National Trust

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2014: Regency Brighton and Hove

The plurally-named City of Brighton and Hove rather fittingly is a holidays plural - destination. Its modern, historic, cultural, sporting, happening, a seaside resort ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Star Inn, Dylife

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Keith DAVIES on 15th March, 2012

Add your review
The Star Inn at Dylife is a place to avoid. They don't have any draught beers, and the food is of a very poor standard. The landlady made me feel very unwelcome, and after waiting at the bar for several minutes to be served,(even though I was the only one in the pub), I made the mistake of ringing the bell on the bar. She came out from behind the bar and rudely told me to wait. There is no light in the toilets, and the pub needs thousands of pounds spent on it to bring it up to any standard. DON'T GO THERE unless you want to see for yourself, how bad this place is.

Date visited: 27/8/2011

Review by Mark on 27th June, 2010

Add your review
We stopped here briefly on the way back home after a walk in the nearby Hafren Forest. As we were feeling very hungry, we asked if they were serving chips. The landlady quickly retorted "is there a McDonald's sign outside". I've never come across this kind of attitude before, so we went to sit outside and finish our drinks before heading home. The Star Inn was a big disappointment to what had been a great day's walking in the beautuful Welsh countryside.

Date visited: 26/06/2010

Review by Alan on 21st March, 2010

Add your review
We spent a weekend at the Star Inn, and couldn't fault it it may not have been the most up to date but it was pleasant and we were made very welcome. The food was excellent as were the staff. If you want 4 or 5 star quality go to London, if you want plain accomodation with clean linen clean rooms and good food then you have to go a long way to find better.

Date visited: Sept 2009

Review by kat on 26th January, 2010

Add your review
I recently stayed here with my partner and had a wonderful time! what a different world (in a good way!) we visited in the recent winters snow fall and were greeted by a lovely roaring fire and some of the best food ive eaten in a long time. The menu was so vast and seemed to have something for everyone. We had something different every night it was great, as a vegetarian im used to having no choice this was such a pleasant change! It was good wholesome British grub.And from what i can tell everything was homemade well with exception to the chips but hey!carnt have it all! the portions were big it was tasty, flavoursome food and thats what you need on a wintery night in wales! My boyfriend recomends the duck in damson and brandy sauce it was on the specials board when we were there so im not sure if its a perminant fixture but is definatly worth an ask. I personally found the prices of both the food and the accommodation reasonable. Yes the room was slightly dated but it was clean and had everything we needed for a good stay. I had taken my boyfriend to the star inn for his birthday and I was so grateful for the help the landlady sue and her son Daniel gave me to arrange a shooting day for him. Everything went smoothly and it was a great day. We really enjoyed our stay in such a homely place and defiantly intend to visit again soon.

Date visited: dec 2009

Review by mary male on 24th July, 2009

Add your review
The best that can be said is that the cider was excellent and the bedsheets clean. Only stay if you can cope with ancient dodgy electrics, leaking ceilings, muddy bathmats, incredibly squishy mattresses, sticky grimey surfaces and the company of dead flies. Nothing seemed to have been refurbished or renewed in at least 20+ years. Breakfast will not be served before 8.30. Eat there only if you can savour partially re-hydrated packet soup and not mind paying 4.50 for it. Much of the food seemed to be frozen ready meals. Ah well win some, lose some!

Date visited: july 2009

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Sometimes the first duty of intelligent men is the restatement of the obvious - George Orwell
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Harlaw - 1411, Mary Queen of Scots abdicates - 1567, Gibraltar Seized - 1704, Speaking Clock Introduced - 1936
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages