Hurley

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2019: Blackpool and the Lancashire Coast

Itís illumination time in Blackpool. Lancashire in October is not likely to be your choice for a sunshine break, but that is not why ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Hurley Riverside Park, Hurley

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Mrs j burgwin on 1st June, 2012

Add your review
A beautiful, well maintained site. It is situated right on the thames riverbank, my husband & I had a very enjoyable picnic on the riverbank,only 2 mins walk from our caravan.Very relaxing watching the boats go by :) We also enjoyed Hurley town and would recommend The 'compleat angler hotel' as a fabulous place to dine in an amazing setting by the river. We loved it so much we are returning in July 2012

Date visited: June 2010

Review by Patrick Bolger on 1st August, 2010

Add your review
Overall the facilities, location and surroundings are very good. Although we enjoyed our weekend break, I must say they should reconsider their rules and particularly the way they are enforced. There is a strict no noise policy after 10:30pm and on the first night we had a visit from the manager, who was incredibly confrontational and aggressive. We were playing guitar and it was not very loud. Once we had been scolded by the manager, we put the guitars away immediately. The campers nearby told us the next day that they were actually enjoying the music. We spoke with the owner the next day and everything was sorted out, but they should seriously give their manager a few lessons in communication and customer service. Good facilities, but don't go if you plan on staying up after 10:30pm.

Date visited: July 2010

Review by Tony Onkey on 14th December, 2009

Add your review
We camped in Hurley just after the summer holidays and found the park to be lovely and clean and very quiet. there are 2 wardens now and i think the younger of the two is taking over at the end of the year - we found them both to be very friendly and efficient. We bought tickets to legoland at the reception cheaper than they were online and also used a discount voucher at the green olive in henley which was very nice we spent an afternoon by the river which is next to the picnic grounds and enjoyed feeding the ducks and swans overall a great site which we would highly recommend

Date visited: September 09

Review by Catherine Maciver on 12th May, 2007

Add your review
We have been to Hurley Riverside Park several times and it is very beautiful and a nice site. However, we have consistently found that the owners in particular the man are very unfriendly, rude and seem very annoyed to have to serve you. For my birthday this year I thought I could take all my friends to Hurley as many of them have never been camping before. It was all planned, invitations until my mum called the site to find out the prices. On which she discovered groups of girls camping were banned from the site due to their disturbance of other campers. My brother has taken his friends in the past and it has been fine. Then seveal of my friends in other years in my school also took their friends camping. The man said a group if girls were camping there and distured the site so now the rule is in place. How can he say all groups of girls are going to be like that? We would have parents to supervise etc and I don't see why he couldn't give us a chance. When I called him back he was everso rude and was very upset that I had to cancel my whole party. I think that if adults go on about the youth of today never seeing the countryside well that would be because of annoying rules in place. Camping is all about going out with a group of people and enjoying yourself. His attitude always affects your stay. However despite this Hurley is a good place to camp as a family. All I can think is that we always used to use this campsite but now the rules in place have forced us to go elsewhere or nowhere. I wish they would reconsider this ban. Not all girlie teenagers are disrespectful toward other campers. submitted by catherine age 13

Date visited: last year

Review by TANYA on 16th July, 2006

Add your review
WONDERFUL PARK GREAT PLACE TO GO WITH YOUR FAMILY AND BEUTIFUL NATURE,

Date visited: 15/06/2006

Review by R G Turner on 31st August, 2005

Add your review
Despite being a superb and clean site there are some concerns. This was our second visit in a year and certain things then have still not been addressed from our previous time. The toilet blocks still have all the broken coat hooks as per last year. There is still not suitable provision of enough hot water for the amount of people using the site (i feel sure this could easily be remedied and is not unreasonable to expect). We reported last year the fact that the washing up facility lights were not working on centre block and these still do not. The Bridge from the site to the river is broken making the thames non-accessible with ease. Last but not least, the welcome recieved from the miserable manager leaves much to be desired he seems to revel in making lives a misery and any possibility of a personable approach is avoided, it appears at all cost. I realise that in the light of things these complaints seem irrelevant in view of the site quality but the site is not cheap, and these irritations spoil an otherwise excellent experience. R G Turner

Date visited: 26th august 2005

Review by The Marshalls on 13th July, 2005

Add your review
Our first camping trip of the year with friends who have never camped before! Lovely site with large pitches. Toilets and showers all clean. Kids loved the open space and the ducks and rabbits wandering around. Will book again this year. Friendly people. Shame the shop wasn't open yet.

Date visited: 2nd July 2005

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Nature, to be commanded, must be obeyed. - Sir Francis Bacon
More Quotes

On this day:
William Wallace is hanged, drawn and quartered - 1305, LDV becomes Home Guard - 1940, Freckleton Tragedy - 1944
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages