National Trust

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2014: Regency Brighton and Hove

The plurally-named City of Brighton and Hove rather fittingly is a holidays Ė plural - destination. Itís modern, historic, cultural, sporting, happening, a seaside resort ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Mainwaring Arms, Whitmore

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Keith & Marion Watterson on 31st March, 2012

Add your review
We were staying at B&B nearby and the local pub was suggested as a good traditional counrty pub. We were not dissapointed either, we booked in advance & just as well as very busy place. Service was quick with a smile, good choice of ales & drink, brilliant menu and such tasty generous portions with usual pub pricing. Large car park opposite too. We will be back & tell or friends not to miss it.

Date visited: 31/03/2012

Review by Melanie Mills on 15th December, 2011

Add your review
Just right for chatting and putting the world to rights on a cold winter's afternoon. The atmosphere complemented by excellent food and drink menu. Delicious food, to 'die for' Christmas Ginger Trifle :-) I could have stayed there all day

Date visited: 30/11/11

Review by Debby Tomkinson on 18th October, 2011

Add your review
This pub now under new management for the last 3 months, they have a great chief, the food is very good indeed , well priced and ample portion size. Plenty of good food and good beers and wines, lovely atmosphere friendly and warm. Now the winter is arriving the lovely log and coal fires are a bonus x

Date visited: 17th October 2011

Review by jennifer rainsford on 27th July, 2011

Add your review
This pub has apparently just come under new management and they have made some fantastic chnages the beer is still very very good and the food now miles better. Proper home cooked food at a reasonable price. I cant recommend this highly enough and shall happliy become a frequent visitor.

Date visited: 26/07/2011

Review by Jane Jones on 30th January, 2011

Add your review
Can't understand the good reviews. We had the only item that was for vegetarians on the menu and it was tasteless. For £30 we didn't expect too much but we had to have another meal elsewhere because the helpings were so small. We had Tai curry, which comprised some carrots, peas and rice in a watery slop with some curry powder on top. One of the worst meals we have ever had.

Date visited: 29.1.2011

Review by Andrew Cazaly on 31st December, 2010

Add your review
We came across this pub having decided not to join the M6 Northbound following an accident one Sunday lunchtime. If you like old school pubs with a good menu and real beer then drop in and check it out. The food is of good quality (I had game pie the first time and cottage pie the second) and is always served within good time no matter how busy they are. The atmosphere is good too. Something that you don't really get in modern designer pubs and bars. If we lived nearby it would be our choice for a local Large car park and outside seating available

Date visited: 29/12/2010

Review by Richard on 1st December, 2009

Add your review
We found this pub by accident 18 months ago when our daughter started at Keele Uni. We have visited regularly ever since. Old world charm, open wood fires and the smell of wood smoke, excellent food in generous portions and real ale. I have read derogatory comments on the pub and can not find them justified although we have only visited at a weekend. During the last visit they were having the kitchen refurbished and still managed to provide a good but limited food selection. We have recommended this pub to our friends who's son has just started at the Uni.

Date visited: 29/11/09

Review by H on 18th October, 2009

Add your review
There is a new manager! Who is actually good. The food is good! The regulars are coming back! I love this pub.

Date visited: 18th oct 09

Review by Sidney on 24th July, 2009

Add your review
The pub has gone to the dogs, the landlord and owners have acted in a terrible manner with shocking conduct to turn a spectactular pub for eating and drinking into a place not to go. All regulars have gone elsewhere and hardly anybody eats there following the dreadful kicking out of the beloved James (previous tennant)

Date visited: 22 july

Review by JJ on 17th July, 2009

Add your review
This was the best pub in the area when James ran it, then the landlord (fool) put the rents up beyond belief and hence James had to go.....the new Manager has filled the bar with bimbos who dont even know what a pint is! the food is dreadful and the whole atmosphere has died.......poor regulars...come back James!!!! Quick

Date visited: lots

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Ability is sexless - Christabel Pankhurst
More Quotes

On this day:
First Formal Sculling Race - 1715, Rule Britannia First Performed - 1740, Priestley Discovers Oxygen - 1774, Battle of the Nile - 1798, Regentís Canal Opens - 1820, Britain abolishes slavery - 1834, First Bank Holiday - 1871, First Mars Bar Made - 1932
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages