Rising

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Rising Sun, Christian Malford

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Simon Hart on 3rd December, 2006

Add your review
We had our company Christmas meal at the Rising Sun last Saturday night. We had heard it was good so thought - why not! The bar was small but welcoming so we were surprised when we went into the restaurant which was much, much larger. We had booked the Christmas menu but one of our guests changed their mind when we got there and went for one of the fish specials. The barman, a vision in pink!!! could not have been more helpful and the change was no problem. Thats the reason I thought I should write this recommendation as it is so often that restaurants and pubs are less than accomodating now-a-days. Recommended.

Date visited: 02/12/2006

Review by Denese Wright on 23rd October, 2006

Add your review
Having searched the internet for a local pub I stumbled across this website and after searching local pubs we decided to try The Rising Sun as the previous reviews seemed to good to be true. There was a warm welcome from the extrovert barman and we were passed the menus to view whilst we enjoyed a glass of wine in front of the open fire. Having ordered we were shown into the restaurant which was full of old oak furniture which complimented the oak beemed ceiling perfectly. Our food came promptly and was both piping hot and delicious. I had the monk fish tail roasted in tomato and lime and my girl friend had the marlin loin - they were just superb. I thought we would find this pub lacking but can honestly say it lived up to our expectations and, in fact, exceeded them. I can not recommend this establishment highly enough. We plan to go back but plan to book this time as it was rather busy and we did have to wait for our table - but surely this can only be a good thing!

Date visited: 23/10/2006

Review by Nick Spells on 10th July, 2006

Add your review
Six of us went to the Rising Sun for Sunday lunch - having heard how good it was and I can honestly say that it lived up to our expectations in every respect. The Fish Specials were very well cooked and the Roast Beef was the best we have had in any local pub.

Date visited: 09/06/2006

Review by John Coller on 11th May, 2006

Add your review
We recently celebrated a birthday at The Rising Sun and I can say, without hesitation, that the food and atmosphere were superb. The landlady's skills in the kitchen were nothing short of magical and the extensive fish menu was both interesting and fairly priced. The wine we were recommended was excellent and complimented our meal perfectly. I would recommend this establishment unreservedly.

Date visited: 09/05/06

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Common sense in an uncommon degree is what the world calls wisdom - Samuel Taylor Coleridge
More Quotes

On this day:
Great London Tornado - 1091, Battle of Fornham - 1173, Battle of Neville Cross - 1346, Regicides Executed - 1660, London Beer Flood - 1814, 1st Professional Golf Tournament - 1860, First Motoring Offences in Britain - 1895, First Full-Scale British Air-raid - 1917, World’s First Fully Commercial Nuclear Power Plant Opened - 1956, Hatfield Rail Crash - 2000
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages