay was disappointing. Our amenity buildings are not new but are completely functional and we do our best to maintain high levels of cleanliness, although at a very busy period the standard may have fallen below our usual level, for which we apologise. So far during the current season, 72% of our visitors are either returning to us or are recommended by a friend. They have all enjoyed our attractive location and friendly atmosphere, and we are only sorry you did not feel the same way. Dr. Barbara Walden Owner / Director

Date visited: 05/05/2010

Review by rice on 5th May, 2010

Add your review
i felt like we had to write a review because we were so disappointed with this camp site that the AA recommended,the state of the toilets and showers was disgusting, they hadnt been cleaned once the whole time we stayed there and dont look like they have been cleaned for a long time before that,we always use AA sites regularly and upto now they have always been spotless,the female owner was i felt very rude and obnoxious the way she spoke to me, i would not recommend this camp site to anyone and certainly wont be using it again,i now understand why they ask for a non returnable disposit before you arrive on the site.

Date visited: 02-05-10 - 05-05-10

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Sex is a momentary itch, love never lets you go. - Sir Kingsley Amis
More Quotes

On this day:
British surrender at Yorktown - 1781, North Sea Oil Discovered - 1970, Black Monday Market Crash - 1987, Guildford Four Verdicts Quashed - 1989
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages