Castle

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Castle Inn Hotel, Bassenthwaite

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by leona&victoria on 12th March, 2009

Add your review
after visiting this hotel for many many years with my parents, i spent a long weekend with my mum & 18mth old son there in sept 08, we stopped in a refurbed family room which was very nice with a modern bathroom. we have seen a lot of changes over the years and the atmosphere isnt as cosy and freindly as years gone by. The staff at meal times though plesant were difficult to talk to because they were foreign and spoke little english and didnt quite understand what we were ordering for breakfast. choice of breakfast however... delicious! been charged 15 a nite for an infant is rather dear. however we would stop here again.

Date visited: sept 08

Review by Val and Glyn on 16th February, 2008

Add your review
Very warm welcome from reception staff, rachel and dawn and very helpful. Hotel facilities excellent and the bar and restaurant very delicious and tasty food. Room very clean, modern and tidy. Excellent and beautiful view of the Lake from our room. In fact could not fault anything about the hotel as a whole. But would say, could of done with a cash machine as we had no money to play pool, maybe this could be considered for our next visit. 10 out of 10 excellent

Date visited: 14/15 Feb 08

Review by Val and Glyn on 16th February, 2008

Add your review
After writing our first review earlier we didn't read the reviews from other people which we should of done first. It was unfortunate that they did not enjoy the hotel due to refurbishments but i can honestly say that this does not sound like the place we stayed in. Obviously, all work has now been completed and i would like to say those people to visited last time then please go and stay again, as you would not recognise the place.

Date visited: 14/15 Feb 08

Review by Peter & Carol on 8th August, 2006

Add your review
We booked this Hotel on the basis that the 3 nights for 2 offer was too good to resist but have to admit after reading some of the reviews on this site we were hesitant on what we would be in for when we actually arrived. The Hotel is very easy to find situated on a quite stretch of road about 7 miles outside Keswick on the A591 to Carlisle. On arrival it was obvious the hotel was undergoing a major refurbishment but we were offered a warm welcome. The rooms although older in style were funtional and pretty large in size. The gym and pool were 1st class and the breakfast were excellent. All in all we loved our short stay in the Lake Distict and would recommend the Castle Inn to anyone who wants to take advantage of an excellent value for money short break. One little tip - check out the food at The Sun pub, just a short walk into the local village. The evening meals are a lot cheaper and the cooking is yummy!

Date visited: 4th - 7th August 2006

Review by Martin Bignell on 21st June, 2006

Add your review
First impression of the hotel was good the views from the outside are great, it was in a quiet location not too far from Keswick. Then at check in it all started to go downhill. We arrived at 1 o clock but had to wait till 2 to check in and find our own way to our hole under the stairs that they called a room. It had three windows 2 of which faced the corridor and Gym the third faced a parked car. The food was ok but expensive and we prefered to eat in the pub in the local village which was excelent and half the price. Renovation work is going on at the moment and the new parts look ok i just hope they update the whole hotel (Even the tired looking pool and the gym where nothing is actually fixed to the floor)and change the mattresses which were frankly appalling.

Date visited: 16/06/06

Review by caroline on 6th February, 2006

Add your review
if you want to stay in a hotel that makes you feel like you are on a team-building trip with your company, then this is the one for you. Full of conference/gym facilities at every turn, with a smell of chlorine permeating the accommodation, this is a depressing and charmless place. We had to check out before even getting to dinner, such a pall was it casting over our break. When you go to the lake district you want open fires and exposed beams, not corporate eighties decor and the noise from Sky Sports permeating the already dreary bar from the next room. we couldn't even find someone when we went to check out, and were left standing at reception for ten minutes before eventually having to leave the key and no explanation for our departure, though I went out of my way to phone them to let them know we had left when we had checked in somewhere else..

Date visited: 20 January

Review by Mr D Austin on 2nd February, 2006

Add your review
The Castle Inn must be one of the best hotels we have used in the Lake District. Our room was a good size,the decoration was a little tired but I understand there is some refurbishment due to take place.The staff were extremely helpful and friendly,the leisure centre was good and pool was the largest I have seen in the Lakes. We ate in the restaurant both nights and really enjoyed the food.With views over the lake and mountains both sides I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Date visited: 20 January 2006

Review by Mrs K. Eaton on 15th November, 2005

Add your review
The staff were very pleasant but we would be reluctant to recommend this hotel as we considered the accommodation and food to be unsatisfactory.

Date visited: 11/13 Nov 05

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
'Tis love that makes the world go round - Charles Dickens
More Quotes

On this day:
Coronation of King George I - 1714, First Edition of Sunday Times - 1822, Battle of Navarino - 1827, Big Ben Winched into Place - 1858
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages