Shap

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2017: Ashdown Forest

The return to school in September focuses the minds of two groups of travellers: in the first week parents looking for a last bite of ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Shap Wells Hotel, Penrith

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by hotelmr/mrs coomer on 1st June, 2010

Add your review
we stayed at this hotel on a short break my self and my wife thought the location was wonderfull the staff where helpfull polite the food was very good and the room although small was quite good the walks around the hotel in the woods was exerlent to see the wild life such as red squirels and lots of different birds our opinion of this is ten out of ten mr/mrs coomer

Date visited: 31/05 /2010

Review by john on 5th June, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: exellent location with tranquall surroundihgs . just a lovely clean hotel every thing you would expect ; and more. General review: fantastic location for active or relaxation breaks.

Date visited: 2009-06-05

Review by Mrs Boyd on 21st February, 2009

Add your review
We found the hotel very clean and the staff very polite and helpful.The food was very good but I think that if the dinner menu was shown to the guests at breakast then time would be saved at dinner especialy for people who donot like items on the menu thus giving ample time for an alternative to be found.Overall my sister in law and I enjoyed our stay,seeing red squirrels was marvelous.

Date visited: 16/02/2009

Review by anon on 5th October, 2008

Add your review
Was a class act for sure

Date visited: 12/09/2008

Review by c manley on 7th September, 2008

Add your review
A beautiful setting, but badly signposted. My room smelt 'old' but was adequate.The Dining Room was having a panic attack, too many guests arriving at once, and not enough waiting staff. Dinner,when it arrived, was certainly not worth the cost of the meal. Breakfast would not set up enthusiastic hikers for the day!! I am afraid the food was a total let-down.

Date visited: 30th August 2008

Review by Anonymous on 2nd November, 2007

Add your review
Good Points: hotel situation excellent - views excellent -food is good although not as good as a visit earlier in the year - entertainment in the bar enjoyable Bad Points: Mess such a dirty bed linen left in the corridor by cleaning staff

Date visited: 2007-11-02

Review by ANGUS, glasgow on 5th August, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: the location and tranquility the hotel was excellent and there was nothing that we disliked about the hotel we will be returning with friends very soon as it is halfway for both of us and excellent value Bad Points: nothing General Review: the rooms are spacious clean we had drinks in the bar and a meal in the restaurant and was very pleased with both only wished we knew that this hotel was here before, we travel regularly from scotland to england only found this by chance on the internet we will definatly be returning again very soon.

Date visited: 2006-08-05

Review by WILLIAM, REDDITCH on 1st August, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Shower was massive !

Date visited: 2006-08-01

Review by Anonymous on 6th July, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: A proper hotel not a prefab put you up ,although as now a corparate identity in that it belongs to a chain of hotel it still maintains a welcoming private hotel Bad Points: where were the biscuits in the room General Review: not very well signposted from motorway or from shap

Date visited: 2006-07-06

Review by Anonymous on 11th April, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: It was clean and tidy and good value. General Review: i thought the venue was in a lovely spot, extrememly pretty, but somewhat remote as I came by train and took a taxi from Penrith. I am not sure whether this information was available to me - I booked in a hurry and through a personal recommendation and may not have read all the information about access that was available to me on line. However I would like to return on a leisure break (by car) to walk in the locality as the service was good and represented good value for money.

Date visited: 2006-04-11

Review by Anonymous on 13th July, 2005

Add your review
Peace and tranquility to really chill out

Date visited: 2005-07-13

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
I remain just one thing, and one thing only, and that is a clown. It places me on a far higher plane than any politician. - Charlie Chaplin
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Fulford - 1066, Executions of Babington Plotters Begin - 1586, Battle of Newbury - 1st - 1643, QE2 Launched - 1967
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages