It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

October 2016: Isle of Purbeck

Why the Isle of Purbeck? Visitors to these shores, and we Britons likewise, far too often limit our trip horizons to the big stuff: cities ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Yew Tree Inn, South Wingfield

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Martyn H on 24th May, 2016

Add your review
Unlike some country pubs, where a new face seems to be viewed with a 'Who is he? Not seen him around before' and can be a bit "This is a local pub for LOCAL folk!" The Old Yew Tree has been warm and welcoming and full of friendly folk who are always up for a chat if the fancy takes. I was astonished that after only one visit, one of their wonderful staff remembered my name from the week before! My first visit was on one of their karaoke nights - a brilliant atmosphere, with all encouraged to join in, if they would like to, but with no pressure if you're a bit shy / out of practice! Singers ranged from - should we say erm.... think Vic Reeves on the Shooting Stars programme a few years ago when he did the 'pub singer' quiz round - Such fun - hilarious in fact. Through to singers like Denise who is a versatile, pro standard vocalist and in demand with various bands. All standards welcome and each and every one of them entertaining in their own right. They also have acoustic duos and other entertainment. Go to their website for events and for other details - food etc. My second visit was for a meal with my pint. Very good quality, very reasonably priced, generous portions or smaller, 'child friendly' sizes and with attentive staff who seemed to have the balance just right. A nice cozy fire, good friendly atmosphere - folk chatting away and having a laugh. A couple of guitars and a piano to hand. This is reputed to be the most haunted pub in Derbyshire too! What more could you want? (More singing from Denise perhaps!) I thoroughly recommend a visit or several. This could be my new 'local', even though I live 19 miles away!

Date visited: 2nd May 2016

Review by Sue and John Hughes on 31st August, 2009

Add your review
This is the third time we have visited after a friend recommended it to us. We have visited lunch, early evening,and evening. Every time we have been presented with a full and extensive menu. The staff are very welcoming and the food is out of this world. It is all fresh and cooked to order, the flavours are just excellent, to say the portions are generous is an understatement. We would recommend this experience to any discerning diner and we will most certainly be visiting again soon. Many thanks for an enjoyable experience.

Date visited: latest 31.08.09

Review by Lucy Brailsford on 6th July, 2009

Add your review
hi im lucy brailsford and i took my dad to the yew tree inn for fathers day we were welcomed nicely and soon settled intime to get the first order of drinks.One of the many friendliest members of staff passed us a menu to look at we were not rushed and we soon placed an order, the menu was well set out and had a good choice for veggies and meat eaters. The food was well cooked tasted beyond the higher classed resturants and if and when i go back there i know that they will treat me with class and they are non stop trying to make your food and day good.I will definetly recommend the old yew tree inn to everyone that likes to go to pubs and resturants.thanks for reading!!

Date visited: fathers day

Review by Lynne & Steve on 23rd August, 2007

Add your review
We needed a meal half way between two localities, so our first visit was on the off chance. We had a lovely welcome, and the food was excellent. At first we thought they are taking a long time bringing our order then we realised why, it is cooked to order fresh ingredients and the largest portions I have ever come across! When was the last time you had fresh garden peas with a meal? If you are hungry opt for the steak and stilton pie, and a word of warning the starters are meals in themselves and very well presented Our second visit was more planned and we were a party of 7. We were not disappointed the food was still up to the same exacting standards. I would and will recommend The Yew Tree to anyone who will listen. Lynne & Steve

Date visited: 22/08/07

Review by bremda jomes on 11th November, 2006

Add your review
What more to say, this is REAL pub, changed hands since last visit, but food glad to say was 1st class, this is food as it is ment to be, tasty, well cooked, good choice on menu. New owners on hand to chat, bar staff still a dream, some of the most pleasant young guys in the trade, give them a medal please. Look forward to visiting parents again soon so we can return to this gem of a pub Thanks guys Brenda

Date visited: 2 november 2006

Review by Sue & Michael on 1st August, 2006

Add your review
called in for Sunday lunch on the off chance of getting a table. Superb welcome and lovely staff. The menu is fantastic with lots of choices, finally decided on roast pork which was cooked to perfection. Dont usually have a sweet, but wow what a choice. Had the cheese & biscuits (which was presented fab)and also the rhubarb & apple crumble which was so tasty. The pub has a superb friendly atmosphere and the hosts are fab people. Can't wait for the next visit, which will be very soon. This is a really great pub and exactly how a pub should be. Hope the owners will be there for a long time, the owners in our opinion certainly reflect on the pub itself!

Date visited: Sunday 30th July 2006

Review by alan spencer on 12th June, 2006

Add your review
This is what we need more of. A real english pub, Real ales well kept, Mine host on the bar, nice staff. Had a really good pint of trad ale that was spot on as far as real beer can be...Black Sheep. The menu, Well what can I say, My family included a couple of teenagers, Not easy?. We all found so many choices that we should have booked in for a week, Superb fresh fish dishes, Some turkish specials on offer, I had these, Fantastic, My wife had scallops stir fried in lemon grass, A really special meal, As for the kids, mixed oriental combo+ ribs, They ate the lot. This is a really good pub, All others should take a visit to see how a pub should be Thanks Alan/june...peter/mary

Date visited: 7/6/2006

Review by hilarey turner on 26th June, 2005

Add your review
called in for dinner, super food, really nice wecome, a real pub. the menu was very large, also a seperate grill menu, plus a thai selection. i had sardinian seafood lentel stew very good, my partner ate a lemon sole in lemon butter, he said best fish ever. ended with a coffee in the pub area. chatted to a few locals, as time got later(8pm) i think all tabeles where full, we visited on a wednesday evening. we plan on visiting again as we had such a good night, a real pub, a real find. both owners( male)where on duty andtoldus a lot about the " ghosts". try and visit

Date visited: 01/06/05

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
He that undervalues himself will undervalue others, and he that undervalues others will oppress them - Samuel Johnson
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Edgehill - 1642, First Parliament of Great Britain - 1707, War of Jenkinsí Ear Begins - 1739, First British-Made Ford Car - 1911, Battle of El Alamein - 1942
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages