National Trust
Swan

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2014: The Forest of Bowland

Is it sad that so few Britons know the Forest of Bowland, or great for those of us who do? Bowland covers a huge area, ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Swan at the Vineyard, Lamberhurst

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Polo Girl on 12th July, 2011

Add your review
We've been coming here as a family for a few months, mainly because the children enjoy the 'play castle' and the staff have been accommodating to children. The food is OK, though over-priced and still a bit 'school dinners' (pub grub food at gastro pub prices). But since Saturday last week we will sadly never return. The staff were no where to be seen (we were the first dining customers, had to find our own table, ask for drinks..then menus...then to order...then to order more drinks....) and our food took a very long time to come - very hard with two small children! What did eventually arrive was unappatising, had been under the heat lamp for far too long (the tell-tale signs of dry and glassy fish) and the steak was over-cooked. £20 for an over-cooked average steak & frozen chips is far too expensive. We had to ask for the bill as the food arrived as we'd only had one sharing plate and the kids meals in an hour..and I had to take the bill to the bar as I was invisible to the grumpy waitress, whom, when I complained, denied our food was slow because we'd had a starter (one!)!!

Date visited: Saturday July 2011

Review by Janet on 30th November, 2010

Add your review
I cannot speak more highly of the wonderful friendly atmosphere of this restaurant/pub. Lovely staff, and delicious food. Management on hand all the time are so caring and friendly. I always use and recommend the Swan for small or larger gatherings. The senior citizens menu is first class and the waiting staff are very attentive, friendly and polite. Would recommend to anyone and everyone

Date visited: regularly 2009-2010

Review by Richard on 14th June, 2010

Add your review
For everyone’s eyes, i attended this wonderful family orientated pub on Christmas day and to say the food was melt in the mouth is an understatement it was superb, i would even go as far as to say i haven’t found a better restaurant since! The potions are ample and yet all flavour is retained, i have since attended there time and time again, and will not hesitate to rate this pub to my friends for its outstanding professionalism and super dupa food!

Date visited: 25/12/10 and alot since then!

Review by C.Steele on 21st April, 2010

Add your review
Having spent a superb weekend with friends in Rye enjoying good pub grub and ale we thought Lamberhurst would provide a good stop over on the way home. How wrong we were. We pulled up at The Swan and found a table outside. We ordered drinks and took the Menu to order. Having returned to the bar we were confronted by a local drunk swearing and the landlord totally ignored him. We went back outside and waited and waited and waited. We were going to complain and the food arrived. The Beef was OK the veg was stone cold. The fish was the most disgusting fish we had ever eaten. Full of bones and dry. We gave up eat what we could and left. We will never ever go back to this dreadfull pub again and if you want decent food and good service don't go there.

Date visited: 18/4/10

Review by Andrew Silber on 4th September, 2009

Add your review
I was really keen to take my family here. We live in California, and I was at the Swan in March 2006, and really liked it. Four of us went for lunch, and it was pretty good. I remember the menu as being rather exciting and innovative back then, - three years ago; it is a bit more pedestrian now... a bit better than average pub-style food, but less 'gastro' than it used to be. Nevertheless, everything was pretty satisfactory, - just not too exciting. I am assuming that chef and/or owners have changed since '06. We went on to North Yorks. and had two great meals at the Blue Lion and the Yorke Arms. They are the still the standard that I remember fondly from the Swan at Lamberhurst.

Date visited: August 26, 2009

Review by John Douglas on 7th July, 2009

Add your review
Please don't be put off by the negative comments made before Tracey and Martin took over. I'm sure they were justified then but things have changed. The staff at The Swan are friendly and helpful and there is now a good atmosphere about the place. There is a great play area for the kids and the patio area is clean and tidy with lovely views when the sun sets. I recommend a visit.

Date visited: 5/07/2009

Review by Kate Peterson on 9th June, 2009

Add your review
As soon as I entered the Modern English Pub/Restraunt, I immediately felt welcome, by the atmosphere and the decoration! The staff were helpful and had very good attitudes! The service was quick and the menu was clear and simple. However the food was'nt as simple, the food was beautifully set out and tasted delicious. The portions were satisfying and the play area looked like it was extremely good fun for the children. I would definitely recommend this restraunt to anyone with 110% sincerity, as I felt the genuine sincerity of the kind and calm attitudes of the welcoming staff.

Date visited: 26th May 2009

Review by Mr Martin Potter on 5th April, 2009

Add your review
As the new landlord of The Swan which i took over on the 10 nov 2008 formley from The Brown Trout in Lamberhurst i would like to stress that our Menu's have now changed and offer more tradional and homemade food with daily speicals, fish selection including freshly caught Bewl Water trout.Our dishes range from £8.95 We also do a senior citizen two course meal , Monday to Saturday lunch at £6.50.Children are also very welcome at our pub and we offer a children's menu at £4.50 and have a fantastic play area out in our large garden . We do allow dogs in our bar area that now has tables and chairs if you wish to eat there.We have music nights of either live bands or jazz .Monthly quiz night.

Date visited: 10 nov 2008

Review by Pete Webb on 5th March, 2009

Add your review
As a resident of Lamberhurst and having just read the reviews,I think it only fair to point out that this establishment has changed hands.I don't drink there and I don't eat there but I would want to see someone suffer for other peoples past mistakes.

Date visited: N/A

Review by Terry Price on 27th January, 2008

Add your review
We were looking forward to nice meal out for my partners birthday (5 Persons). We were sat down at a nice table and told that the mussells were off the menu, then told me could only order off the Al' A Catre menu which was very limited and expensive, this menu also included desserts. The food we ordered was very good, but when asked if I wanted a dessert the waitress turned up with a small piece of paper with items which weren't on the offered menu. When I complained the manager then proceeded to tell us that the menu was being changed. At no point in the booking of this meal were we told that the menu was restricted, and then even at the start of the meal we were not informed. The restaurant was not busy, and the manager just didn't care about our complaints. I wasn't after a discount, as it was a special occasion for my partner which was let down by poor service. To add insult, they even added 10% to the bill for service. My understanding is that you pay for service when it is actually good service. We will not be going back there again, and I will ensure that as many people know about this bad service as possible. Maybe someone can tell me about the "Real Vineyard".

Date visited: 26/01/08

Review by graham overal on 17th October, 2007

Add your review
It may not be my place to review this gastro food house,since i am actually the new Head Chef. But i do feel a sense of resposiblity to my new position and the guests i am catering for. The menu has been changed to suit the coming season change and local produce is being used where ever possible. There are two menus to choose from, both use only the freshest ingrediants and everything is prepared in house. I could go on...but i think its only right to let you decide for yourselves.

Date visited: august 07

Review by Juliet Norris on 11th March, 2007

Add your review
What a disappointment. Eight of us arrived at 1pm for Sunday lunch and as we were handed the menus the waitress advised that unfortunately the roast was already sold out! She returned approximately 15 minutes later only then to advise that due to a "menu changeover" there was certain dishes on the menu that were also unavailable, in particular no pasta or vegetarian options, apart from two fish dishes. This meant that three of us had to hurridly select an alternative option. Forty minutes later without any sign of our starters arriving the waitress re-appeared to apologise that due to a computer error our order had never reached the kitchen. We had three small children with us who were by now ravenous and it was becoming difficult to keep them settled. The food finally arrived, starters and childrens food all ok, but our main courses were well below average and over priced for what they were. Two of our party ordered steak cooked medium, both arrived so rare that some of it was inedible. The lamb steak (which was a special) was extremely fatty. The duck (at £16) was overcooked. On a positive note, after complaining the manageress offered to take the main courses and a bottle of wine off the bill. I would not return to eat. There are plenty other nice pubs in the area that serve much better quality food at lower prices.

Date visited: 11th March 2007

Review by Melvyn Pett on 17th January, 2007

Add your review
To break our journey on a wet January day my wife & I stopped for a snack lunch at what looks to be a delightful English Inn. It was just after midday & we were the first in the Restaurant. We ordered drinks and an open steak sandwich & salmon sandwich. Our service was slow - two adjacent tables of 2 & 4 our received their food before us although arriving later. When our food eventually arrived my wife's order was wrong. Expecting a quick rectification I started my sandwich but it was nearly 10 minutes (and after our chasing the order) before the salmon arrived. The waitress apologised but for some reason the manager also appeared and told us "mistakes will happen" is a rather surly manner. What could have been a nice meal was spoilt by bad & ill-mannered service. Possibly a nice place to stop in summer for a pint of beer or glass of wine - I certainly would not recommend the restaurant.

Date visited: 17 January 07

Review by Lindsay Johnson on 6th October, 2006

Add your review
8 of us enjoyed a wonderfull birthday meal for one of our party. The waiting staff were very friendly and pleasant and the food was fantastic. The chef came out to speak to us as 1 of our party had a question and he was very nice and helpfull. Certainly passionate about his food!! It is a little on the expensive side, but we would certainly go back again.

Date visited: Sunday October 1st 2006

Review by melissa davies on 21st September, 2006

Add your review
Great to find somewhere diferent at last, good food great english wines selection and friendly atmosphere. Glad i read the other reviews after our visit, but its nice to redress the balance. will return !!

Date visited: 16th sept 06

Review by melissa davies on 21st September, 2006

Add your review
Great to find somewhere diferent at last, good food great english wines selection and friendly atmosphere. Glad i read the other reviews after our visit, but its nice to redress the balance. will return !!

Date visited: 16th sept 06

Review by John Lock on 25th June, 2006

Add your review
The serving staff were miserable and slow. They could not seem to locate any menu's for quite some time. When they arrived we were left to look at them for 10 minutes or so. When we came to order we were told the two things we wanted were no longer available (they could have told us that when they handed us the menu)I ordered a fillet steak at the inflated price of £18.50 and when it arrived it was the smallest steak I have ever been given. I refused to pay the 10% service charge which was automatically added to my bill and we left disapointed.

Date visited: 24th June 2006

Review by Virginia Freeman on 18th June, 2006

Add your review
Initially it seemd the evening was going to be good as we sat outside in the pleasant garden with beautiful hanging baskets. Then they came to take our orders some of the starters were off the menu, then after ordering the main course we were told three of them were off, after the waiter confirming they were OK. To top that after eating our starters we were told they were out of roast potatoes to accompany the steak, and that they only had chips. Three of us ended up with the chicken in filo pastry, which was awful, the pastry was touch and soggy, and the chicken so overcooked some of it could not be cut through. We told the waiter when he came to collect the plates that the chicken was not good, and he called the owner Sean. He became quite agitated and then abusive, when I said I did not like his attitude, he said he didn't like mine and that he didn't believe what we had said about the chicken. He then must have realised that he had a bad attitude and offered to let us have our puddings for free. After we told him that 7 of the dishes we had ordered had come back as being 'off' he then said he would not charge for the chicken, but would charge for the puddings. He then appeared with some free drinks! When ordering our puddings, the waitress said that the fruit crumble was off, and then she disappeared. Another waiter came to finish our order and said there was plenty of crumble?? The waitress was later seen sobbing her heart out near the ladies toilets. I would not recommend this pub/restaurant to anyone, it was not cheap, there were six of us and it came to £145 and we had not been charged for three main courses!!! Bad pub - bad food - bad attitude.

Date visited: 18 June 2006

Review by John Tarrick on 22nd April, 2005

Add your review
Yesterday afternoon my wife and i decided to find somewhere to eat, we found The Swan at the vineyard, we were greeted with a friendly attitude and the garden is fantastic. I recomend the Crayfish and goats cheese salad its A+ Try it!

Date visited: 21/04/05

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Wouldn't it be better to have a watertight law designed to catch the guilty, rather than a press release law designed to catch the headlines? - William Hague
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Poitiers - 1356, Great Plague of London at its Height - 1665, 'Lord Haw-Haw' sentenced to death - 1945, First Traffic Wardens in London - 1960, First Glastonbury - 1970, First Episode of Fawlty Towers - 1975, Murder of Carl Bridgewater - 1978, Southall Train Crash - 1997
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages