Villa Holiday Homes with a pool
National Trust

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

October 2014: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Clyde Valley Caravan Park, Kirkfieldbank

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Debbie B on 2nd May, 2012

Add your review
I had a quick walk around this park to check it out before considering pitching a static. Certainly the mobile homes at the site entrance are lovely and the toilet facilities seem fine however I became slightly concerned that beyond the initial impressive entrance, the mobile homes become more neglected in appearance and also of concern is that for such a small site there are quite a few mobile homes for sale and empty static pitches - I wonder if there are problems with this site? It is a beautiful area in general but I sense that maybe all is not well. i will glady stand corrected.

Date visited: 01/05/2012

Review by anonymous on 4th April, 2011

Add your review
I only want to know how much it's going to be to pitch a tent. not concerned about bloody 20p for a toilet. No reviews or sites say anything about a pitch fee. I would like to know before i consider elsewhere. thanks (:

Date visited: not been yet.

Review by S McNeill on 27th October, 2010

Add your review
We spent only one night at this site, in our camper van. It was dark when we arrived. Contact with the owner was very basic and we were not told where the toilets/showers were but had to find them ourselves. There was, what I presume to be a permanent residency, with (I think) two dogs, near where we were parked up. One of the dogs kept barking as it was shut out and was jumping up at the door. The owner of it seemed oblivious, or deaf!Most annoying. Showers/toilets were clean enough but could do with being 'done up'. There was no chair or rail on which to put your clothes, except on the back of the door, which meant you had to walk over a dirty floor to even reach your towel. My husband said the gents didn't even have this and he had to put money in a meter to get hot water for his shower. Wont be going back.

Date visited: Sept 2010

Review by lyndsay devine on 27th July, 2010

Add your review
I have to disagree with the comment about taking just taking the money.We arrived as the owner was on her way out she told us to pitch on the grass and she would see us later once we had settled in, we ended up not giving her the money until the next day.And we were made very welcome at this park,yeah there might not have a swing park but my children are easily bored and they even enjoyed themselfs. We are planning on a return very soon.

Date visited: may 2010

Review by shona on 1st August, 2009

Add your review
I totally disagree with the last review. I found the owners very nice and helpful. as long as the toilets/showers were clean I don't see any reason to complain. I think Miss Urwin is absolutely wrong with her review. I would recommend this site any time! I think she is just trying to pick a fault with the site. If she doesn't like other company she should pitch on a field next time!

Date visited: july 09

Review by colllette on 28th July, 2009

Add your review
i am the child that was commented by miss c urwin. As this is a family run caravan park. I was obviously helping my parents on this occasion, as my parents would be otherwise engaged in another aspect of work concerning the park. I always tell the visitors where to pitch their tent and facilites of the park. I feel sorry for miss urwin to feel the need to say she will never be back or reccommend the park if this was her only fault with it. Taking into consideration that she was happy with everything else i.e toilets and showers were very clean. I just wonder who she was refering to when she mentioned that one person in particular upset her very much as she must have had some involvement in this matter. if miss urwin feels it was an utter disgrace then why did she not advise site owners in PERSON !

Date visited: resident

Review by miss c.urwin on 25th May, 2009

Add your review
If i am honest i read these reviews before booking the site for my hoilday and i decided to ignore b.smith. However after my holiday i would honestly say i would never go back to this site even if you paid me. Me and my boyfriend decided to go camping and as we have no children we were not bothered by childrens facilities. After arriving at the site, we knocked on the door which was answered by a child who quickly took our money without telling us were the showers/toilets were and where we were supposed to pitch our tent. The toilets and showers were clean and i must say i can't fault that. I must say i also saw a few dogs off the lesh but they were no bother and under control. Most people seemed nice enough and were polite, however there were one or two who were just plain nasty and hostile. One in particular who upset us very much. The reason that this site has so many good reviews is becsuse many of the people live on the site and know each other well. Due to this we were made to feel very uncomfortable during are stay so much so that we left as early as we could on the morning of departure. I would NEVER recommend this site and i won't be returning it was an utter disgrace.

Date visited: 27/04/09

Review by jean cardwell on 20th September, 2007

Add your review
i have visited this park, and i had a lovely time and so did my chilldren. yes there is no swing park on the site, but there is one in the village just a five minute walk away. the facilities on the park are high standard. showers and the toilets are allways clean. The owners are helpfull people too. it is a great park and i will deffinately be going back soon.

Date visited: 2006 26/8/06

Review by L & J Gracie on 29th May, 2007

Add your review
We would like to comment on the E-Mail sent by B. Smith. We have visited this park for over the last 4-5yrs & found the people to be friendly, it costs nothing to say a friendly good day & the faciliteis to be of very high standards, & the owners to be very helpful & pleasant at all times so much so we bought a static caravan so that we could enjoy weekends & during the summertime to get away from the everyday busy lifestyle of work during the week. I have grown up family who also enjoy the park, & having no swing park we find is good as it doesn't intise strangers to drop in. We are related to a family that has children & if B. Smith considers children playing on bikes, kicking a football about or having fun playing the old traditional games like rounders which in the summer most of the site joins in, to be intimidating or running wild we think the best thing they should do is stay at home read a book & enjoy their own company. This park is central to many different areas to explore around scotland.

Date visited: 29/05/07

Review by 11th Airdrie Boys Brigade on 28th May, 2007

Add your review
The clyde valley caravan park is a good and clean park the owners are first class they do there park rounds ever mornin and say hello when they drive past toilets are clean at all time as they get cleaned ever day

Date visited: 25 th aipril 2007

Review by kenny anderson on 27th May, 2007

Add your review
ive been visiting clyde valley caravan park for about 4 years started with tent/trailer tent/tourer i bought a static caravan at beginning of season this year as per Brian SMITH comments its totally untrue,there is nothing on site (thats true) but this makes all the kids interact with each other which is brilliant, as for the dogs, dogs are allowed on site but must be on lead IN PARK which is ENFORCED , toilets are very clean showers are good for a minimal charge of 20 pence Everyone on site are very friendly when walking to toilet block it will cost you about 20 to 30 good mornings when park is busy and thats not a BAD THING, as for intimidating children from same family TOTALLY UNTRUE well ive never came across them there are 2 sisters and a aunt who have vans there and 1 sister has twins at 5 year old if this is intimidating go and find a caravan site that DOES NOT ALLOW CHILDREN, this caravan park is ideal if you have kids if anyone who reads this review who had kids camping at clyde valley ask the kids to WRITE a review .Its all good at CLYDE VALLEY CARAVAN PARK

Date visited: regular visitor for years

Review by heather on 27th May, 2007

Add your review
nice caravan park ideal for kids / very friendly /toilets very clean will be comming back in the near future

Date visited: 21/5/07

Review by c weir on 25th May, 2007

Add your review
where was b smith staying it obviously was not kirkfieldbank caravan park. as a resident we always look forward to visitors in the park. where were all the dogs as i am a dog owner and very rarely come into contact with other dogs, even thoses off a leash. as for too many children surely it being a holiday park you would expect children to be enjoying themselves. this is a beautiful park we would recommend this to anyone just a little word of warning it is a little noisy early am with lovely birdsong. as for "she" well a nicer person would be hard to find,helpful,friendly hardworking and honest

Date visited: resident

Review by lynda smith on 22nd May, 2007

Add your review
As per B Smiths remarks ( no relation ) i have visited this site often over the years and given the fact it is part residential, obviously it is always busy, i am wondering exactly which site he was staying in as i find his critical remarks totally unfounded. The owners "she" are on site 24/7 and cleanliness and general maintenance of the park are of the highest standard.

Date visited: numerous

Review by brian smith on 22nd April, 2007

Add your review
the park has nothing on it ,but that can be its best attribute. the showers are terrible and there is no soap in the toilets at all.only two toilet cubicles open , the rest locked of and the park was busy.too many dogs allowed to roam off lead even though there is a dog walk and a on lead rule it is not enforced especially by those who live on the park which are many.there is no information on local attractions or even amenities,when you check in which is knocking on there front door no details are asked for and no details about the site are given she just takes your money and tells you to park on the center circle of grass.it mostly has workers who are there through the week and go home at weekends or single men who have been put out the house A lot of the residents are all related to the one local family that can be intimidating as there kids run wild, because there isn't even a swing park for the kids , nothing.

Date visited: apri1/13/ 07

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Nothing is more obstinate than a fashionable consensus. - Margaret Thatcher
More Quotes

On this day:
Scilly Naval Disaster 2000 Drown - 1707, First Plastic Surgery in Britain - 1814, Blantyre Mining Disaster - 1877, Crippen convicted at Old Bailey - 1910, George Blake Escapes from Wormwood Scrubs - 1966
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages