It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Three Crowns, Brinkworth

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Mr. Roundabout on 6th March, 2010

Add your review
Never again - third and last visit. If you want to wait an hour an an half from ordering to be seated with not even the occasional update then go along. Previous experience of the food was o.k. but not worth the money.

Date visited: 6th March 2010

Review by Nick Colbourne on 18th January, 2009

Add your review
As a family & with close friends we have been customers for many many years. Due to the cost of meals we only manage to visit for special occasions. My Daughter treated my wife & I this week & it was good that you can now book in advance. My daughter had the duck, my wife the liver & I had the chicken supreme. As usual the food was excellent & of the high standard we have begun to expect. The service was slow as the waitress was over stretched so we had some long waits but no problem as we were not especially in a hurry. The one general problem that affected all of us that we have never had before was severe dehydration (& no we hadn't drunk any alchohol!) We started to feel very thirsty when we got home & commented that there must've been a lot of salt in the food like when you've had a Chinese take-away! But this was far worse than any Chinese we've ever had - we all had 2 full mugs of water before bed took 2 full mugs of water up to bed. On waking up every hour from midnight onwards we were so parched we consumed both mugs of water easily & I had to go downstairs to replenish fresh water before the night was out. My wife & I were lucky to be at home for the next day but felt completely washed out & dissappointed as it was entirely due to the food we'd all eaten at the Three Crowns the night before! Please can you consider carefully the amount of salt added to your meals as this surely must've been excessive. Also I have high blood pressure & should keep to a low salt diet does this mean I should stop coming to the Three Crowns for the sake of my unhealthy heart? Yours very sincerely but dissappointed

Date visited: Weds 14.1.09

Review by Neil on 22nd July, 2008

Add your review
i've been going the the 3 crowns since 1999. it is by far and away the best pub in the west country and serves the best food in the swindon area. dont be fooled - it is not a restaurant - you cant book a table, there are no printed menu's and there are no starters/appitisers. The menu is on a blackboard - but what a menu it is! the steaks are divine, the duck is amazing and each and every single dish is bursting with flavour. i would thoroughly recommend this place to anyone is a fan of great pub food. worth every penny.

Date visited: since 1999

Review by Julia Hume on 17th January, 2008

Add your review
I have been going to this restaurant/public house to eat occasionally since approximately 1990. Once I tried the food I found that nowhere else in our area compared. Yes the food is a little expensive but it is cooked to perfection and always delicious. I am afraid that I have become addicted to steak rossini and usually choose this dish each time I visit the Three Crowns. I visit this restaurant around 2-3 times a year now that my children have grown up and we have a little extra money in our pockets and always look forward to going. I am local to this area, having grown up in Wootton Bassett and, as a teenager once went to the Three Crowns only to find that it was a typical country pub, frequented by two old gentlemen sat in one corner smoking their pipes. Things have changed since the present owner took over, for the better. My daughter worked at The Three Crowns as a waitress for a while and was working one evening when Richard & Judy came in for something to eat. The only bad experience I have had with regards to The Crown is one Christmas Eve we ordered dinner for all five of us and we ended up one meal short. The waitress at the time wasn't in a very good mood and huffed and puffed when we told her of the kitchen's error. However, we were compensated with free drinks (and boy did we take advantage, we all had shorts or wine), no doubt the owner can afford it! Anyway I am taking my mother to The Crown this Saturday evening for a meal to celebrate her 79th birthday. See you all there.

Date visited: regularly since 1990

Review by Chris Stedham on 3rd November, 2007

Add your review
Excellent. We have been to this establishment several times over the last 9 months and have not been disappointed yet. The food is always well presented and delicious. Excellent service and well kept beers. Although a little expensive, worth visiting again and again.

Date visited: 29 Oct 2007

Review by Robert on 31st August, 2006

Add your review
I did not feel that I had value for money. The peice of Fillet Steak I was presented with was not worth 22.95 and when I queried this I was given a lesson on Steak.......Thanks but no thanks. The sauce was very good however the veg was boiled slop.... not very good at all. Poor show.....Don't go!

Date visited: 30th Aug 06

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Papa, potatoes, poultry, prunes and prism, are all very good words for the lips. - Charles Dickens
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Ashingdon - 1016, Chewing Gum first goes on sale - 1911, BBC Formed - 1922, First Brit Awards - 1977
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages