It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

September 2019: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of George and Dragon, Rowde

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Steve Parker on 10th December, 2008

Add your review
Living locally we have visited the G&D a number of times for Sunday lunch which is consistently of exceptional quality. Atmosphere is relaxed and informal whilst the food and wine would grace the most sophisticated of London eateries without being pretentious or over complex. On the 6th of December 2008 the G&D hosted a party for 40 guests for my wifes 40th Birthday, organising a beutifully appointed and lighted (and heated!) marquee and providing us with a fabulous feast from their "bring me food" concept. Similar to Tapas in concept this involves providing great platters of various dishes for all three courses which can be passed around the table and shared. Our chosen menu included Oysters, Salmon, marinated calimari, Anti Pasta, chicken parfait, scallop & black pudding brochettes, rare carapccio of beef with celeriac, warm duck breast salad, roasted chicken, steamed sea bass, Eton mess, chocolate and raspberry fresh cream roulade and english cheeses. With all that food you may think you would be offered a mere mouthfull of each, but no the quantities were extermely generous and the quality and freshness was exceptional (as were the accompanying wines). I would thouroughly recommend a visit to anyone who enjoys something a little more special!

Date visited: 6/12/08

Review by Jenny on 4th August, 2008

Add your review
What a lovely pub inside. We were allowed to order quite late which we were pleased about. Was welcoming but a little scripted and the manager or owner was quite OTT about who he was. We had quite a wait but food was ok. We didn't believe that the scallops were as fresh as claimed.

Date visited: 12/04/08

Review by Allan on 12th February, 2008

Add your review
I had dinner at the George and the Dragon with a few friends. The food was fine, but the service was atrocious. The restaurant's owner and servers were rude. Each one acted as though they were doing us a supreme favour by letting us dine there. Me and my dining companions felt as if they wanted us to hurry up and eat, give them money and get out the door. I felt like I was on a food assembly line manned by disinterested automatons. My companions and I were quiet and smartly dressed.

Date visited: Nov 2007

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
One of the things being in politics has taught me is that men are not a reasoned or reasonable sex - Margaret Thatcher
More Quotes

On this day:
The Houses of Parliament burn down - 1834, Jane Eyre Published - 1847, The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe Published - 1950, First Edition of Blue Peter - 1958
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages