Villa Holiday Homes with a pool
National Trust

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

December 2014: A West Country Christmas – Dorset in December

Thomas Hardy’s celebration of Christmas in Dorset in his early novel Under the Greenwood Tree is perhaps second only to A Christmas Carol (a version ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Stags Head, Swalcliffe

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Fiona & David on 16th January, 2013

Add your review
We had a wonderful time touring the Cotswolds and stumbled across this lovely pub. After a fabulous meal, we decided to spend the night. So sad that on our return at Christmas the pub is closed. Hope you re-open soon. Thankyou again to Helena, Cheel and Malcom.

Date visited: 15/08/2012

Review by sid on 27th May, 2012

Add your review
excellent place for fantastic food and service,very friendly staff and locals who use it. i would recommend this to all

Date visited: 25-5.2012

Review by Phillip Roberts on 22nd December, 2009

Add your review
Absolutely fantastic pub, owners and staff have done a wonderfull job. The menu is extremely varied and of restaurant quality with so much care taken in every dish. Go for the rib eye steaks which are the best i have eaten! Check it out for yourself, you wont be dissapointed.

Date visited: dec 09

Review by David Beckham on 29th November, 2009

Add your review
EXCELLENT. i had a nice time.

Date visited: 29/11/09

Review by Peter on 11th October, 2009

Add your review
We were passing and dropped in just for a cup of coffee just before midday today (Sunday). The coffee was excellent and we got the same friendly and attentive service as you'd hope to get if you were having a three course meal - despite the fact that the landlord and his team were busy getting ready for the lunchtime rush. Although recently refurbished, it still has a pubby feel, while also being civilised and up-market, with a daily paper and spotless loos. The menu looked excellent and judging from the number of reserved tables when we called it seems to be building up a reputation. I will certainly go back for a meal in the near future.

Date visited: 11 October 2009

Review by Sarah on 23rd September, 2009

Add your review
This pub has been taken over in the last year. What a transformation. it has gone from a dull dirty pub to a stunning homely beautiful pub. The food is fabulous and of restaurant standard and the staff are wonderful and friendly. Even the gardens are beautiful. Well worth a visit. Well done

Date visited: 2009

Review by David McLindon on 23rd March, 2009

Add your review
What a fantastic Pub! This pub has been perfectly renovated over the past few month. Fabulous atmosphere with great local and guest beers. The food was wonderful and presented with a smile. I would recommend this place to anyone. I am going back this weekend for a Sunday Lunch.

Date visited: 12.03.09

Review by MRS LISA SALMON on 26th October, 2006

Add your review
I used to use this pub for entertaining quite often before i had my child two years ago. i'm a local and heard it had been taken over so I thought i would take a friend there for lunch as it used to be a nice cosy english pub with luxurious food.Unfortunately i can no longer say the same thing. It was cold and unwelcoming and had a distinct smell of a greasy spoon. the food wasn't anymore appetising. the menu was short and limited and my veggie friend had a limited choice of 1 starter and 1 sandwhich creation. the prices were extremely overpriced for the food received on the plate. the same meal can be produced at an eighth of the price at a nice corner cafe. i hope that this picks up or a lovely local pub has been ruined!!!

Date visited: 25-10-06

Review by david on 1st March, 2006

Add your review
This is a wonderful spot, a beautiful old thatched pub, with a good atmosphere and a log fire in winter. Good beer and, importantly, great food served in healthy portions. The blue cheese and parma ham burger is something special.

Date visited: dec 2005

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Never trust a man, who when left alone with a tea cosey... Doesn't try it on. - Billy Connolly
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Radcot Bridge - 1387, Ivanhoe Published - 1819, Piltdown Man Discovered - 1912, Death penalty abolished - 1969, Queen Becomes Oldest British Monarch - 2007
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages