It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

June 2019: The Resorts of North Devon

Devon is the only county in England with two separate coasts, north and south. It is the latter that is perhaps better known and more ...More
More Uk destinations

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Jen Morgan on 20th January, 2012

Add your review
Great place, great food, great atmosphere! I will be back next weekend with freinds

Date visited: 19/01/12

Review by John Goodwin on 17th January, 2012

Add your review
This is a great place to go, really enjoyed the food, nice to see a selection of real ale's too! would recommend, will be back very soon

Date visited: 17/12/11

Review by richard on 4th July, 2011

Add your review
Average food and absoloutely appalling service - I will never go back.

Date visited: 2/7/2011

Review by Tony & Teresa Storr on 15th April, 2011

Add your review
The welcome given by the owners and the friendliness of their staff was exemplary. The Greene King Abbott Ale was well kept and the house Shiraz was vey palatable. We ordered the most basic bar meal (burgers & chips) but were served food of an unexpectedly high standard. The home-made burgers were absolutely delicious and the the salad garnish showed real care in its content and dressing. This was not the usual cursory addition to the plate. Our desserts, especially the Key Lime Pie were equally delicious. We would recommend the Swan without reservation.

Date visited: 13th April 2011

Review by Paul Jefferson on 25th March, 2011

Add your review
I live in the village and had heard great things about this new restaurant, I finally decided to give it a go, and I have to say I cant belive how good this place really is, I work and dine in London frequently and the Swan is certainly up there with some fine London restaurants I am use to, the fillet steak with red wine sauce was just beautifully cooked and melted in the mouth, superb flavours and combinations. it was an absoloute pleasure to dine at the swan, and I shall be back very soon.

Date visited: 5/3/11

Review by Gary howe on 24th February, 2011

Add your review
Very nice food, freindly staff the riverside restaurant is warm and fresh, the main yacht club bar is informal and cozy, I love this place have been back several times and they never disapoint me. keep up the good work

Date visited: 19/02/2011

Review by Jane Ellis on 24th February, 2011

Add your review
Went here on saturday night, excellent food, very nice place, very clean would definatley come back

Date visited: 12/02/2011

Review by Paul on 20th February, 2011

Add your review
We wasted our time, again, waiting at the High Flyer in Ely for Sunday lunch. Somebody suggested trying the The Swan and I'm glad they did. It was a lovely meal. This place has a similar setting to The Cutter Inn and so looking forward to eating at this place in the summer. The food was nice and the bill came back surprisingly low. If only those people wasting their time at the High Flyer knew...

Date visited: 20th Feb 2011

Review by Rene Gates on 23rd January, 2011

Add your review
Me and my wife took our freinds to The Swan on Saturday night, we had booked in for 8pm however there was a short wait for our table upon arrivial so we had a drink in the bar, I have to say we were all very impressed with the place, the food was very well presented and truly delcious! the service was freindly and informal, all in all proberly the best restaurant in the town, we will be coming again soon for my wifes birthday. recomended

Date visited: 22/01/11

Review by R.Towers on 1st November, 2010

Add your review
We were a party of four for lunch. I have been asked to let you know our views. The service was efficient and pleasant. The lamb was tough and coarse. The roast potatoes were not crisp. The carrots and cabbage were dry. Not everyone wants gravy. Should it be served on its own? All in all a disappointment, especially as we went on a recommendation, and looked forward to our meal.

Date visited: 31 October 2010

Review by Victoria on 27th October, 2010

Add your review
The worst restaurant I have ever been to! The refurb is great but the food and the service were terrible. So much so we refused to pay the bill (as did other tables!). I left my phone number for the owner to call (as i thought he may not be happy about our non payment) but one month on, he has never called. He clearly isnt interested. With that attitude I dont think they'll last long! Such a shame.

Date visited: 26 September 2010

Review by Paul Jefford on 23rd October, 2010

Add your review
The decision to eat the Swan was one made 'late in the day' and how glad am I that it was made. Arriving quite early on a dark, damp and dreary Saturday evening, The Swan, was a warm and welcoming sancutary from the late October weather. The restaurant was fully booked, but the selection of meals available in the 'bar' more than catered for our needs on this occasion. We found the staff friendly and helpful, and the food, fantastic. Our choices were not particularly adventureous, but the Scampi was succulent and plentiful and the mixed grill was the best I have had. The meats were full of flavour, and this is an establishment that actually understand what BLUE means cooking a steak! The desserts were delightful and the perfect end to a wonderful meal. Not one of your cheaper eatery's but the quality and the quantity of the food made it definitely a value for money establishment. We shall be back!

Date visited: 23/10/2010

Review by Nicola and Duncan on 22nd September, 2010

Add your review
On a fairly busy Friday evening, we both enjoyed some very well-prepared food. It was all presented beautifully with attention to detail, and tasted very good. Service was attentive but not intrusive, a good selection of starters and main meals, but after the complimentary canapes, couldn't manage the desserts, maybe next time! The refurbishment has been carried out to a high standard, and we look forward to taking friends with us on our next visit.

Date visited: 6th August 2010

Review by Sue Baldwin on 16th September, 2010

Add your review
Although the food was lovely and the reburbishment is a vast improvement, we found the service appalling. My partner and I waited for menus for almost half an hour. Our drinks tasted like wet tobacco ash and we left worrying that we might get ill! It looked as if the staff didn't know whether they were coming or going! We will go back closer to Christmas and see if things have improved since our initial visit. If not, never again!

Date visited: 2 September 2010

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Loyalty is a fine quality, but in excess it fills political graveyards. - Neil Kinnock
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Bannockburn - 1314, Battle of Sluys - 1340, First Recorded Tynwald Day - 1417, Punch Invents the Cartoon - 1843, Mersey Tunnel Opens - 1971, The Humber Bridge Opens to Traffic - 1981
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages

England:
Bath
Bedfordshire
Berkshire
Bristol
Buckinghamshire
Cambridgeshire
Cheshire
Cleveland/Teesside
Cornwall
County Durham
Cumbria
Derbyshire
Devon
Dorset
Essex
Gloucestershire
Greater Manchester
Hampshire
Herefordshire
Hertfordshire
Kent
Lancashire
Leicestershire
Lincolnshire
London
Merseyside
Norfolk
Northamptonshire
Northumberland
Nottinghamshire
Oxfordshire
Rutland
Shropshire
Somerset
Staffordshire
Suffolk
Surrey
Sussex
Tyne & Wear
Warwickshire
West Midlands
Wiltshire
Worcestershire
East Yorkshire
North Yorkshire
South Yorkshire
West Yorkshire
Scotland:
Angus & Dundee
Argyll
Ayrshire & Arran
Borders
Dumfries & Galloway
Edinburgh & the Lothians
Fife
Glasgow
Grampian
Highlands
Isle of Islay
Isle of Mull
Isle of Skye
Lanarkshire
Perthshire
Stirlingshire
Western Isles
Wales:
Anglesey
Mid Wales
North Wales
South Wales
West Wales
Ireland
Northern Ireland:
Belfast
County Antrim
County Armagh
County Down
County Fermanagh
County Londonderry
County Tyrone
Offshore:
Guernsey
Jersey
Isle of Man
Isle of Wight
Isles of Scilly
Orkneys
Shetland Isles