It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2019: Blackpool and the Lancashire Coast

Itís illumination time in Blackpool. Lancashire in October is not likely to be your choice for a sunshine break, but that is not why ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Sun & Stars, Holyport

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by debbie on 25th August, 2008

Add your review
My parents and I ate here yesterday and it was faultless. The staff were warm and friendly and could not have been more helpful. The food was excellent and we'll definitely come back.

Date visited: 24th august 2008

Review by Dave Hay on 22nd June, 2008

Add your review
We, as a party of five, visited The Sun and Stars for lunch yesterday ( 21 June ). We arrived as they opened at 1200, so had the place to ourselves for a wee while. Nice broad six-seater table, so we had plenty of elbow room, which is always a good thing. Service was smooth and efficient, with drinks orders being taken within a few minutes of arrival and, after menu delivery and specials board explanations, we were given sufficient time to organize our thoughts and choose. There were a few unavailable items, which wasn't a problem, given the wide variety of fish, meat and vegetable dishes available. Along with drinks, we also asked for, and received, a jug of tap water and glasses - it's always nice to see this as an option - whether fee or free. I chose the salmon parcels to start- a very healthy helping of salmon and mousse - followed by the plaice - two portions; one grilled, and one lightly deep fried. Both were excellent; although the plaice was a little too over-sauced, given the moistness of the fish and the jus; it was a little too "sloppy" for my personal tastes. In hindsight, a basket of bread would've been just the thing to handle the excess, but absence wasn't a problem. Others in the party chose various other main courses, including lamb, shepherd's pie and steak and kidney pudding. Both starter and main courses were very, very generous - this wasn't an issue, and we were guided in the choice and quantities of side-orders, so we didn't end up paying for food that we didn't need. Puddings were again generous in quantity and quality - no fancy coffees were available, but the filter coffee was fresh, hot and excellent. The staff were both efficient, fast and friendly - we had sufficient time between courses to allow digestion to begin, and the meal lasted nearly 2.5 hours. The decor and ambience were excellent, and there was absolutely no background music to spoil the mood. During the meal, a number of other diners arrived, and were seated throughout what appeared to be a huge dining area - families with children were seated elsewhere, meaning that we had plenty of chance to eat and chat in peace. All in all, an excellent meal, and one which I'd recommend to others. 10/10

Date visited: 21 June 2008

Review by Ann Hay on 21st June, 2008

Add your review
A delightful atmosphere, comfortable seats, not too many tables squeezed into too small a space. Splendid menu, both regular and the specials board. We were warned by the waiting-staff that certain dishes were substantial and might not need veg ( quite right.) My shoulder of lamb was melt-in-the-mouth, and what I couldn't finish was given me in a pussy-bag. The staff had overheard it was my birthday, and my creme brulee was brought with a lighted candle on top ( I am an OAP, but appreciated the thought) My whole party thoroughly enjoyed the meal. Presentation, especially of the puddings, was magnificent - take a camera, sadly none of us had. We will definitely go again.

Date visited: 21/06/08

Review by sheila on 15th April, 2008

Add your review
We love this place. First and foremost the food is excellent and the prices are not over the top for the extensive choice of menu. We were introduced to The Sun and Stars by a couple of friends about two years ago and have visited it as and when we can ever since. If we have a visitor and want to take them somewhere for a chat and a good meal, then in our opinion The Sun and Stars can't be beaten, unless of course money is no object and then you can spend all sorts of silly money somewhere else and maybe not get as good a menu as The Sun and Stars. Also the owners are really nice friendly people who always treat us as if they have known us for years. We highly recommend at least one visit and feel sure you will go back time and time again.

Date visited: 15th April 2008

Review by Bernard H. on 8th December, 2006

Add your review
At first I must make comment that we have absolutely no connection with the Sun & Stars or of Tim the owner. It is now for us a regular place to visit and for a few very good reasons. Myself and my Wife would find it difficult (if not impossible) to find any better restaraunt within a close proximity! I could wander on into superlatives - it would be easy to do this except to say that the ambience is good, albeit a wooden floor and tables. The seats are very comfortable with high backs. The menu is very wide plus the availability of a wide range of daily 'specials' shown on the chalk board. Each course is superbly presented from the first to the main to the desserts. This is not a fast grill restaraunt albeit there is the usual steaks range (and excellent they are too). If you can't find what you would enjoy on the menu - then give up eating! Warning the portions are ample and the steak and kidney pudding is only for the serious volume eater (very good it is too). The wine list is excellent not the cheapest around but a good selection is to be had. The house wine (normally a Chilean Merlo)is very quaffable). Ask Tim what he recommends in this lower bin end - he gives a good recommendation! Cost? For three course around £30 per head (but you may find that two course is certainly enough to make you very repleat!) On the gastrometer I would place it at a 90 out of 100 points - the downside - you should phone ahead to ensure you can get a table!

Date visited: 23/10/2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
A lover without indiscretion is no lover at all. - Thomas Hardy
More Quotes

On this day:
Boston Massachusetts Founded - 1630, Operation Market Garden - Allied invasion of Holland - 1944, Lord of the Flies Published - 1954
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages