National Trust

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

April 2014: York and Its Surrounds

This April is a great time to be heading for York. The major attractions are all open, with luck the weather will continue to be ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of George VI Inn, Upper Cwmtwrch

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by bonita kilbride on 11th November, 2012

Add your review
Without doubt the best carvery I have ever been to!! My daughter and I love carvery restaurants and a friend recommended the George. It was a little out of our way but well worth it!! The service was friendly and professional, the surroundings were comfortable and welcoming but the thing that makes us keep going back is the food. For any meat lovers reading this - this is the place you want to go. We have now booked to eat there in the evening and try the a la carte menu. It does seem a bit pricey but having seen the quality of the carvery I can only imagine how good their steaks are.

Date visited: oct 2012

Review by Geoffrey bailey on 16th August, 2012

Add your review
Our party of six were nearly discouraged from dining today because of a previous negative comment concerning the George. I must say from the onset,our dining experience was excellent. Our telephone booking was taken in a friendly and professional manner and our arrival was treated with pleasure and very welcoming. Our table was set and waiting for us . We settled at our table and the drinks orders were taken and the menus arrived. My wife being vegetarian was offered a separate vegetarian menu which had a wide variety of dishes some, including quorn which is most unusual. The meat for the rest of the party was locally sourced and together could not be faulted. The atmosphere and ambiance in the restaurant was good and we all agreed that this was the best meal of our holiday. There were no mistakes and we will most certainly visit again.

Date visited: 16/08/2012

Review by Elaine on 16th April, 2012

Add your review
I went for a meal with my neighbour,the service wasnt great and we werent offered a dessert,it was as if they were waiting for us to leave, we found the place to commercial and not very friendly.We live locally and it would have been our local,but given the treatment we received on that particular evening (and also having tried to book another evening and having someone impolite on the other end of the phone) we will not be going there again.

Date visited: january 2012

Review by Jennifer Elton on 30th March, 2012

Add your review
loving your food. OUTSTANDING.

Date visited: at least once a week, takeaway

Review by ANON on 27th March, 2012

Add your review
Appalling, I wouldn't bother got to the Abercrave Inn which isn't too far away. Ordered a steak well done, had to send it back 3 times so in total I had 4 varieties of steak on the same night. By the time my food came out it was like charcoal black and burnt. And all my friends had long since finished their food. Owner wouldn't take any feedback and gave the excuse that the place was busy so mistakes happen. If something basic like a steak cant be cooked properly what can!!!!

Date visited: jan-feb 2012

Review by Mrs Duhy on 26th September, 2011

Add your review
I loved this pub, the food was excellent and very large portions, Ived been to so many pubs in south wales over the years, and they keep changing, the George I am glad to say has changed for the better, large car park to the side, and just a nice (not modern) thankfully pub. Will definately be going back, now the pub Ill be taking all frieds and family to. Book earlie though, as always fully booked at weekends. Do not open Sunday nights though, at least not when I tried to book, but they are open for Sunday Lunch, which I intend trying very very soon.

Date visited: 23rd August 2011

Review by Nigel Pemnbroke on 1st July, 2011

Add your review
went to the George to celebrate a friends birthday, 5 of us sat down for a meal and each ordered something different from the menu, the kitchen is open, so you can see your food being prepared, which the staff seemed to do effortlessly, the food arrived, with veg / chips etc being placed on the table for all to share... to be honest it has been a long time since i haven't had a moan about anything, but we just couldn't fault the food, even a friend whom is quite fussy with his food, he ordered the ribs, got twice the amount he was expecting (much to his pleasure) and loved every mouthfull, I my self had the welsh black and ale pie, my only complaint was that I didn't have a spoon to get the last of the gravy from the pie dish.... service was very good, and prices very reasonable for what we had, inc the drinks (soft).... being fairly local we will all be going back again and recommending it to others... booking advisable as we got in early, but it was getting busy as we left

Date visited: 30/06/2011

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
General principles... are to the facts as the root and sap of a tree are to its leaves - Samuel Taylor Coleridge
More Quotes

On this day:
Launch of BBC2 - 1964, Enoch Powells Rivers of Blood Speech - 1968, Sinclair ZX Spectrum Launched - 1982
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages