It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Pot House Hamlet, Silkstone

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by helen Parker on 29th January, 2011

Add your review
Very unusual place, especially for Barnsley. The buildings are all yorkshire stone, renovated and built by the owner, to very high standard. It is worth a trip to look at the buildings alone, one wonderful oak framed ceiling stays in my mind. We took the dog for a walk along the waggon way trail, had a wonder around the shops and the plant nursery then lunch in the potting shed, we were able to take the dog in everywhere which was good so she did not get cold in the car. All the staff were very friendly, obviously had good training, especially in the nursery where they all said good morning to us, and could answer and help with all our garndening questions, and we are keen gardeners. Clean tidy smart place, ideal for an afternoon outing.

Date visited: Jan 2011

Review by Rob Mangham on 17th February, 2009

Add your review
It's a great place to visit! Designer clothes shop, shoe shop, plant nursery, homewares, cafe and restaurant and now even a quaint little florist - Darcys Flowers.

Date visited: 13/092/2008

Review by g kaler on 24th April, 2008

Add your review
very quaint place. a real gem, i stubled apon it and am suprised that the people that own it do not advertise it moer, well worth a vist. we had a nice lunch and a walk along the waggon way, then had a look round the shops and read info on the history of the place. I certainly recommend it for a visit

Date visited: april08

Review by h member on 2nd March, 2008

Add your review
well worth a visit. thank you, just moved to the area so very good reasonable priced plants in the nursery for the garden. we'll be back. I like this information site as new to the area we are trying to find things to do

Date visited: 25th feb 08

Review by k helton on 2nd January, 2008

Add your review
came to pot house hamlet when up visiting relatives who live in gawber about 15mins mins away. really nice relaxed place. bought some last min christmas pressies from the waterhsed which has lots of nice gifts and a wonderful plant arrangement from the nursery. Lovley food and coffee in the restaurant/cafe. feed the ducks which was rather large and would have made a wonderful christmas dinner! certainhly worth a visit if you're in the area, free parking and so much more refreshing than shopping malls at christmas.

Date visited: 23rd dec

Review by l. garter on 9th November, 2007

Add your review
thank you for bringing me here such a nice place. great to take people when visiting or for christmas things

Date visited: 1st nov

Review by sarah wilson on 19th July, 2007

Add your review
what a lovely place, full of history, very clean and we spent a very nice afternoon here - thank you, well worth a visit

Date visited: 2nd July

Review by Caroline Hudson on 25th January, 2007

Add your review
This is, I understand, a family run establishment and they couldn't have been more welcoming to me and my young children when we went for lunch. I often go to the nursery as they are very good at helping out those of us who are not so green fingered! The food in the cafe was excellent, and very well equipped for toddlers (plenty of highchairs, good changing facilities, and more toys than we have at home) I highly recommend it to other families. We also visited the new dress shop the second time we went. Rose who runs the shop was really helpful and even entertained the kids whilst I tried something on. Definitely worth a visit.

Date visited: several times

Review by Josie on 23rd January, 2007

Add your review
I loved the casual cosiness of this place. A true family business. Had a really good meal at the cafe, and enjoyed looking around the nursery. At the time they were going to build a clothes shop. So watch this space for more recent comments!

Date visited: Summer 2006

Review by Lindsey Myerscough on 22nd January, 2007

Add your review
As a regular visiter over the years to the Pot House Hamlet it has truely developed into a great location to visit for a day out, whether it's a superb lunch in a beatiful setting, restocking your flower beds with beautiful roses or having a pamper day followed by a little retail therapy in the new ladies shop, you really can't beat it. I thoroughly recommend a visit.

Date visited: 13th January 2007

Review by Stefan Boehm on 22nd January, 2007

Add your review
We stopped at Pot House Hamlet on the way to visit friends and had an amazing surprise. Not only did we have a top notch lunch in a lush, relaxed environment, we then filled up the car with all sorts of goodies. It could almost be a day out in itself and the family who seem to run the place were so welcoming i almost felt like moving there. We'll definitely be stopping by again for lunch and more.

Date visited: 6/1/07

Review by Charlie Loncaster on 22nd January, 2007

Add your review
I really enjoyed this rather charming venue. Located just of the M1, my family stopped here on our way to Scotland. Located near a stream, we had some excellent coffe and food. THe girls went to visit the very upmarket dress shop and I went shopping shopping for some plants to give as gifts. There were some other shops to look at, including a card shop and a Nail Salon! All in all a wonderful stop off that is well worth knowing about.

Date visited: 18th January 2007

Review by Juliet on 22nd January, 2007

Add your review
Fab food, beautiful flowers and clothes to feel gorgeous in - what a find!

Date visited: 20.01.07

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
If I had not some strength of will I would make a first class drunkard. - Ernest Shackleton
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Edgehill - 1642, First Parliament of Great Britain - 1707, War of Jenkinsí Ear Begins - 1739, First British-Made Ford Car - 1911, Battle of El Alamein - 1942
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages