National Trust

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

August 2014: Cardigan Bay

Cardigan Bay as a destination would be a tester for a professional explorer. Not in terms of terrain, though the Cambrian Mountains backing much ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Summer Lodge Holiday Park, White Cross

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by michelle on 25th November, 2012

Add your review
EXELLENT ENTERTAINMENT OVER HALLOWEEN THE ENTERTAINMENT STAFF STEVE AN KIRSTY MURPHY PUT ON A SHOW ALICE IN WONDERLAND WITH A TWIST TO IT BEING HALLOWEEN FULLY ENJOYED WITH FAMILY WATCHING ALL ON OUR BREAK AT SUMMER LODGE , KIRSTY MURPHY DOING KIDS CLUB IN THE MORNING PAINTING CHILDRENS FACES , MAKING THINGS WITH THE CHILDREN MADE MY DAUGHTER COME OUT SO HAPPY LOVED IT ALL .I KNOW ITS GOING TO BE AMAZING THIS COMING YEAR AS ALL STAFF ON THE SITE ARE SO FRIENDLY AND WILL HELP IN ANYWAY. WE ARE GOING TO BE GOING BACK TO HEAR THE TALENTED KIRSTY MURPHY FROM WIRRAL / LIVERPOOL . THANKING ALL STAFF AT SUMMER LODGE FOR MAKING OUR STAY SO GREAT! SEE YOU ALL SOON .....

Date visited: 11 / 12

Review by debbie on 29th September, 2012

Add your review
I stayed on this camp site in a caravan with my boyfriend for 4 nights not a good site no entertainment only the staff in the club enterained there selfs.Staff not very friendly in the club.Never had the caravan ready for us on arrival so went into newquay until recieved a phone call to say we could get the keys.The caravan was very cold we got charged an extra 44 pound just for bedding in the caravan there was no towels supplied wouldnt visit the site again not very good couldnt wait to come home for a warm.Not much lighting on the site of a night.The facilities where not much at all

Date visited: 24th-28th of sept 2012

Review by M & T Green on 5th June, 2012

Add your review
We went back to Summer lodge Holiday Park, The caravan we had was as stated by the park as less than 12 months old, and it was very impresive and very clean and very comfortable, the park has changed even more since our last visit in 2011, better road ways, Staff very helpfull and friendly, gardens well kept, and a clean park, The view from the caravan was brill looking over the countryside lots of wild life too and a vast aray of wild birds, I/WE would recommend this Holiday park to any one who is looking for a relaxing holliday in Newquay/Cornwall, WE WILL BE BOOKING FOR SEPT 2012.

Date visited: 25/5/2012

Review by valerie on 2nd May, 2012

Add your review
very dissappointed with the site.we stayed in a privately rented caravan which was ok.but the park was a let down.the shop didnt even have basics like bread and milk.the diner was never open,next to our caravan was a derelict one that has just been left to fall apart.this was easter week and there was hardly anyone on the site!nothing for the kids to do,the area is lovely but the site a big let down.if we had been told nothing was open and it was been renovated then it would have been our choice if we wanted to stay or not.

Date visited: 7th april

Review by M & T Green on 22nd April, 2012

Add your review
We have been going to Summer lodge for the past three years, The park is changeing all the time and i/we say for the better, the new owners are doing a great job we used to stay in a private rental caravan but the owners have now sold it so we have booked a caravan owned by the park and i was supprised that the price was great 239.00 for the week 26/5/12 for one week, Staff are brill and helpfull (i am disabled) and we take our dog with us only specified caravans for dogs we were told that the caravan is less than 12 months old and i have seen the caravans on this site all are good looking and clean, We will update on our return in june.

Date visited: june 2011

Review by Janet Wells on 2nd March, 2012

Add your review
Having never visit this park before, I was a little nervous after reading some of the reviews, but they offered some great deals that I thought I would take a chance and book up, Well I can say I was very much pleasantly surprised, the first impression were great, the staff were lovely and being so close to Halloween they had chosen to decorate the Reception and Clubhouse. It looked fantastic, on arrival to out caravan we noticed it was a new van and were even more excited. We had a great Holiday and booked twice for this year. My 2 boys are so excited and ask me every day if we are going back soon. Great Holiday Park.

Date visited: 22-10-2011

Review by Dennis on 2nd March, 2012

Add your review
We stayed here for 4 nights on the 25th Feb. On arrival we found the park to be claen spacious with friendly staff. We stayed in a Eden 2 bedroom, overlooking the country side. The views were breathtaking! The caravan was spotless & well equipped, i was armed with a load of cleaning stuff with i didn't need at all. I'd definately come back here. All in all if your looking for a relaxing family retreat yet with all the mod cons. Summer Lodge holiday park is the place to be. Will definately be coming back!!!

Date visited: 25th February 2012

Review by Becky on 15th September, 2011

Add your review
You can tell the holiday park is under renovation as they are trading whilst doing it up BUT the staff couldnt do enough for you! Brand new Caravan which was a gold. Had to take the wrappers off the beds themselfs! The childrens entertainer kept the children busy at night dancing! Im sure next year which we have already booked will be even better than this time!

Date visited: August 2011

Review by Di on 15th August, 2011

Add your review
On arriving at theis site it did not look too bad, but as we drove down to the field what a shock! Pot holes everywere, bit slopes and felt sorry for people in tents who were on slopes at least with a van we could use chock and breeze blocks and anything else we could find. Pool is not heated and as a hose pipe constantly putting water into pool. Toilets cleaned once a day, never any toilet roll or soap. Washing up area in toilet block not very hygenic at all! Club house open at certain times and over priced 3.85 for pint lager. Shop only open at certain times and never any basics..bread, milk etc. Wouls I stop here...never again and I have stoppped on farmers fields..

Date visited: 3/8/2011

Review by Paula on 30th July, 2011

Add your review
OMG......Never ever will i go back, nice staff!!!!!! Nice place!!!!!! Nice Caravans!!!!!! Good food!!!!! i'm stuck for words, worst holiday ever, please check this park out before you book!

Date visited: july

Review by summer lodge holiday park on 15th June, 2011

Add your review
Hello from summer lodge. writing to tell you of the recent changes and improvment to the park. There is a new tarmaced enterance and signage. the grounds are looking nice with grass being cut weekly. the Kernow/caravans have all new carpets and cleaned to a high standard. The newly finished development has new Penrose, Eden 2 bed caravans and Eden star 3 bed caravans that are imaculate with flat screen tv's and modern interior. all the faclities on site are now open 7 days a week. the club house is open every evening and lunch times on weekends with entertainment including party games for the children, quizzes and game shows for the adults and visiting caberet acts during the summer. The diner offers a range of take way food from fish and chips to pizza with specials on the menu during the summer. The diner is open 6 nights a week and mornings on the weekends offering a range of foods on the brekfast menu. The shop is also open 7 days a week in the mornings and mornings and evenings on the weekends. the shop is full stocked with all the essentials and the morning papers and magazines. the swimming pool on site has a new heating system and is lovely and warm. For any more information please dont hesitate to contact us on 01726 860415. or email: enquiries@summerlodge.co.uk

Date visited: 15.06.11

Review by Lynsey on 4th June, 2011

Add your review
I was really anoyed to see so much negatine views on this site. Not only do i own a caravn on this site to rent out i also stay in it as much as i can. The site has been bought by a major company who also own 5* sites, they have updated the park and had a a big fun day opening to celebrate the new owners and the chnages they had made. This park is nothing like a building site and looks more like a residential site then a holiday park. It has everything you wold need for selfcatering holiday.

Date visited: Feb 2011

Review by carol on 10th April, 2011

Add your review
just come back from this holiday park having booked a private rental caravan, the caravan was immaculately clean and well stocked www.newquaycaravanhire.co.uk The site has undergone some major renovations due to the new owners (major company), the staff are helpful and friendly. I would definately go back there again, thanks for a lovely experience

Date visited: april2011

Review by bowering on 14th May, 2010

Add your review
i owned two caravans on this site and have sold them both as they have removed the kids swimming pool and the crazy golf.There is no childrens entertainment,the shop has been closed and it is nothing more than a building site.I could not have let my caravans out to holiday makers.

Date visited: 2008-2010

Review by Laura Unsworth on 28th April, 2010

Add your review
I just don't understand the fuss being made about this camp. Everybody who has visited must know when booking that the facilities/ amenities on offer are reflected in the price - it is a cheap holiday option in the midst of a recession,- if you want more from a site pay more and go somewhere else. We stayed last year in July and though the camp is certainly not the best I have ever stayed at it was clean and tidy, the staff agreeable and most importantly it was very safe for children and appeared very family orientated. The entertainment was first class, but the shop needs improving. Very reminiscent of a '70's camp - we have booked again for this year mainly due to great prices in the school holidays.

Date visited: July 09

Review by carolyn on 5th March, 2010

Add your review
had the misfortune of booking this caravan site in the summer. The brochure was extremely misleading. The site is outdated and a building site when we arrived. Our caravan was also very dirty. The staff are unapprochable, rude and obnoxious at best. We couldnt sort out our problems with them so left. DO NOT GO TO THIS SITE - I cannot stress enough how bad it is.

Date visited: june 2009

Review by kathy on 25th January, 2010

Add your review
We have been going to Summer Lodge for a number of years. In all we are a family of 20.So need a least 3 caravans for 2 weeks each year.We have seen it change hands 3 times.The last owners knew very little about how to run anything . My newphew had a fall in the mens toilets one evening,cut his head and had to go to hospital and have his face stitched. They did not have any member of staff who was first aid trained .No one came to see if he was ok the next day , we had to go and ask for it to be put in the accident book.My sister in law wrote to the owners expressing her concerns only to be told it was in the hands of their insurance company . My sister in law has never heard from them since.We have been informed that we are now blacklisted with no reason given . What a joke.

Date visited: August 2007

Review by AlyssA on 13th September, 2009

Add your review
I have to say that I dont agree with some of the comments on here about Summer Lodge in Newquay. I have been going to Summer Lodge for almost 8 years and will continue to go as the site just gets better. Over the last 12 months the owners have replaced a lot of older caravans for brand new ones, giving a great quality of accommodation to the visitor. They are redeveloping the park to provide more facilities for us all and because of that, we have to expect a bit of development work going on. As for the pool being dirty, i have yet to see this. The pool is cleaned regularly and is treated and I feel safe letting my kids play in the pools. The diner has been redeveloped as has the bars and the level of entertainment just gets better each year. I would highly recommend Summer Lodge Holiday Resort. Its a family resort and its safe for kids... what more do you want? Alyssa

Date visited: 18/07/2009

Review by Rob on 6th September, 2009

Add your review
We booked after looking on website and through brochure we decided to book as it sounded great for our six year old. kids club- heated pool etc... We tried to book a caravan but as fully booked decided on a chalet which stated in the brochure "clean & basic" (no wonder there are no pictures of accom on website)!!! THIS WAS NOT CLEAN. We had to bleach everywhere and boil all the crockery it was disgusting. The carpet was awful and so didnt dare take off shoes once inside. We had to buy air freshners from the site across the road because the shop on site only opens for short periods. The pillows were just full of lumps and the bedding did not smell clean we did not sleep in the beds at all and I was so glad I had brought some sheets we could lie on on top. There were massive cobwebs in every room and I itch when I think of the shower cubicle I felt dirtier getting out than I did getting in. I could write pages and pages but just want to let people know what there letting themselves into before they book.The kids club is a joke too 1 hour each morning and 1 hour at night. The pool IS NOT heated!! Maintenance man and "cleaners"?? walk around doing their jobs with cigarettes hanging out of their mouths. This site IS run down compared to others we looked at while there and I feel its website & brochure are very very misleading. We met others that were also disgusted at the sites conditio BEWARE........

Date visited: 22 aug 2009

Review by MR J ADAMS on 24th August, 2009

Add your review
I HAVENT BEEN TO THIS CAMP FOR 10 YEARS IT HAS GONG DOWNHILL SINCE THEN THE TORING / CAMPING FILD IS AT THE BOTTEM OF THE CAMP WITCH IS A LARG FIELD WITH PORTER CABINS FOR TOILETS AND SHOWERS AND ONE FOR WASHING UP WITCH IS A 3 FOOT STEP TO GET UP IN THE FAR CORNER OF THE FIELD IF YOUR DISABLED LIKE ME THEN YOU HAVE TO GO BUY CAR UP TO THE OLD TOILET BLOCK AT THE TOP OF THE CAMP WHERE THE STATICKS ARE THE DISABLED SHOWER/TOILET IS LEFT UNLOCKED SO EVERY ONE IS USEING IT SO IS ALWAYS DIRTY WITH NO HOT WATER TO SHAVE THEIR IS A TAP BUT NOT WORKING JUST A SHOWER WITH HOT WATER I ASKED THE OWNER WHEN WILL THE NEW TOILET BLOCK WILL BE BUILT HE SAID 2 TO 3 YEARS DEPENDING ON HOW MANY LARGE CARAVANS HE CAN SELL THIS WAS ONCE A GOOD CAMP I WENT THEIR FOR 13 YEARS ON THE TROT BUT WONT BE GOING BACK TILL THEY SORT THE PROBLEMS OUT HOP THIS HELPS IF YOUR THINKING OF TORING THIS OR THE NEXT 3 YEARS

Date visited: 7/8/09 TO 22/8/09

Review by static near park on 10th August, 2009

Add your review
what can you say about this park, it is not family minded, they do not care for noise created and will allow children and drunken adults to play on young childrens play area, went to complain to the management and was told to leave there office!!! the park is terrible and run down, building work being carried out. entertainment is something to be desired, the food you would not touch, and the so called shop had no stock. when we got to the caravan we had to clean it out, and found one of the beds was on bricks !!! this was supposed to be a 4 star caravan, probabally safe to say 2 star standard. would not recomend this site to any one and will never be back again. the brochure is very misleading and the internet set is also misleading, if it looked like that as in brochure and internet, the place would be great, surley a trade description issue. very poor place.

Date visited: 18/07/2009

Review by Static Caravan on 4th August, 2009

Add your review
Okay, let's get a few facts now: 1. Yes, the site is a little rundown in places, however, the current management are improving the site dramatically. 2. The entrance does, at the moment look a little like a building site, but when I was there in May it was a hive of activity improving the look of the area. 3. The site is upgrading - in the near future it is hoped that NO camping facilities will be on the site, and that it will be just static caravans and lodges only. 4. The caravans are rated - 3*, 4*, 5* - You get what you pay for. 5. Static caravans - 2 sections: private and the park owned vans. The private section is nicer, quieter and the caravans tend to be newer and a lot better looked after - e.g. www.cornwall-holiday.piczo.com 6. The staff are really friendly and helpful. 7. Facilities being upgraded, but personally I wouldn't go on a week's holiday based on what was on offer in the resort - I'd want to go out and see the local area, visit other attractions which are close by. 8. Good value for money, good access to the whole of cornwall, a lovely rural location. Book a private caravan there for the best holiday. Remember, you get what you pay for.

Date visited: April & May 2009

Review by maria mclaren on 27th July, 2009

Add your review
we set off at 6.30am in the morning as it was going to take 6hrs on the way we stopped off at stonehenge and charlies farm which was brilliant we got to the park at 5.15pm by this time reception was closed and we had to collect keys from the clubhouse as we entered the caravan after searching for it in the rain as it was not numbered we discovered that the tv didnt work the extractor fan was full of dead insects and the light was exposed with no shade on we went to the clubhouse and the caretaker sorted out the tv we had to eat and was told we had to order from the diner which it was like a greasy spoons yuck we went back and sat in the clubhouse to discover there was no cutlery no sauces and the entertainment well what entertainment? there was no arcades for the kids just about 10 fruit machines it only had 1 outside pool which was minging no lifeguard they say 2 but the other one has a slide going in so not appropiate to swim in the food came out the burger buns were rock hard and the cottage pie was not fresh obviously been microwaved as it was cold in the middle and full of grease and water the toilets were disgusting dirty and stained yellow the toilet roll was black and the toilet had no seat on. the entrance to the park was just nothing there was absolutly nothing to do for children i would not recommend this park to anyone stay away it says fully renovated on website and in there brochure i would like to know where? its very deceiving as they dont show the whole resort they just advertise out and about. the kids were so upset and wanted to go home so we decided we were not going to let our family being 2 adults and 5 kids stay in such a dirty park and caravan so we left the same night at 9pm when we got home we discovered we were allocted a 4* caravan but they actually gave us a 3* i have wrote to them complaing and that i want a full refund but nothing of as yet PLEASE STAY AWAY this was my 1st choice holiday park what a dissapointment our family holiday turned into a nightmare and we will never be doing a 9.50 holiday again

Date visited: 10th july 2009

Review by kirsty newnham on 8th June, 2009

Add your review
me and my family visited the park for the weekend and after reading some of the reviews we were alittle concerned but i can happily say that when we arrived we were welcomed by a lovely clean site and very friendly staff and the caravan was nice !In the evening we popped down to the clubhouse and unffortunatley my 4 yr old daughter fell over and hurt her head quite badly i am pleased to say that all the staff were very helpful and a couple who lived in the area who pop to the club occasionally,drove in front of us to show us the way to the hospital everyone was really helpful and the team in the clubhouse are really good with the kids ,thankfuuly my daughter ,after recieving a few stitches was fine and we had a really nice time i would reccomend this park to families with children from about the age of 5 onwards . the park is also situated in beautiful surroundings ,we could see squirrels from are door which was lvly ,good site,good people,good place to holiday!

Date visited: 22nd may 2009

Review by Terry Ridley on 20th December, 2008

Add your review
Hi, In contrast to people on here, despite the weather myself and my family had an absolutely wonderful time. The weather was really bad and this seems to be why people are moaning in their reviews. Come on, its easy to blame the holiday camp but to be fair they arent in control of the weather are they? The entertainment was great and the kids really enjoyed themselves which is why we come on holiday in the first place. I have been coming to Summer lodge for a few years now and have to say that the park is first class. I wouldnt believe what is written here as it seems like a few people have just got together to pull the place down... Professional complainers??? possibly. The staff are great and the "construction" that people are banging on about in their reviews are simply because the park is actually ENHANCING all its facilities to mae the Summer Lodge experience even beter...how do I know??? I actually asked the owners and they were open in their plans for the future of the park...perhaps a few people this forum should have followed my lead and done the same before they condemned their visit.. This park gets 5 stars from me... Well done, continue the good work and dont let these miserable professional complainers get you down..

Date visited: 2nd August - 16th August

Review by Joanne Powdrill on 23rd September, 2008

Add your review
Booked through their website which promised a 'fully renovated' site - which was far from the truth. Entrance like a building site. Dead mouse in swimming pool - yes you read that right! Dirty disgusting blocked portaloos and porta showers. These were so bad that I did not want my family to use them (I have 2 small boys) - we used the facilies at the Leisure Centre in Newquay. Earlier review mentioned Glastonbury and it really did feel like we were camping at a music festival. Look, I could go on an on about how dreadful this place was but I complained when we got home and got a full refund but surprise surprise no letter or email to accompany it which speaks volumes about their customer service or could that just be the volume of complaints? The weather was certainly not to blaim as last year we stayed at Hendra (as we have done for the previous 6 years and only booked Summer Lodge as Hendra were full) and got rain all week but that site is second to none and we had a fantastic holiday. Anyhow, sort of glad in a way that many others felt the need to give this place the review it deserves. The moral of this story is not to leave booking a holiday until 2 weeks before you want to go - the available campsites are empty for a reason!

Date visited: 02.08.08

Review by Janet on 11th September, 2008

Add your review
Well what can i say about moaning people that we had to put up with when on holiday at Summer Lodge this year, So the weather was bad in fact very bad, so what do you do...get on with your holiday, If like me and your only holiday enjoy!!!! We have been going to this park for many years and i find the comments not true, I was in the reception one day and the lady behind the counter was getting abuse from a large male saying she was a Manager so the Weather was her fault????? I must comment on the staff who are very kind and polite, all in all the other guests (Campers) spoilt our holiday with their moans about the weather.

Date visited: 9th August 2008

Review by Mrs Inez Blore on 8th September, 2008

Add your review
If you like Glastonbury festival then you'll love Summer Lodge! Overall the site is run-down, neglected and in bad need of good management. OK, so it's not the owners fault the weather was bad, but the fact that youths were aloud to do wheel-spins across the grass, tearing up the turf was. The noise everynight was unbearable to the point we had to move site. Most nights people calmed down by 2 - 3 in the morning, but the final straw came on what turned out to be our last night on the site. A caravan started to pitch up right next to us at 12:30 am - then their mates turned up and they finally went quiet at 4:30 am. Happy days! If you like the refrain of 'oggy, oggy, oggy' at all hours of the day and night, then this is the place for you. The facilities on site are apalling. The porta-loo toilets were insufficient for the amount of pitches (2 for women and 2 for men) 3 blocked showers each, with broken plug holes (mind your toes). Complaining to staff gets you nowhere fast. The answer from the site manager was 'if you don't like it you can always go somewhere else'. So of course, that's what we did. We had been going to Summerlodge for some 6 years, it's changed hands at least 3 times since our first stay and each new owner does nothing to improve the facilities. In-fact it gets worse each year. The site we moved to only cost us 16 a night (including electric) it was clean, peaceful and well managed. So summerlodge was a real mistake this year, we will not be going there again.

Date visited: 19th July 2008 - 5th August 2008

Review by Kate on 17th August, 2008

Add your review
we went camping although the weather was crap it was not the site owners fault, the facilities are rubbish, porta cabin showers and toilets, the pool was filthy, had worms and alsorts init, the best thing was the pub entertaintment, although drinks are a bit high priced the entertainment was good. It is a cheap site to stay on compared to the rest but paying more is well worth it to stay elsewhere. It was our first time visiting newquay and it has definately put us off going again. Sorry if this upsets anyone but people should know what there paying for before they travel there.

Date visited: 9-16th august 08

Review by Joanne on 17th August, 2008

Add your review
This place needs to be done for false advertising! We drove into the site and it is so run down it looks like it's shut! We kept an open mind about it and got the keys for our acommodation with the view that it is just somewhere to lay our head! The caravan was filthy - the carpet was black, it stank and there was still food dripping down the bin. Not only that, we opened a cupboard to find an old pair of shoes, the caravan was damp and we had booked an 8 berth but there was only 5 cuos. The swimming pool was filthy - there was no way i would have put my foot in it. We ended up getting a full refund and stayed at whilte acres across the road which was heaven compared to summer lodge. I dont ever write reviews but felt i had to after what we experienced and i read reviews religiously when i book an holiday so felt i needed to warn anyone that was thinking for going there.

Date visited: Aug 08

Review by Paul on 16th May, 2007

Add your review
We stayed at Summer Lodge last week, and the weather was bad but we still had a great time, The diner was not open but you could still order food in the club house to take out or eat in, The entertainment was great our children went to kids club every day even thoe it was wet outside the entertainers done games and party dances in the club house,We did see ducks on the park and a member of staff told us they had called the rspca to get them moved but they would not come out because the ducks were not in danger, all in all we had a great holiday and you can see that the new owners are pulling out all stops to make it a great family run park...well done Summer Lodge...Paul Harris & family

Date visited: 07/05/07

Review by chris green on 14th May, 2007

Add your review
by far the worst holiday camp me and my family have ever had the privalidge of staying at. no people, no where to eat, absolutely nothing for the kids to do , and i do mean nothing. there was no where for the family to eat, the diner was filled with wood and work man, the arcade machines were turned off. it advertised two bars only one of which was open, the swimming pool had ducks in it the flume was coverd in leaves. and the poor man who provided the entertainment, he was only performing to about 10 people. we spent all our time at the camp across the road. we will never return and will do all we can to make sure none of our friends ever visit this resort

Date visited: 10th - 13th may 2007

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
A diplomat these days in nothing, but a head waiter who is allowed to sit down occasionally. - Peter Ustinov
More Quotes

On this day:
Birkenhead Has First Tram in Europe - 1860
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages