Broad

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

March 2019: Hereford

April can be a tricky month for weather in Britain: surprisingly sunny days interspersed with spring showers. So a destination where the best of the ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Broad Ings, Ambleside

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Phil Stokes on 20th February, 2019

Add your review
We have nearly completed our 20th visit to Broadings, we love coming here and canít wait to return, 10 bedrooms easily accommodating 21 adults and 5 kids, fantastic views.

Date visited: 15-22 February 2019

Review by Jo Bradley on 25th November, 2014

Add your review
An excited family of 22 arrived to celebrate our Mum/Grandma's surprise 80th Birthday celebrations! We were not disappointed... the accommodation was fantastic! 10 spacious bedrooms, a lovely newly refurbished kitchen and beautiful views! We were not put off by the narrow single track road up to the house, all the family thoroughly enjoyed the weekend and definitely want to return next year...

Date visited: 21/11/2014

Review by ClareAuty on 2nd October, 2014

Add your review
We rented Skelghyll Woods for a family gathering to celebrate my mother's 80th birthday. It really is a fabulous place and in a beautiful setting. The walk up from Lake Road was glorious. We found the narrow track that goes up from near Waterhead, which was great fun! Though my mother and father had to be driven up! The position of the house so close to the Ambleside shops was brilliant for those of us who don't have cars. And there are plenty of walks directly from the house's grounds or a short walk or bus ride away. Mum absolutely loved it! We will certainly seriously consider renting the house again. Clare Auty

Date visited: 26 - 29. September

Review by Phil on 3rd June, 2014

Add your review
We recently visited Skelghyll as a Stag party. The first thing to say is that before arrival Claire who we coordinated with was very friendly and fully answered all questions we had about the property, even going so far as to provide details of where we could find good food, entertainment, and transport links in the nearby area. On arrival it is true to say that the land up to to property is quite narrow. Although we did manage to get a minibus up to it, we then decided to leave it at the car park at the bottom of the hill on subsequent night and to enjoy the walk instead. (A car would have no trouble). The property itself was warm, spacious, and well equipped. Some little touches such as providing us with a new bbq and there being Sky+ available on the TV were much appreciated, and the bedrooms, bathrooms, and kitchen have all been refurbished to a high standard. All in all we had a great weekend away, and the quality of Skellghyll as accommodation contributed to it.

Date visited: May 2014

Review by Clair on 1st February, 2014

Add your review
I booked Skelghyll Woods for a surprise birthday party. We were a party of 18 and I can say that each and everyone of us had a brilliant time. The house was ideal, upstairs the bedrooms and bathrooms were lovely and once the heating was blasting lovely and warm. The dining room and kitchen were great and accommodated all of us cooking and eating together. The two open fires were great focal points where people could sit and relax. All in all the house was great and the drive up added a bit of excitement! Lovely view from the house and nice walks. Everyone enjoyed it so much they want to make it an annual event.

Date visited: 24/01/2014

Review by Andrew on 15th August, 2013

Add your review
Skelghyll woods is a lovely property, we booked for a weekend and used the house for a dual purpose stag do. The parents of the bride and groom used it for the first night and found it spacious warm and inviting and really enjoyed a sophisticated evening. The stags then used it the following evening for a BBQ and really enjoyed all it had to offer. Slept our large party comfortably and plenty of hot water in the lovely bathrooms. We'll be back!

Date visited: 22/2/13

Review by Helen Foster on 23rd April, 2013

Add your review
I booked the Skelghyll Woods house for 18 of us for my friend's hen do. We needed plenty of room and the house certainly fit the bill. The was plenty of room for everyone to sleep and the numerous bathrooms meant we were not all fighting over the shower. The bathrooms are done out beautifully to. The kitchen is well equipped and the large American fridge was great for all our wine! The dining room seated us all and the lounge accommodated us all. There is a large room that is more or less unused, but would be great for a party! We really enjoyed our weekend and a little bit more work on the downstairs space would make the house even more stunning. Just be careful of the narrow road to the property - it is very narrow, but we all fit our cars up it unscathed!

Date visited: 19th April 2013

Review by Rachael stokes on 28th February, 2013

Add your review
We have been visiting Broad Ings since 2000 every year at the same time. We have always found the owners to be friendly and helpful. We hasn't stayed here since before the renovation so were really excited to see the changes. And blimey were we pleased! All the bedrooms had had an overhaul and were bright and airy. The biggest change is the addition of some spanking new bathrooms and en suites with great showers that were lovely and hot after a cold walk! The kitchen has been improved too offering a lot of space. We have already booked up and paid for next year as what could be better than waking up and looking at the view you get from the house!

Date visited: 31st January 2013

Review by Samuel Peter on 1st February, 2013

Add your review
I love Skyllgyhll woods and Broad Ings. Over the years I have stayed at both many times, and enjoyed the glorious views over lake Windemere. Stunning. Rustic, hearty accommodation. With country charm, and sometimes a little rugh around the edges, but the recent renovations are amazing. There is no other place with two such large houses, perfect for families, get togethers, and groups of friends wanting to escape the big smoke. Not to be missed. And maybe Mr. Baxter might even show you his prized vintage MG collection!

Date visited: Many times

Review by claire Baxter on 9th January, 2013

Add your review
We have carried out extensive works to the property over the last 2 years including 8 new bathrooms, a new kitchen with American fridge freezer and Rangemaster cooker, total rewire and re plumbing of the whole property, tarmaced the entire 1/4 mile drive way to Ambleside village, new carpets and light fittings throughout, however it is a costly process to completely overhaul a 3 story 10 bedroom mansion and the few remaining works still to be completed on the grounds and downstairs areas will be completed by the end of this year. We feel that the price reflects this and have many happy return guests. The high up location of the property on the lower slopes of Wandsfell means that Broad Ings benefits from spectacular views across Lake Windermere and the surrounding mountains.

Date visited: owner

Review by Tina Clark on 8th January, 2013

Add your review
Stayed at broadings in Ambleside for a long weekend . What a delightful place to stay the views were absolutely stunning over lake Windermere .the house is set in a private woodland estate it's very private just what we were looking for . As we first entered the house we walked into a beautifully decorated and welcoming huge hall way . The lounge was warm and cosy with a real open fire . The kitchen was very modern and up to date with every utensil and appliance we needed. . Added bonus of a washer and a dryer ;) most of the bedrooms were en suite with beautiful bathrooms and shower rooms . The beds were comfy (almost too comfy) . There was lots to do outside of the property my children had hours of fun playing in the woods and spotting the little deers that live in the woods . All in all we had a fabulous stay and can't wait to re book for later on in the year . Idealic surroundings beautiful house and charming proprietors . Thank you to the Baxter family

Date visited: 4th January 2013

Review by Gaynor Hall on 29th December, 2012

Add your review
Sorry to give a bad review but I believe in being truthful. On arriving at the house after a very scary half z mile up a very narrow, windy, steep lane, the view is of a very dilapidated run down house. On entering the house the conservatory leaks and is green with mildew. The downstairs is very basic and run down except for the kitchen. The house was freezing on arrival although we had been assured the heatIng would be left on for us. The bedrooms are fine though several shower drains were blocked, the windows all rattle and in almost all the rooms the curtains are dreadful. We had a good time despite all this but It was more as a result of our determination to do so than the general condition of the place. Grandparents in our group could hardly step outside due to the steepness of the land and it being so overgrown - no garden as such.

Date visited: 22nd to 29th dec. 2012

Review by Cheryl Brandwood on 30th January, 2012

Add your review
We have just come back from a long weekend with our family at Broad Ings. We have all had a fantastic time and can't wait to go back again. The views from the front of the house are fantastic, from the high vantage point the house sits on you can see the town below, a wonderful view down the lake, and the mountains across the valley. Beautiful!. The house itself is huge, but still toasty warm and welcoming. Downstairs there is a fantastic large kitchen with all the equipment you could wish for, including 2 dishwashers, a huge range cooker, washer, dryer and enough crockery/glassware etc to cope with over 20 people with ease. The lounge is very comfortable, and has an open fire. It is so cosy, but not so posh that you are scared to move or make yourself at home. Ideal for cosy family evenings in, in front of the huge television, or playing games, or having a chat and a glass of wine. The dining room is also huge and easily seats more than twenty people. We had lovely breakfasts and dinners together. The boot room provides excellent facilities for hanging all those wet coats and drying muddy boots. Upstairs the bedrooms are lovely. From the comfy beds to the crisp white bedlinen, fluffy towels (loads of them)to the acres of space, and the modern luxury ensuite facilities in the majority of the bedrooms. The family bathrooms on each floor are modern and finished to a really high standard. Outside we had a huge fire in the fire pit one evening and did the jacket potato thing. There were bar-b-que facilities which we could have used too. Overall, this is a fantastic place to stay for any large group, but please look after it as we can't wait to go back and spend family time there again. In our opinion you won't find better value accommodation, nor more helpful owners, or as beautiful a setting anywhere in the Lakes.

Date visited: 27-30 January 2012.

Review by Jeanette on 1st June, 2011

Add your review
We have just spent a great long weekend at Broadings to celebrate a birthday. The house is perfect for a large group. The bedrooms and bathrooms are lovely very nice. The kitchen is incredibly well equiped and nice and new. The rest of the downstairs (appart from the new downstairs bathroom)is basic but this is perfect for a large group with children and dogs and you do not feel stressed about your surrounding. We had the most fabulous time and would deffinatley return.

Date visited: May 2011

Review by Tony Wardale on 3rd May, 2011

Add your review
Our family have stayed at the Broadings every December for a long weekend since 1994. It is a fantastic venue for large groups. The accommodation has recently been refurbished and most rooms have ensuite and are really comfortable. Great for young children who can explore the house and surrounding Skellkyl woods with it's wildlife. Great for strolling down to Ambleside for a beer or shop or for a tougher walk up to Jenkins Crag. The Baxter family have always been fine hosts and nothing has ever been too much trouble in making us feel welcome. This isn't 5 star accommodation but ideal for large families or groups who want to relax and not worry too much about disturbing others as it's nicely secluded. We are nailed down visitors and are looking forward to another great weekend this December!

Date visited: Dec 2010

Review by Debbie on 7th January, 2011

Add your review
Had a fantastic break with the family at Skellghyll woods over the new year. The house is great with everything you need,The furniture and decor of the house is basic which was perfect for a large family like ours with children. Plenty of room for them to run around and play. The house has lovley newly fitted kitchen and bathroom. The woodland which surrounds the house was great for the older kids to go exploring. The owner, Sarah Baxter is lovley. We will definatley be going back to Skellghyll.

Date visited: 29-05/01/11

Review by Ben croft on 12th September, 2010

Add your review
Fantastic stag do venue.my chums and I will definitley be paying another visit,bravo.

Date visited: 10/09/2010

Review by Terri Holmes on 12th July, 2010

Add your review
We and several other families who are close friends, have viited Broadings many times over the years. We tend to go out of season as this makes it a very affordable holiday. Everyone in our party loves visiting the house which is spacious, comfortable and homely. We like the fact that it feels 'lived in' rather than everything being new and immaculate; it allows us to relax and not worry when the kids or dogs bring mud in or the odd glass of red wine is spilled! That said we have always found in clean and tidy which of course is what most people would expect. The proprety is in a great spot whth easy access to Ableside (unless it snows heavily!!) and enjoys spectacular views of Windermere and the surrounding countrtside. We love it and always look forward to our next trip.

Date visited: many times over the last 13 years

Review by Dean on 8th June, 2010

Add your review
I recently stayed at Broadings with 20+ friends for a stag do. The place was perfect for our needs, perfect location and quality for the price. Really enjoyed sitting around the big fire pit with a few beers. Regards Dean

Date visited: 4th June 2010

Review by D Bliss on 21st February, 2010

Add your review
We stayed in Skelghyll wood, Broad Ings sister property, We had a fantastic holiday and would definitly go back. It's a great house for large groups. A lot smaller than Broad Ings, but For kids there's plenty of outdoor space to explore, with a lawn in the front for smaller kids. The house has lots of character, The kitchen is small. The bedrooms and Lounges are very spacious. The Baxter family were lovley to deal with. Beats camping! which would have cost us about the same.

Date visited: June 2009

Review by phil stokes on 20th October, 2009

Add your review
just to let everyone know, this is the BEST property for rent in the lake district area, if you are a large party, 18-20 or more if you want to sleep were you fall. the owners over the last 10 years, (our 11th. will be in jan 2010) have gone out of their way in welcoming all of us to Broadings, it is one of the most eagerly anticipated highlights of our year. I feel i just had to respond to all those negative comments i have just read on this site. Dont expect a 5* langdale spa experience, but a warm welcoming home to rest and enjoy after a long walk.

Date visited: feb 09

Review by Charlotte davison on 19th July, 2009

Add your review
As a party of 18 we have visited Broad Ings every year in the summer months for the past 6 years & have loved every minute of it. The house is surounded by breathe taking views & walks alike which gives you a sense of peace & tranquility. The house itself isn't for the faint hearted & those who prefer luxury ( boring !!) but for the more adventerous folk who don't mind basic facilities ( the price reflects that) & enjoying the outdoors.

Date visited: july 08 & july 09

Review by K. Greening on 10th April, 2009

Add your review
We go to this house every other year for Christmas.We absolutly love it. The house has a wonderful friendly feel to it with lovely large victorian rooms and fantastic views and the owners are always very friendly and helpful.Everytime we go we turn out a three course christmas dinner for up to 16 without too much trouble we and also manage to cook for this number most days during our weeks stay. The house is very inexpensive for the number of people it can accommodate so of course it's not luxury! If you want luxury you'll need to pay at least 3 to four times more than this, you get what you pay for. However it is warm, relaxing and in a wonderful setting.It is 15 mins walk from Ambleside.

Date visited: regular

Review by Philip Jackson on 31st March, 2009

Add your review
I was a member of a large party staying in the house. One of the bedrooms was in process of being decorated and was therefore unusable. We were not advised of this and so two of us has had to sleep on the floor of the lounge. The kitchen was good but simple, little things irritated. For example there is no lock on either the toilet door or the bathroom. This should be put right. The house is a long way from Ambleside up a very steep, narrow lane; at least a thirty minute walk. I was disappointed and uncomfortable and will not be going back.

Date visited: 27th-30th March

Review by Sarah Baxter on 10th March, 2009

Add your review
As the new manager of Skelghyll Estates (after the sad loss of my mother, Anne, last year) I would like to let potential and past visitors know that the houses have both been updated considerably since some rather (in my opinion) unfair reviews were posted. However, even before any new work was carried out, many guests have returned every year for 15 years or more and been consistantly happy with the service and the accomodation. Not to mention the prices,currently still at well below £10pppn when the houses are full. Finally, for perspective, one negative reviewer also wrote me a long letter including complaints of 'suspected snails in the garden' , the other left saucepans in every bedroom. Several vodkas indeed. Regards, Sarah B.

Review by Claire Parker on 2nd July, 2008

Add your review
Our party of 21 booked Broad Ings for a Hen Party. On arrival we were disappointed with the condition of the house and had to clean the house ourselves to make it liveable for our two night stay. However a few vodkas later and it didnt look to bad. The house needs a total makeover and gardens need attention. The views from the house were fabulous and even the walk into Ambelside isnt to bad even in high heels. The house could be fabulous but as it stands we wont be revisiting.

Date visited: 28th June 2008

Review by C Patterson on 29th June, 2008

Add your review
Well what can I say, what an absolute disgrace. There was mould everywhere, the windows were practically rotten, the place was horrendous when we arrived. Six members of our party arrived early and they ended up cleaning the house before we got there. The place looked like it had not been cleaned for weeks/months. The carpets and sofas were disgusting. Our only consulation was that we managed to have a great time at Ambleside despite the accommodaion. I would not recommend this.

Date visited: 27 June 208

Review by hannah kirby on 6th May, 2007

Add your review
I go to Broad Ings twice a year with my family and friends. Its the best holiday of the year and i always look forward to going, the house is sittuated on a hill over looking lake windemere with spectacular views. It has 8 bed rooms and sleeps around 21. As soon as I first stayed at the house i fell in love with it, we have been going to Broad Ings for about six or severn years now and it never seems to dissopoint me. The owners of the house are some of the nicest people you will ever meet and always seem to help us out if we have any trouble with the house. It's only a ten/fifeteen minute walk into ambleside and is very plesant early in the morning. I cannot wait till November when we next visit Broad Ings and I look forward to seeing Anne and Nigel Baxter! Thank you for an excellent stay in March, the weather couldnt have been better!! Love hannah kirby xXx (xkirkbyx@hotmail.co.uk)

Date visited: march 2007

Review by Linda Wilson on 31st January, 2007

Add your review
We had a fabulous stay at Broad Ings but wanted to post a fair and accurate account of our time there. The house owner (lady) was lovely and welcoming and most willing to help out with anything we needed. We had a large family which suited the house. The house is in a fantastic location overlooking Lake Windermere but is in need of much TLC. Many of the rooms are gloomy and in need of decoration and the whole house requires modernisation. We had a two week stay and a few things happened like leaky shower, electrics tripping, and boiler failing but because there were so mnay of us it made it fun and relaxed in that we did not have to worry about everyone being tidy, spotless and anxious about ruining things. The £140 bill for use of oil and electricity was a bit of a shock at the end of the holiday and perhaps in hindsight would be better charged uofront on the cost of the let. The surrounding garden and land was lovely but I would recommend a makeover of the whole house would generate guaranteed re-visits. It would not put us off but some of our aprty were disappointed with their room facilities. Nevertheless, there are few houses in this area at this cost and accomodating so many and if you get out and about and use the house a s base only it is ideal so long as you take into account that it is funtional rather than luxury.

Date visited: 2005

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
He that hath knowledge spareth his words. - Sir Francis Bacon
More Quotes

On this day:
Football League Formed - 1888
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages