It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Shears Inn & Country Hotel, Collingbourne Ducis

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Joe Mahaley on 29th August, 2010

Add your review
After being in the area for work related reasons and to deal with my racing horses I board in the area I stopped in at this pub after it had been highly reccomended by a friend. I have to admit I was skeptical after reading the review posted from May however I was absolutly amazed. The food was wonderful and service, equally good. I found out that the restaurant is family run and their dedication shows. The duck breast was cooked pefectly and the garnishes matched without fail. My wife had the Rib Eye with peppercorn sauce which was amazing (although I generally wish she was more adventurous) We didn't stay the night as work had me staying close by in a nother bnb but I would definently come back for a night. Wonderful hiking trails near by for a relaxing day in the counrty. I also asked our lovely server if the kitchen had a microwave and mentioned about the review I had read. She laughed and explained they do but to heat a a few things like butterscotch sauce as it was dreadfully small. She was also surprised someone had written such a poor comment as every step is made to ensure their guests leave happy. Well my wife and I left very happy and will return as soon as I am back int he area.

Date visited: July 28 2010

Review by S Southcott on 10th May, 2010

Add your review
We visited this establishment on the 8/5/2010 for Dinner and having waited almost 1 hour for our meals to be served were surprised that 4 out of 5 meals were cold, we obviously called the waitress over and politely asked if something could be done, at this point we were informed that they always leave the food to rest so it was not her fault and that it would take at least 20 minutes to sort it out, which we all said we had no problem with. Our surprise at being presented with fresh plates after just 5 minutes was considerable until it became obvious that they had just been microwaved, what a microwave can do to meat is well known but what it can do to lettuce has to be seen to be believed. The end result of this was that 4 out of 5 of us left having had no dinner and the restaurent even had the audacity to not reduce the bill and charged us for food that we had not even had the pleasure of eating. The worst experiance that any of us have ever had. As a hotel and restaurant manager myself I was appalled at both the poor customer service and disgraceful reheating of food in a microwave.

Date visited: 08/5/2010

Review by Ian Nagelson on 15th October, 2009

Add your review
My wife and I were traveling through to Marlborough and stopped in to this lovely pub along the way. Attracted by the thatched roof and large beer garden we made what we thought would be a quick stop. Little did we know this pub had just recently reopened and to our delight was run by a brilliant man who had created such a fantastic dining destination. The pub had been referbished slightly however still maintained a nice bar area with cozy sitting area and the restaurant was quaint. After stopping in for a pint we looked over the menu and just had to stay for dinner. The food was excellent. Homemade with care and dedication. The starters and mains were so delightful we had to have pudding. As a chocolate fan I had the chocolate brownie which came with mousse and icecream and my wife had the peanut butter cheesecake which was to die for. The staff was very friendly and curtious and seemed to give the pub a homely feel. With a few rooms used for letting we ended up staying the night and continueing our travels the next day. Thanks you for such a lovely night. We will be back!!!!!

Date visited: September 2009

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
I am acquainted with no immaterial sensuality so delightful as good acting - Lord Byron
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Edgehill - 1642, First Parliament of Great Britain - 1707, War of Jenkinsí Ear Begins - 1739, First British-Made Ford Car - 1911, Battle of El Alamein - 1942
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages