It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Farmhouse Inn, Southwick

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by mrs drewett on 18th June, 2012

Add your review
A exceptional service and meal from all 47 of us, that shared in the celebrations of my daughters 18th. well recommend you visit.

Date visited: 09 june 2012

Review by sarah gardener on 6th August, 2011

Add your review
We had heard that this was the first week of the new tennants to the pub so thought that we would try it out. Adam the landlord was lovely, we ate in the garden as it was such a nice day, however the restaurant looked beautiful, food was lovely & the staff were great nothing too much trouble. We took the footpath next to the patch and walked into Southwick Country Park which was free and had some great walks. Didnt realise that they had a large function room with a private garden & patio terrace. we will be back.

Date visited: 03.08.2011

Review by theresa crawford on 31st July, 2011

Add your review
we had our wedding reception there and must say start to finish it was,FANTASTIC thestaff were lovely,the function room was exactly as we asked it to be. food which was a buffet was excellent and exactly the right amount for our guests.sue did everything possible to make our day run smoothly,we would recommend this venue for a wedding reception.anytime. however on a bad note wouldnt recommend the accomodation.

Date visited: 29th july 2011

Review by katy on 4th April, 2011

Add your review
Me and my partner had our wedding reception here. We had a sit down meal in the day with close family and friends, which was very nice and had no problems with this. Then we had 108 guests in the evening and paid 600 pounds for a buffet and we were very very disappointed.There was no where near enough food for 100 guests even though thats what i paid all that money for and for what was on offer i doubt it even cost alot to do. There was things like bread rolls with hardly any filling, cold pizza, chicken, sausage rolls just basic stuff like that. I wrote a polite letter of complaint and asked if someone could get back to me reguarding the issue and they have not got back to me. So if your thinking of booking a function here and want buffet food i suggest you re think as you will not get value for money

Date visited: 12/3/11

Review by Paula on 31st March, 2011

Add your review
I had a wonderful meal there last night. I took my friend who was visiting from Germany there for a meal and we both had good food and excellent service. I had visited there two weeks ago with my work colleagues and we had a wonderful time there. The food was top and the service you couldn't as for better. So for those of you who are spoiling it for others I recommend this place to anyone. Keep this up and this lovely place will close down. Its obvious that those who have complained have not travelled enough to know a good place when they see one. If you know what you are ordering or for that matter what it is you want it might help to make things clear when placing your orders not after that. As for the staff, beautiful young student girls happy to do over and above, they couldnt do more for you. The owner is at hand with his wife who is also lovely, i mean lets face its wow.

Date visited: 30/03/2011

Review by lee rose on 23rd January, 2011

Add your review
After calling in on the off chance of getting a meal,myself,wife and children were far from impressed,from the start we felt the children were not welcome,the older lady whom waited on us smelt like an ashtray,and was rather abrupt. The food was ok nothing too write home about for the price,we will not be returning as after talking too friends at work this seems too be the"norm" for the farmhouse so too anyone thinking of going for a good night out and good food i would find somewhere else!.

Date visited: 18/01/11

Review by mr & mrs lock on 22nd January, 2011

Add your review
Calling in on the off chance of getting a meal,i wish we had not botherd! The meal was not good,the service even worse and the prices, if we had got a good meal would have been acceptable,but overall truley shocking,AVOID AT ALL COST!

Date visited: 13-1-11

Review by Tracy Parfitt on 6th December, 2010

Add your review
I went for a meal on saturday night with a couple of dear friends. when I received my adocado and Prawn starter I asked for this to be taken back as the advocado was black and did not look appetising. I replaced it with a vegetable soup which was luke warm which I told the "head Waitress". She asked if I would like it heated and I told her no, and that I will just eat it the way it was. When I received my meal of Gammon and chips I asked for the chips to be replaced with fresh ones as the ones we were given were overcooked and looked dark brown, dry and cold. My friend ordered an 8oz medium steak only to be given what looked like a piece of leather! The rude "head waitress" took the plate away only to return with it saying that the chef begged to differ. My friend stood her ground and they did return with a piece of steak that was perfectly cooked. In the meantime while all this was going on, the head waitress would quite loudly, abruptly and quite sarcastically ask if everything was now ok! She proceeded to clear the table whilst I was still eating. The head waitress also quite blatantly spoke to another member of staff (manageress!!) in front of us whilst staring at my friend (as my friend was in a position where she was sat facing them). I would absolutely not recommend this pub to anyone!! I was appauled with the attitude and the service and I think that the "head waitress" should either go to customer care classes or be dismissed immediately. I would honestly say that business would most definitely be better if they just got shot of her!!! I've told my friends not to go to this establishment and I know my dear friends that I went out with are doing exactly the same.

Date visited: 4th December 2010

Review by ashley wicks on 1st May, 2010

Add your review
This was supposed to be a celebratory meal but turned out to be anything but!!! The starters were excellent but the chicken main course we felt to be bland and processed. We mentioned this to the young delightful waitress who relayed this to whom, we assume, was the head waitress. The head waitress came to give us the chicken we left as we has asked for a doggy bag so we could take this home for our dog. She told us in no uncertain terms that we should not reheat it, and asked to be reassured that we were not going to eat it ourselves. Her attitude was patronising and inappropriate!!! We shall not return to this establishment nor would recommend it to anyone else based on our experience. It is over-priced and does not offer value for money.

Date visited: 1/5/2010

Review by ashley wicks on 1st May, 2010

Add your review
What was supposed to be a celebratory meal was anything but!! The starters were excellent and the young waitress delightful. However when my husband expressed to her our disappointment with our bland and what we felt to be processed chicken main course, she relayed this to whom, we assumed to be, the head waitress. The latter brought to our table the aforementioned chicken in doggy bag which we had requested for our dog. Her attitude was patronising and inappropriate and wanted to be reassured that we would not reheat the chicken for ourselves!!. We would not recommend this establishment under the current management and would suggest they consider a staff training programme as a matter of urgency!

Date visited: 1/5/2010

Review by Mark Jones on 22nd November, 2009

Add your review
Took family of 4 to have a meal at this pub, the staff took our order which arrived approx 25 mins after order placed, 2 steaks that we had ordered were extremely fatty and when we approached the manageress ( if you can call her that ) she blamed it on the way it was cooked, saying that if it was cooked medium the fat content of the steak would have not been an issue. we asked if she would be prepared to knock this off the bill, and all we got was a totally obnoxious attitude from her. i would not eat again at this pub unless the pub was to change hands or she got the boot as manageress. we went back into the bar for a final drink to wait for our taxi as it was raining outside, and she asked "oh you are staying longer then" and then she decided to try and stare us out with attitude. so AVOID AT ALL COSTS - there are much better places to eat like the bell at rode which is much more family friendly

Date visited: 22 November 2009

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Tolerance is another word for indifference. - Somerset Maugham
More Quotes

On this day:
Irish Catholic Uprising - 1641, Battle of Trafalgar - 1805, First Women Peers Enter Lords - 1958, 1st British Nuclear Powered Sub launched - 1960, The Aberfan Disaster - 1966
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages