It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

April 2019: Hereford

April can be a tricky month for weather in Britain: surprisingly sunny days interspersed with spring showers. So a destination where the best of the ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Sun in the Wood, Ashmore Green

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by keith cummings on 19th December, 2007

Add your review
Two meals in one week at this Pub, both Christmas fare and both times the pub managed to server almost 100 people at the same time...an impressive feat for anywhere! Food on both occasions was fine, plentiful amounts of very tasty food with a festive theme but still at the same time tasty, homely in feel and considering the numbers being catered for at no time did anything look nor taste as if it had been waiting around or nuked in a microwave. As to the atmosphere, it was fantastic, the only complaint I heard was it was very loud...i.e. a lot of people we enjoying themselves. The surrounding are very nice, the pub was clean, well presented, attentive staff, plus a great choice of wines and some nice beers.

Date visited: 16th Dec 2007

Review by Angela Walker on 11th December, 2006

Add your review
My husband and I chose "The Sun in the Wood" as a halfway point between Gloucestershire and Hampshire to meet up with other members of our family for Sunday lunch, and our party included two young children aged 4 and 5. We were very impressed by the friendly and efficient service, and the way in which the children were considered, ie the children's meals were brought before the rest so that they did not have to wait a long time. The food was also very good. I am sure we shall return!

Date visited: 10 December 2006

Review by Shaun Wass on 30th May, 2006

Add your review
What a great pub, what a choice of wines and good food and best of all its totally non smoking!

Date visited: 27th may 2006

Review by paul collins on 31st May, 2005

Add your review
Found this pub on here, to meet family for lunch. What a fantastic place, everything you could dream a Country pub should be. Great setting in woodland, fantstic garden with huge terrace and also a crazy golf course (we 12 of us all played on this) and to make it even better fantastic fresh food to go with it. Would recommend to anyone.

Date visited: sunday 29th may

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
I thought how unpleasant it is to be locked out; and I thought how it is worse, perhaps, to be locked in. - Virginia Woolf
More Quotes

On this day:
Death of Henry VII. Accession of Henry VIII - 1509, Sinn Fein Formed - 1907
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages