Villa Holiday Homes with a pool
National Trust

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

December 2014: A West Country Christmas – Dorset in December

Thomas Hardy’s celebration of Christmas in Dorset in his early novel Under the Greenwood Tree is perhaps second only to A Christmas Carol (a version ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Finmere Sunday Market, Finmere

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Donna Bowman on 20th July, 2014

Add your review
Drove 45 mins to get there and it wasn't even open I checked on the website the night before and didn't say anything about it being shut. What a waste of time and petrol.

Date visited: 20/7/2014

Review by Dace on 18th May, 2014

Add your review
Unbelievable. All the signs are still on. Just went there and it's just an empty field. Wish I would of read these reviews earlier.

Date visited: 18/05/14

Review by Susan on 15th December, 2013

Add your review
DROVE FOR OVER AN HOUR NOT EVEN OPEN ,Up date you websit .What a wast of time.

Date visited: 15/12/13

Review by Chantalle on 1st September, 2013

Add your review
Drove out to finmere today and even though the road sign says 'Sunday market' there was nothing there when we turned in. Only a sign saying car boot on a Saturday! What a major frustration and disappointment.

Date visited: 01/09/13

Review by Anita on 23rd June, 2013

Add your review
I was very disappointed that I drove to finmere market today and there was nothing there what a waste of fuel and time whots going on.

Date visited: 23/06/13

Review by Colin on 5th May, 2013

Add your review
Finmere market is still being advertised online as being open each Sunday from 8am to 2pm. As it's been over 10 years since my last visit and a lovely sunny day, my friend and I drove over 50 miles and followed the signs to "Sunday Market" only to find absolutely nothing there!! What a complete waste of a day and petrol. Not impressesd!!! If there's no market here any more (and judging by previous comments it's been slowly dwindling over the past few years) then it should say on the website. There wasn't even a notice on the gates to say it's no longer there, just advertisements for a weekly car boot sale on a Saturday and Bank Holiday Monday!

Date visited: 5th May 2013

Review by Graham on 15th July, 2012

Add your review
I wish that I had seen these reviews before going. Today I saw even less there than the previous comment. 1 fruit/veg stall, 1 clothes stall, 1 hardware stall and that was it - naturally accompanied by a burger van and an ice cream van and that was it - total!!! The once busy car park was virtually empty and anybody that I saw that drive in (like us) did not even get out of our cars before driving straight out again. It was so empty we actually drove our car between what was there rather than in the official parking area (did not see one marshall either). What market traders are left must surely be scratching their heads and must be thinking it is well past time to move on. It was the sunniest Sunday in weeks too - this was just plain embarrassing and must be only a matter of short while longer before it finally and sadly dies.

Date visited: 15.07.12

Review by Graham on 15th July, 2012

Add your review
I have a website (this is not meant as a plug) and I made a page just to show the pics that i took today at Finmere so anybody reading this can actually see for themselves what I find myself. www.talkingsoccer.org/finmere-market.html

Date visited: 15.07.12

Review by Nicholas Windows on 3rd July, 2012

Add your review
Looked at pictures of Finmere Market on computer. Looked very busy, nice display of flowers and plants, many many stalls. Drove for 1.5 hours to get there to find 6 stalls and 4 cars visiting. Drove away at once. The web information is miss-representative (lying) and should be removed. The pictures we saw made us think it was like it was 25 to 30 years ago, with thousands of people every Sunday, it is NOT---- DON'T BOTHER TO GO.

Date visited: 01/07/2012

Review by Paul on 28th November, 2011

Add your review
15 Stalls, we got there yesterday and only 6 stalls, never got out of the car just drove in the carpark and out the other side, total waste. Will try Bovingdon next Saturday.

Date visited: 27/11/2011

Review by Karen on 23rd October, 2011

Add your review
We used to visit the Market years ago. We looked at a website yesterday and it said there were over 100 stalls, we travelled a great distance. What a waste for flaming time there was about 15 stalls nothing to what is showing on the main website. We are totally disgusted with the false advertising.

Date visited: 23/10/11

Review by John Charles on 28th March, 2011

Add your review
The much-advertised re-opening of this once thriving Sunday market was at the back end of March 2011. 100 plus stalls were promised. There were about 15. There was a good plant outlet stall --otherwise don't bother.

Date visited: 27 March 2011

Review by graham on 27th March, 2011

Add your review
what a shame not the market it used to be hope it will get better soon or will it close for ever ?

Date visited: 27 03 11

Review by elbow on 14th November, 2010

Add your review
Do not waste your time going to this market it took me all of 5 minutes to get round the whole site. Hardly any stalls and the ones that are there sell utter rubbish. There was about 6 carboot stalls. What a shame this used to be brillant. Very dissapointing. :-(

Date visited: 14/11/10

Review by Michael Barton on 27th September, 2010

Add your review
Sadly not worth visiting. Very few stalls and the ones that are there sell low quality rubbish. Can't see it going on for much longer.

Date visited: 27th September 2010

Review by Martin Forster on 15th August, 2010

Add your review
Not worth the effort - there are not many stalls and they mostly sell tat!

Date visited: 15/08/10

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
I used to think anyone doing anything weird was weird. Now I know that it is the people that call others weird that are weird - Paul McCartney
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Radcot Bridge - 1387, Ivanhoe Published - 1819, Piltdown Man Discovered - 1912, Death penalty abolished - 1969, Queen Becomes Oldest British Monarch - 2007
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages