It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

March 2020: West Norfolk

Welcome to West Norfolk, a truly special place of unspoilt charm and natural beauty, where tranquillity and relaxation are the order of the day.

Set against ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Merriemeade, Sampford Peverell

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Louise wright on 23rd September, 2012

Add your review
Had a fantastic carvery! The food was hot and very well cooked. It had great flavour and plenty of choice. It was quite obviously freshly prepared and cooked. The best carvery in the area! The kids love this venue as it has an outside play area which means you can relax over lunch! Brilliant venue.

Date visited: 23/09/2012

Review by Anthony & Iris Cole on 30th July, 2012

Add your review
We went to The Merriemeade for A Sunday Carvery with 10 of our relations and friends to celebrate Iris's birthday and were so pleased with the very good food, service, and the dress code of all the staff that we can recomend it to anyone. Good value for money. We will be back.

Date visited: 29th July 2012

Review by garry on 27th August, 2011

Add your review
whilst on holiday we arranged to meet frienda at the Merriemead,neither of us knew the establishment but it was convenient for us both to travel. i was a bit concerned having read some of the previous reviews. However whilst waiting for our friends to arrive we were served drinks by an extremely helpful barman who supplied menus so we could see the choice of meals, he also sorted out a table for six in the dining room. After our friends arrived our orders were taken by a young waiter who again was extremely pleasant. The lunch itself was plain honest pub grub, including the specials, one of which my brother enjoyed. The portions were generous and the food hot and well presented, the dessert portions were more than generous. the cost of the meal was very agreeable and i would definitely visit the Merriemead again when i am in the area. overall the staff were very pleasant and couldn't have been more helpful. i recommend you try it

Date visited: 25/08/2011

Review by Anna Everett on 26th April, 2011

Add your review
The pub was clean and tidy, however there only seemed to be 2 staff on, on bank holiday monday - and within 10 mins of our arrival it was chaos. We ordered our drinks which were fine, and took the menu to the table to decide what to eat. Hubby went back to the bar and ordered food and when he came back he said he had only been charge for one meal. When he realised the error he had to queue again at the bar for another 5 mins and when he asked he was told it was because the steak and ale pie was sold out - they hadnt mentioned that just charged for the other meal. He added a further meal so we had the two we wanted - and we waited about 25 mins to get our food. the waitress was lovely, and very apologetic but it was gone 2 before we got our food. Sadly the plate I had must have just come out the dishwasher as everything tasted strongly of cleaning fluid, I fed the chips to the dog, and covered the steak in mustard - she did give us 2 drinks on the house but it was a little disappointing to be honest.

Date visited: 25/04/2011

Review by David Robert on 1st September, 2010

Add your review
When I entered this establishment I was not sure if it was a good idea. However when i was served by a very courteous landlord and made very welcome i changed my entire attitude to him and his admirable beers. For service, quality, friendliness and time taken you would go a long way to better this small pub. Good on you Guvner, from one Londoner to another. More power to your elbow. Will visit again with friends

Date visited: 1/9/2010

Review by Ken Bennison on 15th July, 2007

Add your review
Having read the review of Laura Ataker I am of the impression that the lady must have visited the wrong establishment. As the experience my family encountered could not be more removed from hers. I found a very welcoming atomsphere and the staff could not be more polite and courteous. It seems to me a bit strange that this lady would park in their car park and then visit another pub, for whatever reason, without having the manners to let the owners know that they were returning. I feel that this comment totally misrepresents the establishment because everything we found was in our opinion a very pleasant experience and would recommend the pub to anybody. It actually makes a change to find a pub serving good quality beer and food at a very competitive price. Finally, if I compare the Merriemeade with the Globe, which I have also visited, I know which one I would choose and it wouldn't be the Globe.

Date visited: 14th July 2007

Review by Laura Ataker on 7th June, 2007

Add your review
Noone likes to write a bad review, but I think this is probably the most discourteous and unwelcoming establishment I have encountered in 24 years as a travel researcher. After parking in the hotel car park with the intention of eating there after getting details of the Globe Inn, directly opposite, I returned only to have a virago from the hotel accusing me of misappropriating space in their (empty) car park. Extraordinary and inexcusable rudeness.

Date visited: 01/06/07

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
May not the complaint, that common people are above their station, often take its rise in the fact of uncommon people being below theirs? - Charles Dickens
More Quotes

On this day:
First True King of England Crowned - 0973, Becket Becomes Archbishop of Canterbury - 1162, Army Seizes Charles I - 1647, Battle of Lowestoft - 1665, Evacuation of Dunkirk ends - 1940
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages