Villa Holiday Homes with a pool
National Trust
Telford

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

October 2014: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Telford Golf and Country Club, Telford

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Mr Mineards on 31st October, 2006

Add your review
I have to say that I agree with the comments dated June. (Although the greens were green) The fairway grass was up to first rough cut and above and you could lose balls on them. The rough was like a jungle. The Hotel looked and felt dated and needs some investment. The staff although helpful had I feel given up after continually being taken over and no investment. Could be first class but at this moment in time 3rd class - Sorry

Date visited: 29/1/06

Review by P Brooke on 6th October, 2006

Add your review
After playing this course over many years I would like to comment that after dramatic drainage work the course is recovering and with a little TLC it will soon be back to Championship status.

Date visited: 1st October 2006

Review by Jerry Guy on 14th September, 2006

Add your review
I guess I must have stayed at a completely different Golf and Country Club to Mr. Pendergest. I found the hotel personnel and facilities were well above its three star rating, and although the greens on the course left a little to be desired I would find it difficult to rubbish it just because of that. The course is a challenge, the members are great and the pro shop very helpful, as Arnie says, "I'll be back", thanks to all for making our stay most enjoyable.

Date visited: 9/10 September 06

Review by desmond, preston on 16th June, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: The room was very clean and had a good view. Bad Points: Nothing General Review: I was pleased with the booking process and the whole expirience.

Date visited: 2006-06-16

Review by paul pendergest on 6th June, 2006

Add your review
Just returned from a two day visit to the hotel and golf complex. Possibly the worst condition course I have played on in recent memory. The hotel has been taken over and simply nothing has been done to the course for weeks. At the moment there is major renovation work going on. Bunkers have been dug out and are now all GUR. This one can accept but the fact that no one has even mowed the grass for what looks like weeks. The rough grass at times was over 18 inches long and if you put a ball anywhere off the fairway you can virtually say goodbye to it....and the greens, well we nicknamed them the "browns". For a course which is laid out so beutifully, to be in this sort of condition is a crime.

Date visited: 4th June 2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
If there's no money in poetry, neither is there poetry in money. - Robert Graves
More Quotes

On this day:
Scilly Naval Disaster 2000 Drown - 1707, First Plastic Surgery in Britain - 1814, Blantyre Mining Disaster - 1877, Crippen convicted at Old Bailey - 1910, George Blake Escapes from Wormwood Scrubs - 1966
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages