It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Bell On The Common, Broughton Gifford

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Helen barns on 1st April, 2012

Add your review
After reading awful reviews I wasn't keen to go but I'm very glad I did, food, service and atmosphere was top notch. I will def be back again

Date visited: 1st April 2011

Review by MARY on 25th June, 2011

Add your review
First visited the Bell at the begining of November 2010. We understood that it was under new management. We had a fantastic traditional Sunday lunch,excelent service even though the place was packed out.We visited again recently, there was a very lively atmosphere, and again the food was excelent.

Date visited: NOV 2010

Review by Ellie on 23rd May, 2010

Add your review
Having only moved to the area a few months ago, we have been trying different country pubs. We saw the brown signs for The Bell on the Common and looked on the web-site at the reviews. They weren't very complimentary but we have always liked to form our own opinion. Four of us decided to go there for lunch and we were greeted by very friendly staff, and a friendly and jokey landlord. Having ordered our food, we decided to sit in the lovely garden,as it was quiet, pretty and sunny. The food arrived within 10 minutes, and we were all very impressed. I had a huge jacket potato crammed full with bacon, stilton and mushrooms, and can honestly say it was one of the best I have ever had in a pub. One friend had the vegetarian option and it was superb, while the two men had a large ploughmans each. This pub is one of the best in the area, set in a lovely village, but please go and form your own opinion like we did.

Date visited: 21st May 2010

Review by Jessica Cottle on 24th August, 2009

Add your review
After reading the review above about the terrible service I felt I try the place myself as this opinion seems very bias. Me and my partner booked a table on a Sunday evening as we asked when was the most quiet time, we arrived at 7:30pm met by friendly staff and very attentive waitresses. I ordered a fillet steak with chips and vegetables, it arrived around 10minutes after very well cooked as asked and my partners was slightly under cooked, we sent it back within a couple of minutes it arrived back on a new plate and fresh cutlery, the staff were very apologetic. We finished our main and had a dessert both home made chocolate pecan and lemon cheesecake, thoroughly enjoyed the evening out, definitely recommended thanks very much The Bell on the Common

Date visited: 24/08/09

Review by D Dunne on 6th August, 2009

Add your review
My husband and I came to the pub on a Sunday evening. The pub/gardens were superb. The only unfortunate thing was the food and the service that we received! We were scorned at when we took something back that was sent incorrectly, then it all went downhill from that point onwards. We were made to feel very uncomfortable because we had complained, and the food was bearly edible when it did get to us? It took a long time to come out (hard to believe as we were the only diners?) I now see why no-one else ate in their!! Plus the manageress was the rudest woman in the world! I strongly advise you to reconsider using this establishment in the future!

Date visited: 14/06/09

Review by emma monk on 21st September, 2007

Add your review
very nice:)

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
There are some ideas so wrong that only a very intelligent person could believe in them - George Orwell
More Quotes

On this day:
Coronation of King George I - 1714, First Edition of Sunday Times - 1822, Battle of Navarino - 1827, Big Ben Winched into Place - 1858
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages