Wingham

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Wingham Wildlife Park, Canterbury

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Lynne Jardine on 8th April, 2013

Add your review
A visit to wingham today with my husband and 2 youngest children, we have been coming for a number of years now and what an improvement you can get really close to all the animals even in the winter months, the buildings have mostly been rebuilt a new in door play area with no extra cost yes the food is expensive but you can take your own. I would recommend wingham to anyone for a great day out and the staff are very friendly and hands on well done.

Date visited: 03/04/13

Review by Lynne Jardine on 8th April, 2013

Add your review
A visit to wingham today with my husband and 2 youngest children, we have been coming for a number of years now and what an improvement you can get really close to all the animals even in the winter months, the buildings have mostly been rebuilt a new in door play area with no extra cost yes the food is expensive but you can take your own. I would recommend wingham to anyone for a great day out and the staff are very friendly and hands on well done.

Date visited: 03/04/13

Review by MRS B ANNETT on 4th April, 2013

Add your review
VERY EXPENSIVE 10 FOR A CHILD OF 2yrs !!!! Compared to HOWLETTS 23:50 FOR A YEAR ADULT PASS & CHILDREN 3 AND UNDER GO FREE. GIFT SHOP WAY OVER PRICED. FOOD WAY OVER PRICES 1:80 FOR A BOTTLE OF PEPSI. NOT ENOUGHT TO SEE OR DO TO WARRENT THE COST. WOULD NOT GO HERE AGAIN.

Date visited: 2/4/13

Review by Abigail on 12th November, 2011

Add your review
Recently i went here and i had a great time. The experience was superb. There is a lot of hands on things that Howletts etc would not have. Athough the cafe was a little on the expensive side the park itself was great. I would recommend it to anyone

Date visited: 10th November 2011

Review by Stephen on 10th March, 2011

Add your review
What can I say. Lets start with the cafe, well its easier to say just bring your own picnic unless you want extremly expensive oily fired food that you eat in a room from hell. Maybe the parks a bit better. Well, errrr no. Yes we visited during the winter months and didnt expect everything like the summer, but you still pay full price. But it seems half the animals were either missing or the enclosures were being rebuilt. The animals they did have seems limited and not happy. No staff around to help or talk to. Part of the play park was ok, the other part was hazardous. On some cages they had signs informing that some animals were rescue animals so lack of feathers/fur etc was expected but I felt maybe that wasnt the other reason. If i was in these cages i would go mad.

Date visited: 6/03/2011

Review by kate on 4th May, 2010

Add your review
We visisted the park yesterday and although the experience was ok, if not a little cold I was horrifed to discover that when purchasing a cheese sandwich in the cafe for 3.25 it was literally a cheese sandwich, no garnish not even a few crisps on the side, Just 2 slices of cheapo white bread with some grated cheese! Would have been better value to have a cooked breakfast at 4! The cafe was not great and the floor seemed to be covered in food! If you are going I can recommend the pizza as it looked ok and seemed to be the only non fried item unless you count a jacket spud with cheese at 5.25!!!!!! Take a picnic is my advice!

Date visited: 03/05/10

Review by Bek on 11th July, 2009

Add your review
They charge for 2 year old which I find excessive - 23.00 for 2 adults and one tiny child! Everything looked very delapidated and in need of some TLC. Buildings were falling down. The animals seemed depressed and there was no staff supervision of the animals you could go in with. The deer were eating bags and children were hitting the deer. Some areas were dangerous for children (particularly by the pond next to the parrots where you can literally step back and fall in the pond)! The otters enclosure looked filthy and the water looked polluted. Overall, not very impressed with the park at present, everything looked very run down and although, we understand that the current owners are doing it up, charging that amount of money while it is still in such a poor state is ridiculous. Far too expensive for what you actually get.

Date visited: 12/07/09

Review by jess on 28th May, 2009

Add your review
today my boyfriend and I visited wingham bird park as a day out as he has never been and Id been years ago with my mum and loved it . However, we were really disappointed to see the state and poor upkeep of the park, no staff wondering the premises or supervision. the birds were in a terrible condition, malting, itching and looking overall unhealthy and fed up. the cages of most the animals were far too compact and simple. I didnt feel the animals were being treated fairly enough. As there were no staff on hand this resulted in animals being mistreated and thrown about by visitors. I watched one unsupervised small child GRAB a monkey as if it were a doll before it leaped away, another child feeding a paper bag to the ducks and not forgetting a middle aged lady KICK a pygmy goat and yank it by its horns! I was so shocked and stepped in by pointing out the goat wasnt harming anyone and she was to leave it alone. I have pictures of all the animals on my camera, some happy with there babies but most looking miserable and in need of help . im so dissapointed and got very upset. yeah there was a good park for the kids but thats not the main attraction! the condition of all the buildings were poor. not going back.

Date visited: 28/5/09

Review by Jean M.G. on 19th January, 2009

Add your review
1 year ago we visited and it was a bit of a let down regarding the state of the park BUT on speaking to the NEW owners we realised they were intending to get the park back up to a very good standard again. We have returned again several times since and on every visit we have seen improvements. The play area is great for most ages and the kiddies love it, okay they get muddy so don't wear best clothes and have dry trousers to change into and it is safe with no worrying about them wandering to far. The animal enclosures are being rebuilt and tidied up one by one with some having different animals. We now have yearly passes because it is a great place to visit and we want to support a local attraction. If you havent been for a while pop back and give it another try. From May family ages 1yrs to 50s!

Date visited: May, June, Sept, Oct 2008

Review by k palmer on 14th August, 2008

Add your review
having had my son nag me to take him and his brother despite the weather! i did, as we have had a wonderfull time on previous visits. unfortunatly this time both my sons and their granfather had a miserable time! It seems to have lost a certain charm?? The wood on the bird houses and all the buildings had rotted and was broken looking a real mess to be honest!! The monkeys were no where to be seen??? The butterfly part in the tropical house was taken up by some member of staff doing god knows what? with clutter every where we had to step over everything, and where were all the butterflys??? we saw 2! My son was also very dissapointed with the lack of gifts in the gift shop. 23.00 for a family ticket day that no one enjoyed.

Date visited: 13/08/2008

Review by oliver on 20th February, 2008

Add your review
this is a wonderful place were you can fedd ost animals and there is a good range of animals to see. also you cn see them all well because of the great layout

Date visited: august

Anonymous Review on 17th July, 2006

Add your review
sweet

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Life is made of ever so many partings welded together. - Charles Dickens
More Quotes

On this day:
Irish Catholic Uprising - 1641, Battle of Trafalgar - 1805, First Women Peers Enter Lords - 1958, 1st British Nuclear Powered Sub launched - 1960, The Aberfan Disaster - 1966
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages