It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of White Hart, Ford

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by annie on 22nd May, 2014

Add your review
Have been to the white hart many times some good food some bad, so we haven't been for 8 months but we thought we would give it another try wish we had'nt, ordered a garlic bread to start it was warm only toasted on the bottom and hardly any butter really dry, then came 2 of the ciabatta's one with cheese the other with chicken both with chips, you would have been better to order a cheese S/W because that's what it was dry cheese and a bit of lettuce with some onion stuff on the bottom, the other one was warm dry chicken, lettuce, hard mozzarella, and a bazil leaf which was supposed to be bazil pesto all to go with some soggy chips cost £23.75 with 1pint of beer half lager. The staff we to busy around the corner chatting and laughing with the kitchen staff, had to ask at the bar if we could order food, very poor service. wont be going there again. they have just got complacent with it all again.

Date visited: 21/may/2014

Review by sharon tailby on 5th March, 2011

Add your review
gorgeous room. Gorgeous food. Gorgeous staff. Coming back soon. Thank you so much x

Date visited: 04thMarch 2011

Review by Annabel Niker on 7th January, 2011

Add your review
I went for a lunch at the White hart the other day with my husband & kids. It was lovely to see the place back on form the food was very tasty/well presented & the place clean & tidy, with a good atmosphere. We had our wedding reseption there in 2007 & had the most wonderfull time. Since then it went down hill, but credit to the new management it will be one of our favorites again!

Date visited: 5/1/11

Review by Richard Castell on 7th November, 2010

Add your review
A very pleasant stay. Lots of old world rustic charm. Food was good, service excellent and the place clean and comfortable. I had read some of the previous reviews and some had been scathing. I understand there is a new management team in place. It's working well!

Date visited: 6 Nov 2010

Review by Caroline Jenkins on 3rd November, 2010

Add your review
Not been to the White Hart for a few months and was a little concerned prior to our visit after having read some of the reviews. I need not have worried! The staff were bright and attentive, great atmosphere (i was informed there has been a recent change in management, the manager and his partner seem to have brought the old place to life again and were both great fun!). Our food was also great, I had the rib eye steak, which was superb, such a beautiful place to go for a meal, I would highly recommend it.

Date visited: 1/11/10

Review by George on 17th July, 2010

Add your review
I recently visited the white hart at ford for a 21st birthday celebration, imagine a carry on film called "carry on pub food" and you are not even close. The service was slow, food was dry and apology half "hart-ed", will not be coming back and shall inform all i see of my experience. I felt that the waiting staff were extremely lazy as i had to ask for, menu's, steak knives (3 of the 8 of the party had steaks) and sauces to name a few. we waited an extremely long time for drinks at the bar, starters, mains and even the manager when we decided enough was enough (his excuse was being busy on the bar chatting away to 3 locals). we did receive free drinks which was a small gesture as that was the only way in which you could force down the bone dry chicken. the table across from our's had similar problems and even the small tables of 2 and 3 were taking for ever twiddling there thumbs. the only positive thing to come out of this meal is the fact we had almost for ever to catch up and chat amongst ourselves. .

Date visited: 14th july

Review by David Dorey on 15th July, 2010

Add your review
Quite honestly the worse dining experience of my life. I took a party of eight to the White Hart to celebrate a 21st Birthday. The service was slow and shambolic, the food went from the ordinary to the inedible. Not recommended and will not be returning

Date visited: 14 July 2010

Review by Jon Phillips on 18th April, 2010

Add your review
Today I took my family for Sunday lunch at the White Hart and am sorry to say was very disappointed. The service was poor and very inattentive even though the pub wasn't that busy. The food even worse. Firstly the roast wasn't very nice at all, only a choice of beef or pork, packet gravy, a couple of roast potatoes (the boiled ones mentioned on the menu were missing), cabbage and carrots, £10. My nephew (vegetarian) ordered a wild mushroom pasta dish. By the time it had arrived (after I complained) most of us had finished our meals and not a wild mushroom in sight, only button mushrooms! We sat with dirty plates in front of us until we got bored and left. Lovely setting, overpriced substandard food. Best avoided. Went for a walk in Castle Combe after and wished we had eaten in the lovely pub there.

Date visited: 18th April 2010

Review by caroline antscherl on 3rd January, 2010

Add your review
Lovely place to stay. Super rooms and staff could not have been more friendly and helpful

Date visited: 2nd Jan 2010

Review by Joan Hollard on 21st July, 2009

Add your review
This pub is in the most idyllic situation and I had high hopes for this pub. Unfortunately the food and staff were decidedly second rate. Upon asking whether I could have my starter as a main course - I was told that they couldn't ben the rules and that I would have to have a double portion at double the price. I declined; and I'm glad I did because the salad consisted of dry, tasteless chicken and salad obviously bought bagged from a supermarket - going brown at the edge. The staff behaved as though they were doing us a favour by even serving us. How disappointing, this pub could be wonderful.

Date visited: 20th July 2009

Review by Si & Rich on 14th April, 2009

Add your review
We booked the White Hart at short notice for an Easter break, and of course when you do this you wonder what you will find. We need not have worried. The pub is set in a pretty little valley and is tranquility personifed. The building is charming, with its own stream running under the building. The staff were fantastically welcoming, and our accomodation was very very nice. We had a lovely en-suite double room, with flat screen TV, and a super clean bathroom which had a really good bath/shower combo. The room had been up-dated a year ago, and I cannot fault any aspect of our stay here, paprt from the fact that I wish we could have stayed longer. We will definitely be going back. It's a great base, and so close to the charming villages of Castle Coombe & Biddestone. Lacock is only about 10 minutes drive away, as is Corsham, with it's wonderful old house Crosham Court, which was used as a set in "Remains of the day".

Date visited: 10th April 2009

Review by Diane Winters on 26th June, 2008

Add your review
I live fairly locally and have eaten twice at the White Hart, Ford and on both occasions have been very disappointed with the food. Unless you order beefburger or steak which comes with all the usual accompaniments you receive a measly portion of ravioli or fishcakes which is barely a worthy of a starter dish dressed up with a little bit of garnish and a lot of sauce. With some excellent and good value eating places in the Bath area this ranks as a very second rate choice.

Date visited: March & June 09

Review by John Barnett on 12th December, 2005

Add your review
Excellent place, real traditional country pub. Looked wonderful from the outside, especially on a foggy December's night, and the decor isnide is great. Had a superb meal, really reccommend the rump steak with stilton sauce, and the cheese & biscuits dessert is quite somethign as well, served immaculately and with plenty of trimmings. The beer was good as well, with Wadworth 6X, Bellringers and Otters being on. This was my only reservation though - had expected a wider choice. Nonetheless, I thoroughly reccommend this pub.

Date visited: 11/12/2005

Review by Edward Phillips on 20th November, 2005

Add your review
When I read the review on this page by Nici. My wife and I nearly cancelled our booking. We are glad we did'nt, it was a lovely place to stay. The White Hart is in an idyllic setting. The staff were friendly and attentive to our needs, the rooms were clean,tidy and warm. And the food was delicious.We would certainly go there again. It made us wonder if this Nici person actually went to the same place as us. Yours sincerely Edward Phillips

Date visited: 4th &5th November 2005

Review by Nici on 31st October, 2005

Add your review
Not what it used to be!! The rooms were grubby the food was, at best, mediocre, at worst inedible. The service was slapdash and last orders at at 10:45 even for residents and diners. It is a shame because it is in a beautiful setting which no doubt willl attract a number of unsuspecting diners in the summer!! On the plus side the locals were friendly!! By all menas go here for a drink in the garden by the stream but, if you are expecting Le Routiers standard fare - forgret it!!

Date visited: 21.10.05

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
What is easy is seldom excellent. - Samuel Johnson
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Edgehill - 1642, First Parliament of Great Britain - 1707, War of Jenkinsí Ear Begins - 1739, First British-Made Ford Car - 1911, Battle of El Alamein - 1942
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages