It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

February 2019: Islay

The Queen of the Hebrides takes some getting to but the effort is repaid a hundred-fold, and if you are hitting the island in the ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Red House, Ashton-under-Lyne

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by stephen on 15th August, 2012

Add your review
been to this pub many times since the new landlord and his familly took over in june,Rob carol and there familly very friendly and always make customers feel welcome,3 of us had the sunday lanuch very nice, If you havent been to the redhouse yet give a go you wont be disapointed fast becoming the best pub in Ashton-under-lyne

Date visited: 14th aug 2012

Review by Bob Built on 16th April, 2010

Add your review
CLOSED!! No notification on window as to why and no shutters up or anything like that??? I was really looking forward to a big juicy chicken burger and a cold glass of shandy. WILL anyone explain the situation to me? Also, it's not a house and it's not red so why isn't it called the Closed Pub? Got a kebab in the end and it burnt my tongue!

Date visited: April 10 2010

Review by alice murphy on 9th February, 2010

Add your review
PETER JONES MUST HAVE BEEN AT A DIFFERENT PLACE THAN WE WERE,MORGAN BRILL ,FOOD PROBLY WLD HAVE BN NICE IF IT HADNT TOOK SO LONG TO COOK IT MY PARTY WAS THE FIRST ONE IN THERE AND WE HAD NO MAIN MEAL OFFERED AT ELEVEN OCLOCK SO HOPEFULLY PETER HAD HIS IN A SHORTER PERIOD OF TIME THAN WE HAD I WLDNT RECOMEND IT TO ANYBODY.

Date visited: 30/01/2010

Review by peter jones on 4th February, 2010

Add your review
WENT TO THE RED HOUSE FIRST 0N THE SAT 16 JAN 2010 .WHEN THE NEW OWNERS TOOK OVER. HAD THE TAPAZ DID NOT KNOW WHAT TO EXPECT .STEAK PERSON MY SELF THERE WERE THREE OF US. THE SERVICE WAS SUPERB.THE TAPAZ WAS ALSO SUPERB WE HAD 8 DISHES AND A FREE BOTTLE OF WINE COST 28.98 GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY.MORGAN THE SINGER WAS SUPERB.

Date visited: 30 01 2010

Review by alice murphy on 2nd February, 2010

Add your review
absolute rubbish,meal ordered for 8oclock for 10people, starters arrived at 9.15pm, meals still not arrived at 11 oclock our taxis were ordered for eleven thirty so we had to inform the owner we did not want the meals he was not happy so mayb he knew how we felt .our party was not the only party to get late meals waitress was very ignorant if the new managment want to build this pub up again then they should start by not being greedy and booking mor parties they can cater for .we had been there 15mins wen we were informed they had no steak lamb or fish and what is shown on the internet menu is not wot they serve in the pub itself.

Date visited: 30/01/2010

Review by peter jones on 2nd December, 2009

Add your review
SUPERB WENT BACK TO THE RED HOUSE AS WE HAD SUCH A GOOD TIME LAST TIME BOOK A TABLE 8 OF USE THE FOOD WAS SUPERB 3 HAD STEAK.2 HAD SCAMPI.1 HAD BEEF AND AIL PIE .2 HAD OLD MADE RAG PUDDING. EVERY PART OF THIS MEAL WAS SUPERB VALUE FOR MONEY,THE NIGHT WAS FIRST CLASS.MORGAN WAS OUTSTANDING.ME AND MY WIFE VISITED RESTAUANT IN MACHESTER WHICH WON THE F. WARD , CHINESE.TWO WEEKS AGO.WHICH WE VISITED ON THE 29 11 09 . VERY DISAPPOINTING .WE ENJOYED THE FOOD AND ENTERTANMENT MUCH MUCH BETTER AT THE RED HOUSE ,LEES NEW ROAD;BIG THANK YOU TO THE CHEF FOR GOING OUT OF YOUR WAY TO GET THE ASTY SPUMANTI MARTINI;AND A THANK YOU TO YHE GIRL HOW SERVED US OUR MEAL SHE WAS REALY NICE.AND THANKS TO ALL THE STAFF,YOU WERE ALL SUPERB;HAVE A HAPPY CHRISTMAS AND NEW YEAR,

Date visited: 21 11 2009

Review by Sue Percival on 21st November, 2009

Add your review
Food was terrible, so was the service and the landlady upped the price at the last minute and took the money we'd paid for wine as the extra for food - so we had no wine on the table! So much for Northern hospitality! Will never go again.

Date visited: 20 November 2009

Review by mr peter jones on 19th November, 2009

Add your review
SUPERB NIGHT STAFF VERY FRIENDLEY,MORGAN WAS SINGING HE WAS SUPERB. WE ENJOYED IT SO MUCH WE BOOK A TABLE ON THE 21 NOV 2009, FOR MORGANS BIRTHDAY BASH.FOR 8 OF US, HIGHLY REC THE REDHOUSE.WHEN MORGAN IS ON, A VERY HAPPY CHRISTMAS TO ALL THE STAFF AT THE REDHOUSE, LEES NEW ROAD.

Date visited: 07 11 2009

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
When one burns one's bridges, what a very nice fire it makes. - Dylan Thomas
More Quotes

On this day:
First international terrorist attack on Britain? - 1894, Singapore Surrenders - 1942, Decimal currency is launched in Britain - 1971, Huge Stop the War Demo - 2003
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages