National Trust
Empress

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2014: The Forest of Bowland

Is it sad that so few Britons know the Forest of Bowland, or great for those of us who do? Bowland covers a huge area, ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Empress Hotel, Douglas

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Anonymous on 24th September, 2009

Add your review
Bad Points: bathroom tiles did not seem to be holding back the water properly

Date visited: 2009-09-24

Review by Anonymous on 1st February, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: Central location; spacious public areas; good breakfast (kippers excellent!); drinkable coffee! (croissants could have been fresher); pleasant and polite dining staff; fair price; pleasantly warm bedrooms; nice bathroom; tea & coffee-making facilities; wireless internet facility. Bad Points: Bit chilly in the breakfast lounge in the morning (backing on to conservatory); bar staff not very proactive (think that drink sales could be increased if staff bothered to approach tables and: 1. Ask guests if they would like another drink. 2. Deliver the drink(s) to the table instead of letting them sit on the bar and expect guests to collect them for themselves!! WiFi should be included in the price, it's no longer a 'luxury' item, for businness its essential. The lift had a very nasty smell about it - stale and quite foul at times. The front steps were being painted so the damp smell on entering the hotel was replaced with a strong smell of tar! The first thing anyone really notices on entering a building is the pervailing smell - pleasant or otherwise. It really is worth working on this aspect as it 'flavours' first impressions. General review: I enjoyed my stay in the hotel overall, but would like to see attempts made to improve those items mentioned above.

Date visited: 2009-02-01

Review by Peter on 22nd September, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: Met my needs for this visit. Bad Points: Lacked an electric shaver connection in the bathroom General review: My stay on the island was for a funeral so I was not particularly in holiday/leisure mode. The hotel was a pleasant place to stay for the visit.

Date visited: 2008-09-22

Review by san wilson on 7th August, 2008

Add your review
Fantastic hotel- great facilities,would definitly recommend hotel to anyone,friendly bar staff and young piano player called phil was fantastic !!

Date visited: 22-07-2008

Review by Anonymous on 1st April, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: Restaraunt food (both) was excellent as were the staff - all you can eat for 17 in the Asian restaurant!. Pool was nice and gym equipment was good for the size of hotel. Bad Points: Stained furniture in room, burn on carpet and soiled carpets in parts of the hotel, tired look about whole place, needs a complete redecoration. Radiator not working in bathroom and radiator tap removed so unable to turn it on, fan extractor not working so whole room filled with steam when showering, DVD player not working, poor (snowy) TV reception etc etc. General review: I would like to have known that I was going to be adjacent to a building site ( new apartments being built for the next six months or so according to one of the locals) and in a room at the side of the hotel right next to it - a lie in beyond 8 am was a no go! Imagine Llandudno on a bigger scale and you get the picture of what Douglas is like.

Date visited: 2008-04-01

Review by Robert on 1st November, 2007

Add your review
Good Points: Great English breakfast! The pool, although small, was pleasant for swimming. Bad Points: Hotel is a bit run down. Room very small.

Date visited: 2007-11-01

Review by Mitul Gadhia on 17th March, 2006

Add your review
I stayed at The Empress Hotel, and I had a fantastic stay. The rooms were very comfortable and they are all equipped with broadband internet. The food available there in La Brasserie is exquisite. I've never had such an appetising meal. The staff there are so helpful and polite, they can not do enough for you. The kids enjoyed the swimming pool & Jacuzzi, and I enjoyed using the sauna and steamroom! They also have a great gym. I will always stay at The Empress when I visit the Isle of Man.

Date visited: DEC 2005

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
To most men experience is like the stern lights of a ship, which illuminate only the track it has passed. - Samuel Taylor Coleridge
More Quotes

On this day:
The Battle of Myton-on-Swale - 1319, Vegetarian Society Formed - 1847, Jack the Ripper Kills twice in one Day - 1888, The discovery of penicillin - 1928, BBC begins TV Transmissions - 1929, Chamberlain Proclaims Peace for our Time, - 1938, Bourne End Rail Crash - 1945, Thunderbirds Are Go! - 1965, Radio 1 goes on air - 1967
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages