It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

June 2019: The Resorts of North Devon

Devon is the only county in England with two separate coasts, north and south. It is the latter that is perhaps better known and more ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Rose and Crown, Selling

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by timothy cavedish on 28th February, 2011

Add your review
Lovely location,but not the pub I remember a few years ago,use to be really buzzing,food poor,beer warm and no ambience ie no roaring log fires,dont bother to coming to this pub, you will be sadly disappointed as we were.

Date visited: 26th feb 2011

Review by david adams on 6th August, 2010

Add your review
What a disappointment this pub was,looks very run down and untidy as when i came to the pub a few years back it was truly beautiful,food uninteresting and where is the Goachers beer?, wouldnt bother making the effort to find this pub again,they need to get their act together.

Date visited: July 2010

Review by mike Pearce on 9th August, 2009

Add your review
Most weeks I make a 15-mile round trip to visit this lovely pub, because it is always welcoming, the gardens are delightful and the surrounding countryside is magnificent. I consider the unpretentious food to be good value. Your correspondent who complains she skidded on gravel in the car park should direct her criticism at her driving instructor, not the pub.

Date visited: 8/8/09

Review by susan gregor on 19th July, 2009

Add your review
I have been going to this pub also for some time but have noticed that he has gone down hill dramatically over the last couple of years,the food is all pre-cooked and reheated and overpriced to say the least.The outside of the pub and the gardens are unkempt and need serious attention as they claim that it is an awarding winning pub garden(must of been before these new owners). The car park is also in need of some kind of repair as I skidded on the gravel and almost hit someone walking towards their car,I cannot think of a good think to say about the pub, only to say look at other local pubs near by who have good food,beer and a friendly atmosphere

Date visited: 19/07/2009

Review by Jim Haskell on 24th March, 2008

Add your review
I have been using the Rose & Crown, at Perry Woods, Selling, near to Faversham for the past ten years, and more so recently, since the new owners Tim & Vanessa have taken over. It sounds like the previous reviewer, Ms Conroy had a bad day, as it is nothing like the pub I know. The pub is surrounded by beautiful woodland, that is great to walk around prior to going into the pub. Once you enter, there is a great traditional feeling about the place with dark wood furniture, low beams, and an open fire. As my wife says "It feels warm and cosy." We now use it as our local, and we live eight miles away. The choice of food I have all ways found to be excellent, and it must be from the number of people that eat there, well prepared, and tasty, and what I would say is good value for money. I have all ways found it best to book in advance, as it can get quite busy at weekends - what does that say about the pub and its food and service. If it was rubbish as Ms Conroy suggested, that would not be the case. They also do a range of bar snacks, I find a "Handfull" is best. There is a good range of beers, which I wish I could drink but I have to drive, so I am pleased that they now stock Becks non-alcoholic, which I found to be the best of the non-alcoholic drinks with a dash of lemonade. Now that spring is just around the corner, it is a good time to visit, with the blue bells about to come into flower. Also visit the pulpit, a raised platform in the woods that gives a great view of the Downs near to Chilham. I felt I had to write this review as the only other review was by Ms Conroy, who obviously visited on a bad day, and it does the pub a great in justice. Mine might sound like a bit of an advert, but I just feel that a wrong had to be righted, as the Rose & Crown has just got better and better, under the ownership of Tim & Vanessa. I hope to see you there. As far as I am concerned, the Rose & Crown is one of the best pubs in the County.

Date visited: 23 March 2008

Review by Ms Conroy on 14th January, 2007

Add your review
I have been going to this delightful pub for a number of years. However, on my visit today, the service was atrocious, the menu was limited to 6 dishes with only one roast dinner (it was a sunday) that was sold out. The food was mediocre and overpriced and we had to ask for it to be served. I then found out the pub had changed hands in Feb 06 - what a pity. Avoid at all costs - it's not what it was.

Date visited: 14/01/07

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Life is a tragedy when seen in close-up, but a comedy in long-shot. - Charlie Chaplin
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Bannockburn - 1314, Battle of Sluys - 1340, First Recorded Tynwald Day - 1417, Punch Invents the Cartoon - 1843, Mersey Tunnel Opens - 1971, The Humber Bridge Opens to Traffic - 1981
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages