It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Duke at Bratton, Bratton

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by LEANNE on 24th February, 2011

Add your review
Had lunch here today and the food was very good. The service was friendly and we really enjoyed our visit. Would recommend it for a good pub lunch.

Date visited: 24/02/11

Review by Hull on 30th October, 2009

Add your review
Visited the Duke at Bratton yesterday. Great reception from all present. Food fantastic. Try the chicken with bacon and stilton cheese sauce if you are not sure what to choose. Beautifully cooked and served with a selection of vegetables. Also available were gammon sandwiches, made with freshly cooked gammon, still hot from the oven, quite a treat. Thanks to Andy, Lyn and Matthew for making us feel so welcome. We will certainly be visiting the Duke at Bratton again.

Date visited: 29.10.09

Review by Paul on 6th September, 2009

Add your review
Went for sunday lunch at the Duke today after walking our two dogs locally. The initial greeting was warm enough and we were seated in a clean and comfortable area of the bar. For starters we shared the pate and toast, alarm bells were begining to ring when it was obvious the pate had come straight from a tin and simply cut in half. Inspite of this it we ate the starter and looked forward to the main course. For the main we both ordered the roast beef. What arrived may of come from a animal but it certainly wasn't a cow! The beef had the consitancey of a old tyre and tasted and smelt like it had been microwaved. The vegetables were all undercooked and as uneatable as the meat. We initially complained to the waiteress, who alerted the cheif who was apologetic and took the meals away. When settling the bill the landlord tried to charge us for the uneaten meals in full. When i complained further he became very disgruntled and finally agreed to only charge us for the starters. In short if your looking for a badly prepaired meal unfit for human consumption then the Duke is the perfect place! To be fair they did state that they're under new management and this may be a new venture, although this being so i'd of excpected them to really of tried to ensure all was to a high standard.

Date visited: 6th September 2009

Review by Nick on 16th July, 2009

Add your review
Went for a meal with 2 others about 1pm - friendly service, i had Large fish and chips - Excellent quality and quantity (and im a big guy) could'nt fault it and highly recommend !

Date visited: 15/07/2009

Review by Wade Bratton on 16th November, 2007

Add your review
Namesake pub was great without the name have read the reviews appears "The Duke" has maintained the good food, etc.

Date visited: 1988

Review by james on 6th October, 2006

Add your review
i walked in to a warm village pub and the welcome was great and so was the food

Date visited: 29/9/06

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Islington is about as far as you can get from London without needing yellow-fever jabs - A A Gill
More Quotes

On this day:
Irish Catholic Uprising - 1641, Battle of Trafalgar - 1805, First Women Peers Enter Lords - 1958, 1st British Nuclear Powered Sub launched - 1960, The Aberfan Disaster - 1966
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages