National Trust

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2014: Regency Brighton and Hove

The plurally-named City of Brighton and Hove rather fittingly is a holidays plural - destination. Its modern, historic, cultural, sporting, happening, a seaside resort ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Dog Inn & Davenport Arms, Worfield

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Mrs Thomas on 16th September, 2012

Add your review
Staying at a local hotel and not wanting to eat there we walked to nearby Worfield and came across The Dog Inn. What a lovely experience, the welcome as soon as we walked in was wonderful from both locals and staff. There were 4 in our party and we eat there. Food was homemade and freshly cooked. Portions were huge and tasted lovely. The staff went out of their way to make sure everything was ok for us and on the second night even remembered what we were drinking. We wished we could bring this pub, staff and even locals back home with us. we do not have a local like it at home. Well worth a visit if you are passing. Thank you to 'The Dog Inn'

Date visited: 11th Sept 12

Review by Ms Caroline D on 22nd June, 2012

Add your review
We are localish to the area and thought we would pop in as we were enroute to another engagement. Wish we hadn't. Certainly not the pub it was a couple years back. Traditional pub, yes. Atmosphere, bland. Service, nothing special. Having read the reveiws regarding the barman and quality of food, nothing special to report although he is quite loud and disruptive and clearly does not have the etiquite for people facing business. Much better local pubs in the area and take note of the negative comments as opposed to the defensive comments as the negative comments do have a high level o truth.

Date visited: 15/0712

Review by Nikki green on 28th October, 2011

Add your review
The food is excellent, beautiful home cooking and the staff make you feel like a local. I would recommend that anyone passing this way should pop in for a pint and the smell will entice you to more.

Date visited: Weekly

Review by Mark Carter on 7th October, 2011

Add your review
Having visited The Dog Inn, Worfield, I cannot fathom out why other visitors have had a less than enjoyable experience, This pub is everything that is lacking in today's 'plastic' licensed premises, Friendly outgoing staff, fantastic atmosphere, comfortable surroundings, a good range of very well kept beers and especially good food. A proper country pub, very well worth a visit.

Date visited: 7/10/2010

Review by Chris on 22nd April, 2011

Add your review
Well i thought i would put my pennies worth in. Lovely setting, fantastic village, prestine pub.... You guessed it THE BARMAN $*&%@~~ the language was like a burst drain.....none stop... we ate and yes the food was ok, your average pub food nothing great but nothing bad. if they got a new cook in and got rid of the barman A1 excellent.

Date visited: 21/04/2011

Review by The Hamar Family on 8th April, 2011

Add your review
We have been to the pub several times now, and it is one of our favourite places. The food is very definitely home-made, unlike the comment made by another reviewer: it is for this reason that, in very busy periods, some items are off the menu. You can always avoid disappointment by asking if there's anything they have run out of, before you start perusing the menu and before you get your mouth ready for a particular dish! Between us we've sampled pretty much everything on the menu and it is all good, but in particular, the steak-and-ale pie and the fish and chips are both fantastic, and generously proportioned. The ice-cream sundaes are also pretty fabulous. The pub is run by, and frequented by, real people with real characters, not staffed by corporate clones. If you are in the area travelling or out for a day's walking, don't be put off by other reviews, give it a go. But bear in mind that in busy periods, you may have to wait for food, as it is prepared freshly to order, not just bunged in a microwave. One final point in favour of The Dog: dogs are genuinely welcome, which makes it very convenient if you're out on a walk with your furry friends. In summary: excellent food, ambience, and atmosphere. We will be going there again.

Date visited: 7 April 2011

Review by Tom Jordon on 1st March, 2011

Add your review
We went to the Dog for a meal being a family of four. Were is the fresh food ! most items were of the menu,and what we were served was not home cooked fair, but mainly brake Bros offerings.

Date visited: 26/01/2011

Review by Mr & Mrs Delaney on 6th December, 2010

Add your review
Nice quaint village pub on the outskirts of Bridgnorth and Wolverhampton. Reasonable home cooked pub food, prices a little high and service is not the best. Quite noisy at times but a nice jovial atmosphere, drinks are not cheap and the bar service and manners are very poor. Not a place I would visit again with my partner or friends to spend above average due to poor service. However, this can be forgiven as the food was nice.

Date visited: November 2010

Review by Charlotte H on 4th June, 2010

Add your review
I totally agree with the review by Ms Brooklyn. Beautiful location, nice surroundings and a tasteful menu. Nice friendly atmosphere and a decent beer garden together with ample parking facilities. Questionable prices but worth it for the food choice and taste. Completely ruined by a very rude, loud and ill mannered barman who seems to be very immature and lacks customer service skills. Seemed to concentrate more on the regulars than the rest of the customers. Not a quiet little village pub as you would expect. If you can put up with the foul language from the barman and like fairly reasonable pub grub. Go for it. I personally would recommend spending your hard earned cash elsewhere.

Date visited: 30-05-10

Review by Ms L A Brooklyn on 24th May, 2010

Add your review
My family & I visited this pub on a glorious sunny Sunday having attended a wedding nearby. Nice quaint little pub in a beautiful little village with nice surroundings, good car parking and a nice beer garden. Locals were friendly and welcoming upon entering spoilt only by the not so welcoming abrupt barman. The menu boasted some wonderful home cooked foods, most of which was not available. Price are not the cheapest but reasonable. We ordered some chips and salads which were ok, overcooked but edible. The pub and service is ruined by a loud, foul mouthed barman who really should not be working behind a bar and/or needs a lesson in customer management & communication and is liability in this village pub. We did notice and talk quietly to other customers too were finding this individual very loud & rude. Ok if you can tolerate someone who is 10feet away and constantly talking over you. Our food was late which surprised us as the pub wasn't full. Value for money?....As a customer you pay for a service...right? We wouldn't spend our money there again.

Date visited: 23-05-10

Review by D Morell on 31st March, 2010

Add your review
This used to be a very nicerestaurant but has recently changed hands now offering more traditional pub fare. We were there to celebrate a 30th birthday on a sat night. We ordered 5 fillet steaks (reasonably priced), I ordered mine rare and the partner ordered it medium rare. When they came they were all undercooked (not that I mind!)but the g/f has a thing about too much blood in steak so asked for it to go back on the girill for a few minutes, no big deal you would of thought? Apparently it was! They took the steak back and served it back 30 minutes later-this time cooked medium rare. The owner then said "Just so you know the steaks were all cooked to order!"- I was shocked, how rude. What happened to the customer always being right. On this basis I would not visit again although the food was tasty, a very bad attiitude to customers.

Date visited: 26/02/2010

Review by Wayne Davies on 22nd November, 2009

Add your review
As a local to this pub and looking for something completely unrelated I stumbled across the reviews listed here. I am surprised at the level of half truths written by the disgruntled rambler. I remember this incident being discussed in the pub, and I think the problems arose because the rambler in question quite clearly said that all 16 of them would be ordering "snacks" the mistake if there was one was not holding them to it but instead making an attempt to accomodate. For people who do not know the pub and just reading that would be completely and utterly mis-lead. As another reveiwer says try before you judge. Sounds like someone trying it on to me.

Date visited: 23/11/2009

Review by nicola on 10th January, 2009

Add your review
Me and my partner have visited The Dog twice this week, we have been looking for a nice traditional pub since moving into the area recently. Most are fancy pubs with fancy prices! We had a three course meal each with three drinks each for under 40! The food was lovely, there were a couple of things off the menu, but as everything is cooked fresh and homemade, it shows how good the food is if its sold out!! The soup was out, but we went at 8 on a wednesday night, and a new one was been made for the next day fresh! The meal portions were good, the Steak and Ale Pie was HUGE and very good!! And as for the chocolate cake mmm! Well worth a visit for some good pub grub.

Date visited: 10/01/2009

Review by clive power on 31st December, 2008

Add your review
Have made many visits to this pub, in groups of 2-20 and have always been very pleased with the service. I have also seen times when the landlord should be loud and shout at a customer, but never has he done so. The son is more likely to and i have never seen him get heated either. As for the steak and ale pie, from my understanding and experience in these meals, are always top notch. As for not paying the full amount becuase the lid was missing, well, 20p of the cost?? bit petty if you ask me. It is hard for a small village to carry lots of everything on the menu. All i can say is from myself and the many i have taken to this place, we love the service, food and especialy the ale. Try yourself before you judge.

Date visited: 27th dec 08

Review by John Cockcroft on 10th August, 2006

Add your review
We are a group of ramblers all retired ex army officers, headmaster, senior civil servant, senior local government, company directors, etc and their wives. We have organised walks over many years in all parts of Shropshire and always received a great welcome and excellent post ramble lunch from the pub we chose to visit. Following our regular practice we visited this pub a few weeks before to announce our wish to lunch there and was told this OK. Some we visit ask us to pre-choose our meals and we asked if the Dog would want us to do this. No need we were told. Two days before I rang to say our party would be 18 and was again told we need not pre-choose. In the event several dishes were deleted from the menu leaving a limited choice. After we chose the waitress arrived to say that a number of the orders could not be filled as they had run out. Alternatives were chosen - most being pushed reluctantly towards steak and ale pie. Soon she was back - the pastry had run out so some pies would be topless. Meals began to filter through, two at a time with intervals of at least 5 minutes between. Many had finished their meals before the last so called pies appeared about 45 minutes later. The final plates were no more than a thick gravy and chips with a teaspoonful of peas (carrots were now also off). There was no discernible meat pieces on these plates. As it was clear by now that there was no prospect of anything else and folks were hungry the meals were reluctantly eaten. Naturally when we asked for the bill we suggested that we should not be paying the advertised price for these incomplete meals. The landlord became extremely abusive, refused to acknowledge in any way that anything was wrong, shouted loudly at us when we attempted to argue reasonably. His wife arrived and demanded to know how we had the temerity to come into the pub and demand 16 lunches!. From local enquiries we discovered that these licensees have only been at the pub for the last month or so. Clearly any good reviews relate to a previous occupancy. Our clear recommendation at present is "Give the Dog a wide berth". John Cockcroft

Date visited: 9 Aug 06

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Dangerous foreigners begin at Calais and dont stop until you get to Bombay where they play cricket and speak English - Clement Attlee
More Quotes

On this day:
Relief of Derry No Surrender - 1689, Start of World War I - 1914, The Battle of London Airport - 1948, Postcodes Introduced - 1959, The Birmingham Tornado - 2005, Provisional IRA formally ceases Violence - 2005
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages