National Trust

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2014: Regency Brighton and Hove

The plurally-named City of Brighton and Hove rather fittingly is a holidays – plural - destination. It’s modern, historic, cultural, sporting, happening, a seaside resort ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Sun Inn, Dunsfold

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Martin cook on 22nd December, 2011

Add your review
Good pub friendly people made me very welcome from the painter lol.

Date visited: 22/12/11

Review by Bill Springer on 21st September, 2009

Add your review
Tommy Atkins was the Sun's landlord in the '70s, along with wife Nessa and two daughters Alison and Rosie. It was much the local pub. I met Hugh Moore, Gary Brooker and others there. Good food, very comfortable and pleasant. I knew the Atkins family when they operated the Kings Arms in Westerham in the late '60s. –Bill Springer, U.S.A.

Date visited: 1970s

Review by Ben Woodward on 5th June, 2007

Add your review
In response to the review for July 2006. I have lived in Dunsfold for 19 years. I have always know the Sun to have a wonderful atmosphere, I would definitly consider it the 'Village Local'. As for the food, its good, solid traditional grub that you would expect from such traditional country pub. You called trading standards...? But I take it nothing happened, it was crab after all. It sounds like you needed to have a bit of a rant at the time and didn't take into account the damage you may do to a family business. I hope that anyone reading this will make their own mind up and come to love the Sun as I have.

Review by John Moorhouse on 31st July, 2006

Add your review
A pint and a Sunday snack at The Sun Inn on Dunsfold Common, in glorious sunshine. Luverly jubberly - but not! My daughter and I ordered the Crab and Avocado Salad at £5.95. The avocado was served at fridge temperature and was filled wiith something that smelled very fishy, but which neither looked like, nor had the texture of, nor tasted like crab. In fact it was very unpleasant. I took it back into the bar, spoke to the barman, told him that I was not after any money back (I had eaten the avocado) but that in my view, the crab was not crab. When he asked what he could do, I suggested that he might tell the landlord, who was standing within earshot throughout our exchange. I said that I was sure that he had already overheard our conversation anyway, and that if he felt so inclined, he might like to come join us outside for a word. He did not. My daughter had eaten her avocado but could not eat her 'crab', so I wrapped it up in a napkin, took it home, transferred it into a freeezer bag, and popped it in the deep freeze. This morning (Monday) I called the local trading standards office. I lived in Dunsfold for a number of years in the eighties and this pub never really was "the village local". I live now in a neighbouring village and only went back to The Sun to meet up with another ex-Dunsfold family. We shall not be going back.

Date visited: 30th July 2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
A gentleman is one who never hurts anyone's feelings unintentionally - Oscar Wilde
More Quotes

On this day:
Law passed allowing Jews to serve in parliament - 1858, Great Reform Demo - 1866, Prince Andrew marries Sarah Ferguson - 1986
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages