Hotel

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

March 2020: West Norfolk

Welcome to West Norfolk, a truly special place of unspoilt charm and natural beauty, where tranquillity and relaxation are the order of the day.

Set against ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Hotel de la Bere, Cheltenham

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Richard & Maggie Levings on 10th November, 2009

Add your review
We held our wedding reception at the De La Bere - it was fantastic. We chose this hotel for the location, beautiful grounds and professional,friendly staff - we were not disappointed. When one uses an older building you must appreciate that it ain't a travel lodge - respect that and you will enjoy the creaky floorboards, gorgeous stone fireplaces,carpets,curtains wow - we hada ball.......so did all our 200 guests. Food was just as ordered, on time and delicious; excellant awiting staff - who could ask for more......and our bill was not expensive in comparison with other venues in Gloucestershire. For us the De la Bere will always be special - many,many thanks Richard & Maggie

Date visited: 14.04.2007

Review by Marion Richardson on 26th March, 2006

Add your review
This is a lovely old building it has many creaks in its uneven floors, it is full of character, has the most incredible views and has very friendly helpful staff. However, it is tired and I think desperately needs refurbishing. Our bathroom, whilst spacious and clean had a cheap plastic seat on the toilet which kept moving around and came off totally on a couple of occasions. It was reported to reception and supposedly repaired only for the same thing to happen again later in the day. The maid failed to leave a toilet roll and my husband had to go to the reception to ask for one (a bit like they do at school these days). I think for a hotel of such character and beauty it is a shame that small things let it down, it is not nice sitting on cold porcelein when you want to use the loo in the night. We would not take anything away from the reception or waiting staff as they were polite, competent and did everything to please. The food was also good but expensive. Hope this helps customers who are thinking of visiting.

Date visited: 24th March 2006

Review by Mrs Abraham on 1st February, 2006

Add your review
We got married at Hotel De La Bere. To begin with we were very worried about how the day was going to be. Communication between staff and us was not great. However, on the day, we were blown away. Beautiful food, setting, bed a little uncomfortable, but room was a fantastic size for wedding party changing. The manager was lovely and also the staff. In the end, it was a wonderful day and i would give the hotel 9/10 (uncomfortable bed!!). Breakfast was lovely also. I would reccomend it to anyone and we will definately be going back.

Date visited: 25th June 2005

Review by Joanne Storer on 30th March, 2005

Add your review
Beatiful setting although the hotel let itself down on cleanliness in my opinion. The rooms were of a good standard but just things like dusty bedside table, not completely clean bathroom let it down. The breakfast was not up to much either, although this was on the really busy Easter Monday where they did it buffet style. The Tuesday was better when it was quieter and therefore breakfasts were cooked to order.

Date visited: 27/03/2005

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Talking is the disease of age. - Ben Jonson
More Quotes

On this day:
Sacking of Berwick upon Tweed - 1296, End of the Crimean War - 1856, Airey Neave assasinated - 1979, John Major gets on his Soapbox - 1992, 1st Broadcast of Channel 5 - 1997, Queen Mother Dies - 2002
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages