It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

May 2019: The North Cornwall Coast

For those who have decided for whatever reason – green conscience, the dreaded credit crunch, or maybe simple curiosity – to holiday in Britain this ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Swan Inn, Chappel

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Val Ashby on 20th November, 2014

Add your review
I visit this pub from time as it is a convenient meeting place for family from round about the area. This used to be a FANTASTIC restaurant and pub. Apart from the fresh flowers, clean toilets and welcoming atmosphere it used to serve GREAT FOOD which tasted as if the ingredients had been bought fresh and home cooked. Today I had swordfish with a sauce and chips from the specials menu. The fish tasted metallic with a rubbery hard texture, the sauce most resembled reheated ratatouille from the freezer, the chips oven cooked. My brother had a pizza which sounded good on the menu. It was a basic pizza which had cold olives and chopped spinach added after being heated and a hollondaise sauce (bright yellow) poured around the central egg. Please ask the chef to invite an Italian chef to try this just for a laugh. I would be ashamed to serve this food to paying clientele and I'm sad to say that it finally kills my good memories of what the place used to be like.

Date visited: 20 November 2014

Review by Mrs Holland on 31st March, 2013

Add your review
I have visited the swan for many a roast dinner and have been very pleased with the food and the service! I decided to go today and as I walked in the atmosphere was totally different than before and the pub very quiet ! I at that point did not realise it had changed hands ! I sat down for our usual roast dinner after some time of ordering our drinks at the bar ! The bar staff and landlord very uninterested eventually sorted out the order we took our seats ready for the meal ! When the meal came it looked ok at first glance but then I tried to cut into a very burnt roast potatoe , followed by a very dried out Yorkshire pudding and then very tough tasteless beef ! I was so disappointed ! The prices the same as before but the service and food awful will not return again !!

Date visited: 31/03/13

Review by Mr and Mrs Smith on 18th May, 2012

Add your review
This is our second visit to the Swan Inn. We returned for another visit as the first time the food was OK but the service was very slow and we thought it might just be an 'off day'and we would give it another try! However, it was even worse today. The service was extremely slow and the food would have been good if it hadn't been almost cold. We also felt that some of the prices were high. We waited so long for our meal that we decided not to wait for coffee and went to the bar to pay the bill. As the boy behind the bar seemed to be on his own, this then took over 15 minutes. We wont be going back.

Date visited: 18 May 2012

Review by Denise Edens on 9th January, 2011

Add your review
We went to The Swan for a family birthday lunch and were made to feel very welcome. We were given a choice of rooms to sit in and were well looked after with drinks and great customer attention from David who seems to be a very professional front of house manager. The three young kids in our group were well provided for with games in one room leaving some of the adults to chat at the main table in another room. The kids' lunch came first which is always a winner. The food was tasty and well portioned and the desserts were beautifully presented. I don't normally take the time to give feedback but this pub is worth it as we had an outstanding experience with regard to service and food. Plus there's a kid's playground just next door which Millie aged 3 exclaimed was 'Fantaaaaastic!' with a huge smile on her face. Thanks for a great birthday meal!

Date visited: 9 January 2011

Review by A very happy customer on 1st September, 2010

Add your review
Again David and his team were so welcoming. This weekend, (bank holiday) The first ever chappel beer festival was held and organised by David and Laura, his ever reliable assistant, which was first class with an excellent selection of regional ales. We ate again for the 3rd time that month and as always the food was sublime. The shoulder of lamb and slow roasted belly pork are our favourite dishes, but we can never resist a cheeky steak and Adnams ale pie on the odd occasion. We had to visit again on Sunday night after David convinced us to return for a night of more beer and laughter. The entertainment from a local vocalist was the best I've ever seen. Never have I witnessed so many people of all ages dancing and singing along in a quaint country pub. Keep up the good work David you are a saviour in our community. This pub is by far the best pub in Essex and believe me I tried a few!! . David has transformed this beautiful pub into a welcoming, first class eatery and above all local ale house.

Date visited: 29 august 2010

Review by Jane Puncher on 1st June, 2010

Add your review
Staff weren't particular about taking our order and worse when we sent food back with a complaint neither the Manager or the chef bothered to come and see us!! Had to teach my meat to swim, broccoli was yellow, veg cold and having sent back my chocolate pear tart because it was stale and having it replaced with an equally stale one I was overcharged. Definately on my black list of places never to visit again. :(

Date visited: 29-05-10

Review by Zena Briggs on 28th April, 2010

Add your review
We visited The Swan without any great expectations after reading the reviews but couldn't fault it. The staff were so welcoming and friendly and the food was excellent. We would thoroughly recommend it.

Date visited: 28th April 2010

Review by Tont Fowler on 6th April, 2010

Add your review
What a difference a new manager & a committed team of staff can make. The Swan has improved so much since February when Dave took over. The food menu has changed and guest beers are now common. Laura has really done well over the past couple of years having had 2 or 3 managers to contend with. Easter weekend was the busiest I have seen the pub for ages, so much so that all the tables were full every lunchtime. Locals are now returning which is another vote of confidence in the new manager & his team.

Date visited: 05/04/2010

Review by J Bailey on 14th January, 2010

Add your review
I have known and visited the Swan over several years with members of my family. I have become progressively disheartened at the decline in the pub's fortunes from bustling pub/eaterie serving really good fish and chips to a pub that struggles to fill a couple of tables on a Saturday night. The gastro-pub theme is a mistake. The horrible chalk board menus above the beautiful fireplace spoil its appearance. The prices are higher than London pub prices. The staff are unwelcoming: on one occasion they hogged the best table in front of the fire, leaving it very reluctantly to serve at the bar and then hopping back to 'their' table, on another occasion they were all out in the courtyard playing with their dogs, taking ages to decide which one would have to come in and serve us, on another occasion no-one would serve chips because it was 9pm (?) but the final straw was when 10 or so of us went on New Year's Day to have the door shut in our faces - we were told they were closed - strange because there were people inside and the lights were on. It looks like a pub and despite the smoking ban it still smells like a pub and the chairs and tables suggest food and drink is served there but it will take a dedicated punter to face the indifferent 'service' and expensive food offered there now (but don't bother to ask for chips at 9pm). J Bailey

Date visited: Several visits

Review by Vanzandvoort on 26th November, 2008

Add your review
I am another "Long Timer" and recently made a return visit for the first time in several months. I HOPE THE NEW MANAGEMENT ARE LISTENING TO THE VARIOUS REVIEWS,AS,WHAT I HAVE SEEN SO FAR HARDLY RATES AS AN OX-ENGLISH DEFINITION OF THE WORD "POSITIVE". Whilst I have to say ,my return visit was not a bad-one,nevertheless it was VERY obvious it was under new control,after something approaching(nearly) 30years under the VERY congenial and affable Terry Martin.It was also obvious,although not yet fully established as-such,was it's very noticable re-incarnation as a "chain" "gastro-pub" affair (with all that that entails),instead of the established,lovely,warm-heared,comfortable,down-to-earth "English Country Pub" ; Which is what everyone wants it to be -Nothing else! I,as so many other "regulars", (and there are many.Many now staying away after what they have found..as much "in advance" on the internet)am appalled at (and this is hardly an isolated instance)the "blind" "blinkered" and seemingly "couldn't care less attitude" of the new management;doing just what THEY want and NOT what the CUSTOMER (their Raison D'etre after all) wants ! I'm giving it one more try -very shortly,then,if still dissatisfied/unhappy,one way or another,THAT'S IT. Finally,from what I have heard (there's more than just 1 person who has been a customer at ANY time of The Swan,and,people "talk"),the memorial bench in the courtyard,to the lovely former part-time barman - John Roop MAY have been,in one way or another,debased. With the grossest disrespect that that entails.I SINCERELY HOPE I'M WRONG. Vanz

Date visited: many -over 12years

Review by Sue Giles on 3rd August, 2008

Add your review
I used to be a regular customer of the Swan, not any more, 6 pm on a Saturday evening and the Place was empty, The Old Swan was always busy, but never too busy for excellent service and food. Sadly the same cannot be said of the new management.I only got as far as a starter, the salad garnish was full of greenfly and other insects. A total dissregard for basic food hygeine.

Date visited: 2/8/08

Review by P.Mansell on 26th April, 2008

Add your review
Once a real down to earth country pub with wonderful food at a very reasonable price, but ofcourse it had to change like the rest of our country pubs....on arrival it still looks the same but once you look through the menu...it hits you like a bullet...the prices have hit the roof...who on earth is going to pay £12.00 for a pork chop? It's such a shame...no dogs allowed in a counrty pub, what next. Avoid at all costs!!

Date visited: 26/04/08

Review by Tony Fowler on 14th March, 2008

Add your review
The Swan has been bought by a pub chain and early indications are that the Swan will be turned from a lovely comfortable village pub into one of those ghastly ‘gastropubs’ Dogs are no longer allowed and we wonder how long before locals are discouraged from entering!

Date visited: 07/03/08

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Although it is not true that all conservatives are stupid people, it is true that most stupid people are conservative - John Stuart Mill
More Quotes

On this day:
Anne Boleyn Beheaded - 1536, Cromwell Declares England a Commonwealth - 1649, Kew Gardens Opens - 1759, Lawrence of Arabia dies - 1935, Speaker Announces Resignation - 2009
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages