It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Pear Tree, Whitley

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Amanda on 21st July, 2011

Add your review
Visited today for lunch. Wonderful service and fantastic food. The Pesr Tree is a lovely pub and has always been a welcoming place to eat and drink. I will continue to visit this pub and look forward to its new lease of life with its new owner. If you have never been, do go. Reasonably priced, fresh food cooked by professional chefs with the best eton mess I ahve ever had. Also try Govenor and Old Rosie, yum yum :0))

Date visited: 21/07/2011

Review by Mike Moss on 31st January, 2010

Add your review
I find the recent negative reviews on here curious. As family, and with friends, we have eaten at The Pear Tree many times over the past five years and never, ever been disappointed with either the food, the service or the value. We tend to eat in the bar for the 'proper pub' atmosphere (and because dogs are allowed in there) and we have always been made to feel most welcome. The set lunch is, quite honestly, astounding value for money bearing in mind the quality of the cooking. We were anxious when the original owners left and the Pear Tree was taken over by a chain. If anything, things have got even better since though in our experience. It's our first choice for any celebration, or just to treat ourselves.

Date visited: January 2010

Review by Glenda Dickens on 24th November, 2009

Add your review
We have not been to this restaurant for 2.5yrs.The Pear Tree had been taken over a short while ago and it really shows,Such a difference but not a good one. The manager greeted us at the bar and her appearance was sloppy to say the least,there was a chef lurking behind who was as grumpy as can be.We ordered our drinks and were then seated by an unpleasant waiting girl. So far the experience is not good! We chose our lunch and between ordering and recieving it was 40 mins which was a long time and as there were only 3 tables full I couldn't understand the delay. The food was edible but really nothing special,certainly not worth the money we were charged. It is such a shame to go back to a place we used to frequent often to find out it has been taken over by people who really are after a quick buck. Bring back the old owners they were fab.

Date visited: 19 Oct 2009

Review by natasha ferdinand on 16th May, 2008

Add your review
From the moment they took my call I knew we had stubbled on the right place a family gathering for my parents ruby Wedding Aniversary. Rooms fantastic - molton brown products, home made biscuits, fluffy robes and towels etc. All are demands covered from travel cots, veggi meals, early breakfasts, late check in, champagne in the room etc AND most importantly delicous, well sourced local and intresting food - dont miss the cheese board. Slightly slow bar staff but very friendly service thanks we will be back

Date visited: 22 feb 08

Review by Lucy on 14th April, 2008

Add your review
Went to the Pear Tree to celebrate my birthday oh how I wishe I had stayed at home. No welsome my husband waited a while at the bar to be served. Ordered our meal, we were seated my risoto was luke warm.my serviette was damp!! Waited for our Champagne. Main meal came without the pre -orderd vegetables, we had to retrieve the candle to see, plus the steak knives were presented in a napkin to my husband in a paper napkin. No horseradish made only on Sundays we have run out so the attitude was tough. The young girls had no service skills and the manager scruffy no presence, what a disappointment

Date visited: 14 April 2008

Review by Majken Kruse on 26th October, 2007

Add your review
We have been to the Pear Tree several times and the food has always been good. This lunch time was no exception. I have read the other reviews here and must say they differ from our opinion of the Pear Tree. It is a lovely, cosy looking place, quite big inside, decorated in very good taste. The food was excellent and they have an interesting choice of menu...... there is also a children's menu, which is good as we often have children with us. The service sometimes is a little slow as it is usually busy there, but as we don't go there to have a quick meal that has been ok. Generally we have enjoyed it there which is why we keep going back when we are in Wilts.

Date visited: October 20, 2007

Review by James Spencer-Churchill on 20th February, 2007

Add your review
I'm quick to offer praise when something goes well, but as you will see, when something goes badly wrong, I'm not afraid to make my point... The evening started off poorly, only one member of staff behind the bar on a busy Saturday night. It then took 30 minutes to be acknowledged with a menu, a further 30 minutes for the waitress to return to take our order... she also had a terrible attitude... and then a further 30 minutes to receive our starter... the rest of the evening was the same. Having booked a table for 8:45, we finally left at 11:30 having only just finisged our puddings! The food was good, but the service, attitude of the staff and overall price was a huge turn-off. Safe to say, we will not be returning or recommending this pub in future.

Date visited: 17 Feb 2007

Review by Karen Papworth on 17th July, 2006

Add your review
As the Pear Tree, Whitley, Wilts had been given an UK pub of the year award for 2005 my husband and I thought it well worth a try. The pub and gardens are lovely. The ladies toilets had Molton Brown hand wash and hand lotion which is always a nice touch. But when it came to the meal it was disappointing. The service was very slow, even though the restaurant wasn’t half full. We only ordered main courses (due to the wait to take our order) then my husband was given the wrong dish. The waitress did offer to have it replaced with the one he had ordered but would have had to wait for it to be cooked while my meal was on the table. It is not our idea of a pleasant meal out when we have to eat them at different times. I also noticed another couple who came in after us sitting for quite a while and having to ask the waitress for a menu. The food was fine, but compared to other pubs charging similar prices I think overpriced. We spent £45 for two main courses, one glass of wine and a pint of beer. The Pear Tree may have had an off day but at the prices they are charging I think every customer is entitled to a good experience.

Date visited: 15 July 2006

Review by Jukes on 3rd June, 2005

Add your review
Rarely have I spent a most relaxed evening enjoying the surroundings of a very pleasant "pub". The word "pub" does not do it justice for once you have entered the bar selected a drink from the extensive range of beers/lagers and wines by the glass and sat down to take in your surroundings it is evident that you are in for a bit more than a standard bar meal. The menu is varied and if you cannot find something to your liking you must be very hard to satisfy.Once shown to your table you can appreciate the "Tardis" element of the establishment as the dining area is large, tables well spaced and in most positions a good view of the garden canbe enjoyed. The food is excellently prepared to your personal taste and wonderfully presented by friendly, knowledgeable and curtious staff.With regard to the cost I admit it is dearer than the "average pub" but the Pear tree can in no way be mistaken for an "average pub" rather a distinct cut above the "average pub". I did not mind the price at all as I thought it was more than fair fir the evening. All in all I would recommend the Pear Tree to anyone seeking a lot more than the a pub fayre and I will certainly be returning

Date visited: 2nd June 2005

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
All wealth is the product of labour. - John Locke
More Quotes

On this day:
Worlds Oldest Football Club Founded - 1857, Wall Street Crash - 1929, Formation of UN - 1945, Last Commercial Concorde Flight - 2003
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages