Bell

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Bell House Hotel, Sutton Benger

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by David Jackson on 18th July, 2010

Add your review
We went to the Bell House for a Sunday lunch today, and even though we were quite hungry, the meal and service were so poor, I feel compelled to write about it. Good Points: Starters were acceptable, and some of the members of staff were quite friendly. Side veg were ok. Bad points: Risotto was made using non-risotto rice, and was just dreadful. Pork roast was dry, and didn't come with the apple sauce till we asked for it. Yorkshire puddings were burnt and stodgy. Chicken with creamy stilton sauce was a small, dry, chicken breast, with no sauce. The salmon in white wine and cream reduction sauce, served with prawns, was a (albeit generous) piece of salmon, coated in an inedible curdled sauce, loaded with wine, sans prawns. Service (and lack thereof) When the waitress brought the sauces, she accidentally dropped apple sauce all over my partner, laughed, and gave no apology. When we complained about the meals, the staff checked the menu, presumably to make sure we were not lying, but did take the worst meals off the bill. No apology or excuse was offered, at any point. If I hadn't been with polite company, I would not have eaten a bite, of paid a penny for the food. I shall not return, or reccomend this place to anyone.

Date visited: 18/07/10

Review by ken sale on 8th March, 2010

Add your review
Just spent a weekend at the Bell. Food excellent except the pate which was bought in and proved a disapointment, staff friendly. Accommodation not fit for purpose. Cardboard covering broken window pane. Bathroom grubby toilet stained and when flushed makes a noise like a jet taking off!!!. Lighting in bedroon poor and had to ask for a bedside light which I thought would have been standard. The furniture can best be discribed as just adequate. When you open a draw the whole unit nearlt topples over. The headboard was so loose I thought it was about to fall off. The overall decor of the room can only be discribed as poor and dated. The carpet on the stairs is also worhn. My overall impression is that the hotel is in need of a make over and updating. Will need a lot of persuading to staty again and it would only be the quality of the food that would make me change my mind

Date visited: 5.3.10 -6.3.10

Review by Carol McGrath on 26th January, 2009

Add your review
Have just returned from a weekened at the Bell House Hotel. We were very lucky and had a room with a fourposted bed and balcony. The bed was really comfortable and the room in all ways was very good. If there was anything we would changed would be the shower it was not very powerful, but did not cause any problems. Ate at the hotel Saturday evening and the food was very good as was the breakfast. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Date visited: 23.01.09

Review by bob and jackie hall on 26th October, 2008

Add your review
We have just returned from a wonderful stay at the Bell house, everything about the stay was great. The staff were so friendly and gave us tips on places to go along with interesting information about the area. The food was fantastic, the building was interesting, the room was comfortable and warm, we had everything we needed. I would certainly stay again and recommend to anyone. Thank you for a lovely weekend

Date visited: 24.10.2008

Review by Grainne on 20th August, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: food was execellent quality. staff very friendly and helpful General review: great

Date visited: 2008-08-20

Review by Andy Straw on 20th August, 2008

Add your review
V.good will stay again as soon as possible,very relaxing good all round

Date visited: 20.08.08

Review by martin pinfold on 25th July, 2008

Add your review
poor quality room,grubby and dim, bathroom dirty, carpets sticky, just overall not very good at all

Date visited: 22/7/08

Review by Anonymous on 18th June, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: lovely quiet location good bar area and restaurant very friendly staff Bad Points: shower pressure in end bedrooms almost nonexistent dusty fittings/lampshades/balcony off bedrooms needed sweeping clean bathroom floor not cleaned into corners/need good spring clean/old carpet General review: good value and restaurant excellent however property let down by inadequate cleaning of rooms/quite dusty and hallway carpet smelled very old and water pressure problem in end bedrooms poor

Date visited: 2008-06-18

Review by michael robinson on 7th May, 2007

Add your review
this is the third time i have stayed at this hotel and although the staff sometimes change the welcome is always friendly and the management make sure all your needs are catered for they even offered to come in early to cook my breakfast as they new i was leaving early each day the food improves each year and is of a high standard have not stayed in a better hotel and will stay again as soon as possible 10 out of 10

Date visited: 02/05/07-06/05/07

Review by sheree hepburn on 16th October, 2006

Add your review
lovely hotel, bedroom nicely furnished and spotless. Woke at 1am to smell of stale cigarettes obviously from bar below. Pillows, bedding and carpet also stank of them. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice. Only negatives were the stale cigarette smells everywhere and the abrupt manner in which the duty manager seemed to treat us and we didn't even complain! Would not stay there again.

Date visited: 14/10/06

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Deep-versed in books and shallow in himself. - John Milton
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Ashingdon - 1016, Chewing Gum first goes on sale - 1911, BBC Formed - 1922, First Brit Awards - 1977
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages